We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guaranteed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Palace Restaurant

Indian Palace Restaurant
Reserve with
Indian Palace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Balmain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Balmain
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Indian Palace has been in this spot for many years, and for a very good reason. The (Indian) food is superb. Some friends took us elsewhere a couple of years ago for some very ordinary fare (same sauce on many dishes?), so we took them to Indian Palace. They were knocked out by the high quality. Yes, each dish has its own appropriate sauce, and the quality of the ingredients is first class. If you like Indian food, this is a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rusty1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian in Inner West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic evening was spent here. Staff very friendly and accommodating
The ambience is good and decor simple yet sophisticated.
Great menu selection was very difficult deciding what to order.
Had Delhi chicken, Lamb Madras and Beef Vindaloo all these were served in putar dishes very tasteful. The food was awesome and very authentic, reminded me of the food I had on holiday in India.
Recommend this restaurant but suggest to reserve a table beforehand as it is very popular.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Balmain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

There aren't many places in Balmain that stand the test of time but the Indian Palace is one of those rare restaurants that delivers good quality time and again. It isn't top end dining but for a good Indian meal at a reasonable price I don't think it can be beaten. Service is always good and the waiters are friendly and accommodating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank thisishowitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Curry, Best curry we've had in Australia!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We first went to this place over 1 1/2 years ago...& haven't gone to any other curry house since! I would say it is the BEST curry we have had in Australia! Particularly as we are from the UK it was a big deal to find this curry house, we go back every time. We are greeted by the amazing staff each time, the service we receive really is excellent. I even left my scarf there which I didn't notice that I had lost & when we went back 2 weeks later, they remembered us & gave it back! We always take BYO there & have the best time...Make sure you go this weekend!x

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ginag108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Again - brilliant Indian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a blast yet again here. Flavoursome food, fantastic atmosphere and great location. We ordered:
- Chicken Tikka Masala
- Lamb Rogan Josh
- Lamb Sagwalla
10/10 for the lot!! Great prices too. Enjoy being nicely full after a meal here.

Until next time!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LozandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Palace Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Indian Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing