We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been three times. Will definitely continue going, it's getting better and better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picada - CLOSED

Picada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Been three times. Will definitely continue going, it's getting better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I went to Picada for our 45 anniversary for lunch on Saturday 12/04/2014. To our great surprise the food we had was even better than the last time we went, and our last visit was great. The ambience was so great that we had a great conversations to the couple next to us "whom we never met before" we had such a great time talking and laughing with this couple who were doctors from Spain that we were meant to stay for only an hour and ended up staying over two hours. We ordered our entrees, mains and desserts with beautiful wine and everything was perfect. Even the couple next to us compared the yummy churros to the ones in Spain! We can honestly say we felt like valued customers. Will definitely eat here again and again, and recommend this place to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ascanioale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible service - we will never go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We thought that we had discovered our new favourite local restaurant when we visited Picada a few weeks ago and booked again to share our discovery with friends. Unfortunately, dinner in East Balmain last night was quite a contrast to the fabulous Icebergs last weekend. Yes, Icebergs is expensive but they value their customers and you get what you pay for... Picada service was terrible - it was a busy night and the amateurish service was forgivable (just) at this price point. Wait staff didn't know the menu, were very disorganised, brought half the drinks order, took ages to clear our plates, etc but the food was nice enough. Shame they feel the need to clean the coffee machine early and don't value their customers enough to let them order coffee after 11pm and then they turned the lights up high to signal it was time for the upstairs diners to leave! Even cheap pubs don't do that until at least midnight... I guess the function downstairs was over, so time for everyone else to go home... Never mind that we had paid 100's of dollars per table. Picada staff and owners should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pearler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Owner at Picada, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing night when dining with us and welcome your feedback. We have since made sure all our staff are educated to advise our diners that we close at 11pm on all nights (due to our D.A.) so as to avoid a repeat occurrence of what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Level Contributor
328 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A gem in Balmain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Balmain is a lovely suburb of Sydney, lots of old houses in a very pleasant area. There seemed to be a village atmosphere here that you don't quite expect this close to the city.
We had lunch here yesterday Saturday 14th April.
This is Sth American food in a beautiful old stone building, great staff, friendly and pleasant.
We ate a selection of entrees, white bait fritters, chorizo, garlic prawns, scallops, calamari and delicious shredded cabbage salad, all good and delicious. He had a glass of Argentine white wine and we had sparkling mineral water, and coffee. It cost $130.00 all up.
We enjoyed it very much, would recommend and will return on our next visit to Sydney.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleased with our new local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We live in Balmain East and we were pleased to find out that Picada was opening just down the road. We used one of the deal vouchers which was a great way to entice us into the restaurant to try it out.

Staff were very friendly during the booking process and throughout the meal. I often find using a voucher means you are not going to get the same treatment as full paying customers but this was certainly not the case here. The voucher entitled us to a starter, main and dessert each. We tried a couple of the tapas style starters - the empanadas and chorizo which were both very tasty and gave us high hopes for the rest of the meal. Mains of pork and lamb were equally delicious as were the desserts. I found the menu unique and flavoursome.

The decor and atmosphere in the restaurant was great, it is quite small inside and had a romantic atmosphere.

Staff although very friendly were quite busy the night we went so at times we did have to wait a little while but this didn't put me off as we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

We will go back and will certainly be happy to pay full price for this meal the next time we go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue mountains
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a Voucher to try this place out and it was great. We took the ferry across and was only a 10min walk straigh up to the restaurant. The service is a little slow and not very attentive to filling wine and water as to waht I would except.
The food was great and very nice flavours we had three courses and scallops amazing served cold. The pork belly was very nicely cooked and went well witht he red cabbage. The menu is designed really well with only 4 mains to choose from and a lot of entree size meals to start off with.
We will derfintely return and will recommend thank you

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picada also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing