We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hidden charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Reserved online and saw that there was a $13 a day resort fee which I thought was included in our rate...which it wasn't. We try to pull in the circle drive and it is so unorganized and congested, people blocking people in. Then I get to the front desk and they were talking to each other and acted as if I disrupting them, so we finally are getting ready to pay and then they notify me that they are now adding on the $13 resort fee AND $18 to park....so I let them know that we wouldn't be staying there, they didn't apologize for any inconvenience...they just went on their way and I went on mine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Traci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in August to meet up with friends who were staying nearby. For the price, it is hard to be too negative about the Ramada Marco Polo. Our room rate was an average of $119 over the course of four nights. On top of the room rate, however, we had to pay $18 per night for valet parking (seemingly required) plus a $13 per night/per room "resort fee" to cover the cost of the "amenities."

It is easy to be negative about the "frozen in time" interior decor, with mirrors wherever one looks, the classic banquet chairs in the dining room, and the worn fixtures and furnishings. Our room was very large (we did not choose the balcony room) with a microwave where I believe a range once existed and, inexplicably, a full size double door refrigerator/freezer. The biggest plus - we found it to be very clean. Housekeeping did a great job. The pool area was clean and orderly. Beach chairs were placed carefully. Dining room and buffet was fine.

If you were booked somewhere else and they moved you, or you thought you were going to stay at one of Donald Trump's properties for $99, it is easy to be disappointed. But, the next time we are looking for a value vacation where it is OK to ride up the elevator with a bag of lunch and breakfast groceries, we would consider the Marco Polo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We got moved 2 this hotel frm Newport beachside Resort. The hotel was away from everything. It was more of a trashy hotel instead of a classy hotel. It looked more like a motel instead hotel. Room service sucked we waited a whole day for towels when we called for them that morning. The only thing that was good about the stay was our bartender Jeff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here before a cruise. Never again, the room we had was right out of the 50's, blond built in furniture on one wall had murphy beds screwed shut, and missing knobs and drawers. The kitchen furniture was similar to the one my mother purchased right after WWII. The walls and kitchen cabinets had holes in them, there were no lampshades in the floor lamps and the lock on the slider was 2 screws and a clip. Mold (black) was all over the bathroom and kitchen sink, camouflaged by a thick coat of whit paint.
Out on the deck we were greeted by one set of neighbors that were smoking up a storm while the other balcony was apparently being used as a storage facility, with boxes, totes and furniture piled to the roof line and a bedspread covered their slider.

We went to the pool area where we had to sign for a towel. We put them on our chairs and mine was picked up by someone who wrapped it around herself and proceeded to go to the beach. There seemed to be several families that were using the pool as their afternoon fun spot; none were registered guests. They traveled down the roadway children, coolers, and lunches in tow. Once they hit the beach they walked to the pool area to have their lunches. There were red solo cups rolling all over the place and after they ate they all climbed into the pool to swim and play. They changed diapers on the lounge chairs gathered up their coolers towels and children and left. Of course they left all of their trash under the chairs and cups continued to roll around the ground.

When we went to the front desk to get directions, we were greeted by someone who was trying to sell units in the hotel (timeshare?/condos?) not interested.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked oceanfront room with balcony but they gave me room with partial sea view. I spent an hour to get room I expected. Personnel is not friendly. Seems like they all hate you.
Pool didn't work for 2 days. There is no hot tub at all! Even motel6 has it!
A/C work in FREEZE mode only.
Poor pool bar. 6 drinks and few beers to choose.
In-room WiFi was TERRIBLE!
Good things: nice housekeeping, fast valet parking, beach is next step from hotel

Room Tip: make sure that you got oceanfront room if you booked it. They tried to give me room with worse view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oleg_voronkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Oleg:

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Should you travels bring you back to Miami please feel free to E-mail at tatyana@marcopolobeachresort.com

I will personally reassure that you get an oceanfront room and we extend the best hospitality at all times to you and your friends. Please be our guest.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Best regards,

Tatyana Li
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Dania the lady room working in the 5 floor she was amazing! and Julio in the reservation department he was also amazing too. The hotel in general its must better than the 3 years ago, very clean, and renovated, the pool , the services, everything was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Norma:

Thank you so much for your kind compliments. We are happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and making your stay the most enjoyable and fun.

Kindest regards,

Tatyana Li
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

With it being my first time in Miami. The hotel was very beautiful. Everyone was very pleasant. If you ever go ask for either Hector or Nathalie! Hector was very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area and provided great customer service. Nathalie as well gave great customer service. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeryn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are happy to make your first time stay in Miami the most enjoyable. Should you travels bring you back to Miami please feel free to contact me.

Looking forward to having you back,


Best regards,


Tatyana Li
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $113 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing