We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No veggies. Very average food”
Review of Spice I Am - CLOSED

Spice I Am
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Balmain
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Balmain
1 review
“No veggies. Very average food”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Ordered a curry and a stir fry. Got 2 dishes that had no vegetables and were just very spicy with no flavour.. One of the worst thai restaurants I've been to in sydney

Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    6
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not coming back...”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I ordered the chicken lemongrass stir fry... and what did I get? Half a kilo of cubed chicken, with a lemongrass paste on top of it. That's it! I am no new to stir fries, and I was expecting a nice glossy marinade sauce over succulent chicken and mixed veggies... that was not a stir fry at all. I then asked for some veggies, so I could mix it up, as it was uneatable as it was. The staff was unwilling and rude. They brought me the veggies, but charged full price for it. I ended up paying a total of $32 for a chicken stir fry that I barely ate. No thank, never again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

No BYO.
Surcharge to take home left overs.
Surcharge to use credit card.
Staff pretty surly.
Food average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very authentic Thai food with a lot of spice. If you love spicy Thai food this is one for you.

Only problem is it is small place and waiting time is a consideration.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LungGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, but need to arrive very early”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food here is great, more superior than other ordinary Thai restaurants in Sydney. Vegetable was cooked perfectly you still can taste the freshness. The only downside is the long queue, and they do not accept reservation (at least when we went there). Other than that, great and highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice I Am also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing