We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken lift, poor hotel service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Pacific Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Artarmon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Broken lift, poor hotel service”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Lift was broken on arrival and no assistance was offered to customers at all with luggages on a 6 storey high building. Facilities were fair/poor for a hotel. Air conditioning was not working properly. Receptionist was polite but seemed helpless due to lack of staffing. Overall experience was disappointing. Would not recommended if a hotel experience was expected.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Chenny063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, Manager at Royal Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. You are right - as we were not expecting the elevator to break down on a Public Holiday - Good Friday, we were not staffed to cope with carrying luggage upstairs. However an additional staff member was brought in and moved all luggage for guests from 3pm. People who arrived in the 30-40 minutes prior to this, were welcome to leave luggage at reception. Unfortunately, we are not experts in elevators and were completely at the mercy of the technicians - who needed to attend emergency calls first. Fortunately - as it was a rarity and it was repaired the same day, guests were incredibly understanding. I apologise that you were inconvenienced.

If you could let us know what room had a problem with the Airconditioner, it would be appreciated. No airconditioning issue has reported to the hotel. During last months service, all were working correctly - so this must be a recent development. We would love to get this checked for future guests.

Regards Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    65
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
28
36
4
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for business, close too Artarmon station and Broadcast Business park, the king room was clean, bed comfortable all the normal in room amenities, only complaint was the shower cubicle was extremely small. $15 per person for a reasonable buffet continental breakfast, all in all I would recommend for the business traveller but only if you have business in the local area

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The facilities were clean and the bed comfortable, however we were disappointed in regards to the limited services of both the restaurant and room service. The nearest shops and cafes were approximately a 10 minute walk away. On our second morning we had the continental breakfast from the restaurant. The fruit salad that was on offer was in an appalling state; to the point that it was nearly rotten. We did make a complaint and were advised that the fruit salad is made fresh every day. Very difficult to believe. Overall a somewhat disappointing stay. Unfortunately we wont be staying on our next trip to Sydney, nor could we recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Take food, drinks and snacks with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Can't actually rave about this hotel although there was nothing wrong with the accommodation - in fact we were very pleased with our room and the super comfy bed. Shower was good as well although there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom at first which was probably due to lack of use as it disappeared in a day or so.

The hotel was along way from the city although it was quite a pleasant walk to the station and thetrains were regular.

My biggest gripe was the fact that the restaurant/bar was closed for the duration of our stay. I guess it pretty much caters for business clients and wan't worth opening but it did makit it feel a bit like staying in a travelodge type motel, but not at Travelodge prices.

I wouldn't want to put anyone off staying here - its was actually quite nice, just be aware of the distance from everything and lack of amenities.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertienBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 10 nights and was very impressed with everything. Staff were very friendly and Room was excellent and included Microwave,Fridge,Plates,Cutlery, Coffee, Tea etc Also a very good self service Launderette. Would definitely use this Hotel again when visiting Relatives

Room Tip: A room to the back of Hotel and on the 6th Floor(top) was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes it is just ok. It's not really anywhere specific so unless you have a hire car, it's kind of out of the way despite being close to the city. The staff were friendly, but they close the reception around 9 or so. If you have a late check in, essentially you're boogered.

And if you want to check out early, do it the night before.

There is a massive fridge, but no mini bar. That suits me just fine as I filled the thing with cheese, but I get the feeling not many people use a hotel fridge for that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipeiredlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, Manager at Royal Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Taipeiredlion
Thanks for your review. As advertised, the hotel office is open 7am until 10pm. There is a lock box system for arrivals after 10pm (although the night manager is normally at the desk until around midnight). There is also a phone at the front door, if guests need to talk to our onsite staff 24 hours a day.
The drop box at the main exit is for keys of guests that need to check out earlier than 7am.
The fridges are quite large and most guests do use them for wines/cheeses. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Regards Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for one night, triple room, this was our third visit, due to its proximity to the Royal North Shore Hospital and the courtesy car that will drop off, we always stay here. Nothing much has changed, excellent, friendly service, nice spacious, clean room, our home away from home.
We dined at Fat Arnie's for dinner, it was affordable and the food excellent. We chose tuna and pasta with a wine sauce, beer battered fish and pork. All meals were plentiful and yummy. We had a great night!
We are staying again very soon for another hospital visit, wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Well done RPH!! : )

Room Tip: Laundry facilities, microwave, plates and cutlery. All rooms are the same size and the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artarmon
0.8 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Hotel

Property: Royal Pacific Hotel
Address: 472 Pacific Highway, Artarmon, Willoughby, New South Wales 2064, Australia (Formerly Punthill North Shore Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Artarmon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Artarmon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing