We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem but with a few flaws” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmain Wharf Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmain Wharf Apartments
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem but with a few flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently stayed in these apartments (no 4) for six days.The unit is comfortably furnished, a really good bed, free internet (ethernet /wifi) and a large flat screen TV with foxtel. It has everything you need - fully equiped kitchen complete with washing machine. The location is superb with views of Sydney Bridge from the patio and Circular Quay and Darling Harbour are short ferry rides away. Balmain shopping/restaurants is a 15 min walk but there is a good Italian pizzaria (try the calzone), a deli and a coffee bar just 2 mins away. So why only 3 stars? Well whilst I would have preferred to give 7 out of 10 that option is unavailable. The reasons:

1 - On arrival we were greeted by a very musty smell in the apartment and which a dehumidfier was doing its best to hide. This 'smell' was present to a greater or lesser degree for the entire period. I am not certain whether this is an internal or external (i.e. outside the immediate control of the owners) problem but its needs to be resolved.

2 - The lounge suite and floor rug need a clean to remove some stains and the throw on the bed also had a large stain on it. I accept these are minor items but it does detract from the overall impression of the apartment

3 - Being next to a bus/ferry stop is a both boon and problem. It makes travel easy but be prepared to be woken up when the buses start around 5.30 am and commuters start their day.

4 - There does not appear to be a secure website to allow payment by credi/debit card. You are expected to provide details - including security code by email; a method I find unacceptable.

Not including in my rating but worth mentioining is that currently there are substantial earthworks being undertaken adjacent to the apartments (foreshore remodelling) which created a fair bit of noise and dust. It did not particularly bother us as we were generally out of the apartment during working hours - although they did start very early on one occassion. To be fair this should be completed shortly so we were probably unlucky.

I suppose the main question is whether I would stay here again and the answer is probably yes.

Tip - buy a ferry/bus multi ticket - a $60 weekly one will also get you as far out as Katoomba (the Blue Mountains)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I felt like a tourist in my own city. With frequent buses and ferries at the door step of the apartments getting to and fro was so easy. The apartments are more than comfortable with all the facilities you need, the staff were more than helpful and the views of the harbour are breathtaking. I even had drinks on the balcony for a few friends so they too could enjoy my experience. It really was a home away from home steeped in tradition.I highly recommend The Balmain Wharf Apartments. This is where mum will be staying when she comes to visit from overseas.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKissSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I used to live in Sydney and love Sydney to bits. This trip to Sydney is for business and when traveling alone, accommodation is very important. I was quite upset not to be able to find any 'decent' place to stay around Balmain initially until i stumbled upon Balmain Wharf. It was too good to be true!

I had apartment 4 - the apartment with an amazing balcony and a private entrance :)

I had my reservations that maybe it might NOT be as amazing as it looks but the moment i arrived... it was everything and MORE! I felt at home immediately. The facilities it has as an apartment is definitely 5 star quality. Better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. It as a full fletch kitchen (with dishwasher, oven, pots, pans, & even a rolling pin!) with washing machine, heated toilet flooring and hot water which runs forever! The bed was really comfy, and so was the sofa! The interior was very tastefully designed. It has reversed air conditioning which was very handy coz winter came early! & the best part is, they have foxtel and adsl++! It was amazing!

The best part which i am saving for last... is the view. I was there for 22 days and never could i get bored or tired of the view at all! Do u know that the view of Sydney Harbor Bridge changes every time of the day? I am definitely in love with Sydney even more....

Also, public transport is so easy. Buses at door step, ferry just 1 minute walk and balmain is such a nice town that walking around is so nice..... :)

U know what is the only down point? It only has 4 rooms and i am sure once people know about it, it will not be easy to get a room anymore.....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We are big travellers and have been all around the world many times -we go to Sydney 3-4 times a year and this year discovered Balmain Wharf Apartments. What a find! We stayed there over Easter in Apart 1 and my sister stayed in Apart 4 and we absolutely loved everything about it. Access to anywhere is a breeze - the ferry was so convenient and pleasant. One morning we needed an early start (before ferry began) to go to Easter show and we got the bus fro outside the door and that was so easy too. Everyday, we either caught the ferry or the bus to go somewhere and even though the weather was rainy, this was no bother as all the transport was right outside our door. The Apartment was clean, comfortable, quiet and had everything you could possibly require. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven when he discovered there was even Skyracing and the Fox Sports channels on the TV. The view of the Harbour Bridge and the sunrises from our lounge were breathtaking. One morning a P & O Cruise Ship came through under the bridge and we felt we could've put our hands out and touched it, it was so close and it docked just over the other side from the apartment. The sandstone walls in the apartment were beautiful as was all the decor. As we met up with friends in the city we kept inviting them back over to have a 'look' at our find. We ate meals at the many restaurants up the street, shopped in the many shops up there as well and even discovered that world class bakery, Adriana Zumba. We will definitely be back but now afraid it will be discovered by too many people and it will be difficult to get availability - but that's being selfish!!! Good luck to you and you have the absolute best apartment we have ever stayed at anywhere in Sydney.

Room Tip: Book early as only 5 units available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank compoundswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmain
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmain Wharf Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmain Wharf Apartments

Property: Balmain Wharf Apartments
Address: 10 Darling St | Balmain East, Balmain, Sydney, New South Wales 2041, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Balmain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Balmain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmain Wharf Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only steps away from Balmain East ferry wharf (see note about renovation below), our boutique property has 4 apartments, each with panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. Our unique setting on the tip of a peninsula, is only 1km from the Sydney Harbour Bridge with easy public transport access for visiting friends and family or a corporate stay. Restored in 2011, Balmain Wharf Apartments is a historic sandstone building built with sandstone quarried from across the harbour. It served as a pub under the name of The Shipwrights' Inn since the 1840's for the shipyards that populated the foreshore until the Harbour Bridge was completed in 1932. While historic on the outside, all apartments are individually furnished with modern conveniences, quality fittings, luxury linens, and everything you need to stay in. Managed by famed resort, Bannisters, Mollymook. We are suitable for a long stay and generally require a 7 night minimum. Parklands on either side of the building are ideal for morning walks and picnics under old gum trees. This property has two floors and a secure entrance - all entrances have stairs and Darling Street is a hilly street. Darling Street's main centre, Balmain Village is 700m away, a convenient 5 minute bus ride. The shopfronts are rich in history and famous for macarons, weekend markets, boutiques, and heritage pubs. With a large supermarket and a full variety of shops, Balmain Village has a motto: "you'll never have to leave the peninsula". However, there is plenty to see and do in the CBD and the areas along the harbour, all within a short and scenic ferry ride away, direct from the ferry wharf at the doorstep (see note below about renovation). The ferry terminal at Circular Quay also connects to the airport train line (allow 1 hour travel from airport to the apartments). Two reqular bus routes travel to the Inner West or an easy 20 minutes to the Queen Victoria Building near Pitt St Mall, the central shopping district of Sydney and also Town Hall train station where you can take a train to the Blue Mountains. NOTE: Balmain East ferry wharf is currently closed for renovation until June 2015. The alternative wharf is about 20 minutes walking distance from the apartments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing