We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't quite as bad as I had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for our 2 night stay in Miami prior to a cruise. I was horrified once I read some of the reviews and was hesitant to even stay there. He used advanced purchase though so we went anyway...under the condition that we would pack up and change hotels if it was really bad. The good news is that we did not need to change hotels. Our room was clean. It had tile floors and was clean with a comfortable bed. The hotel is really old and quirky though. A lot of it looks original to the 1960's. The pool area was nice, although nothing fancy. They have a separate kiddie pool which is great for small children. The beach was nice, although, in addition to your resort fee you'll have to pay $35 a day for an umbrella and lounger. Your resort fee also does not include valet parking, which was $18 a day. This hotel is right on the edge of Sunny Isles Beach and Golden Shores Beach. Both are upscale beach communities that are fairly quiet. Perfect for a family who doesn't want to get in the middle of the action in South Beach. It's pretty far north though....you'll need a car if you want to do anything that is happening. Restaurants (including fast food), a mall, Whole Foods and drugstores are within a mile or two away. There is a great little pizza shop in the bottom of the hotel that is both reasonable and delicious. They also provide free breakfast (I guess that is what the resort fee covers). It's fine if you just want cereal, a bagel and a piece of fruit with your coffee.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking an intercoastal view room...you'll get a view of the street. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Tina F,


Thank you for your honest feedback!


Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms of this hotel are normal. The service of the hotel is top standards and friendly. The view to the beach is a must, either during the morning, having your healthy breakfast or during the sunset. It has a very convenient private beach.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank felipeinspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Felipeinspires:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community!


Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We have never been to Sunny Isles, Fl so was a bit nervous to reserve a room sight unseen especially since the reviews weren't that great. Regardless, we ended up staying here and found it to be wonderful. The room was clean and very nice! The views amazing! Pool was clean and nice! Beach was nice! Would definitely stsy again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear SandyL,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We are still in the hotel, its an OK family hotel.
Nice beds, very good pool and pool bar service...
One thing to criticize, is the lack of computerized concierge service. They have everything written on a book...sometimes they tell you for example, no package has arrived for you and its there on the book that it has!

Room Tip: Great value for money in Aventura-North Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Julian Z,

We appreciate your review!

Thank you

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel i old (its was built a 60´s). My room had fernature original from that time. Bath its ok but no the big thing. Everything you see not oly seems old, it is old. Air conditioner was working well, but was very noisy
The room was clean and service was acceptable for 3 star hotel. Location is terrific. Bed had a great mattress. Overall - three star, as advertised.
I would recommend it for a short trip, The breackfast its poor and if you ask for eggs or baccon you must pay it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trapo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Trapo2,

Thank You for your review.
We appreciate your time.


Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time, the staff was great, we had great clean room with ocean view. Rooms were reasonably priced. not close to MIA but close enough just to relax. Hope to see you again soon, enjoyed the beach, great restaurants locally and great suggestions from the staff where to go and eat.

Room Tip: Staff was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Gsous,

Thank you for your review!
We truly appreciate it.
Looking forward to having the opportunity to hosting another stay for you.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed eight days with my sister and cousin in April in Marco Polo and traveled there all the way from Finland, Scandinavia. We loved Miami!
Hotel room was clean, no bugs and only on one Friday night there was loud residents having party and keeping noice in corridors. The kitchenette equipment was poor, you could cook with that equipment maybe some soups only.

The big minus was that the Wifi didn't work at all during our 8 days stay. It was promised in advertisements but for 8 days I kept on trying with lousy success, the network was too busy and the net is very important when you travel on the other side of the world. We had to go to restaurants to get into net and contact our families. This was a huge disappointment. The reception kept on saying that maybe tomorrow or later in the week or after the weekend it might work better when the rush time is over. But it never worked!
If the internet is important for you, don't rely on their promises.

The breakfast was funny, with extra payment you could have got cheese and ham. Very strange system once you already have paid of your room including breakfast and we also paid separately of third person's breakfast. In two or three mornings there was omelette served, but when there was more residents, the omelette was missing totally. They really try to save in breakfast ingredients.

My cousin is suffering of celiac disease and this was informed for hotel in beforehand. Still happened that she got glutenfree bread only in 4 mornings of our 8 days.

Service in the hotel was friendly, mostly, but it really could have been better. Concierges were too busy and and once you reached one, only one of them really worked hard to get answers for you properly and to give very good service. One of them was even little bit arrogant and just waited to get rid of us and the questions.

About the pool - I was too allergic for all the chlorite amount they use and couldn't swim in that but most people seemed to enjoy it.

Terrace bar's lady was just great! Great service and friendly attitude! She knew how to treat customers.

Next time I might choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the next house and to north but still we had a view to the ocean and to the street. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sari69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear SAri69,

Thank you very much for your review!
I definitely remember your stay, because of the gluten free bread request. We apologize we were not able to fulfill all your request during your stay.
However, we will look into your feedback with my colleagues.

Please contact me directly should you have any questions.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $112 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing