We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we got to the hotel, it was very late at night. When we checked in we were notified that our rooms were flooded. It was 1am and we were tired, and they were sending us to another hotel for the night. Newport Beachside paid for the other hotel, however, DID NOT give us enough money and we ended up paying the difference out of pocket. Not to mention we had to pay ANOTHER resort fee and deposit! It was outrageous, and very unprofessional. The next morning when we went back to Newport Beachside our room was still not ready. We didn't end up getting a room until after 2pm!! The room was nice, and averagely clean except it was a bit crowded due to the weird setup. Only one room remained cold, the AC didn't reach the other room for some strange reason. I think the worst thing was the hotel has cockroaches!! They were in the lobby, in the hotel restaurant and yes IN OUR ROOMS!!!!!!! House keeping only came to our room once, and we didn't get new towels, even when we asked. The staff is friendly but not very hospitable. The hotel was a complete let down. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marangelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    1,027
    740
    425
    514
See reviews for
1,451
878
117
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

It was horrible because the rooms had very bad air conditioning that was very noisy. Badly maintained and cleaned AND no towels. We asked for towels 3 times and never got them. Concierge didn't pick up the phone. Anyways DONT STAY THERE.

The beach opposite was lovely though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aikaterini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

some of the other reviews are correct. Check in and check out, very very slow. elevators very very slow. we needed to call the front desk for a few things, ended up calling more then once. very very slow. the maid service ok, but not friendly. area at the hotel very expensive. in my opinion its a good/ average hotel, but not worth the cost. we booked the flight and hotel through cheap tickets, not good. we booked everything 6 monthes out. rechecked on the account to confirm, before we left.. on the plane ride home, at the airport.we found out the flight we was to return home on, had been cancelled. 3 monthes ago. no one notified us. with luck the airport was able to book us on the flight that was bording at that moment. for 7 people.or the next flight home was the next day. we do not get to take trips often, so for me- hotel average and not worth the cost. cheap tickets - not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My fiance and I were celebrating our 5th year anniversary last month and we had an amazing trip. It began with Brionna at the front desk, who welcomed us with a great smile and a bottle of champagne. It is very rare that you come across someone who is so tentative and welcoming. It was a great indication of the rest of our stay. We had a couples room with an oceanview, enjoyed the cabannas, and the Seven Seas Spa was excellent. Cheers to Newport and their staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Location, location, location. My wife and I stayed just the night and we were very happy with our stay. First of it was our anniversary and the day did go go as expected but this was not the hotels fault. Our plane from Toronto was delayed and then we couldn't land in Miami because of a tornado warning and we didn't have enough fuel to circle so we had to land in Tampa to refuel. So our trek turned into a 12 hour delay. So we arrived tired and hungry. I told the lady at the front of our misery and she made us feel right at home. She gave us a bottle of champagne and a room view of the ocean. It was so nice and she made our stay and after the bottle we forgot all about our troubles. Great beach and fantastic service. The only thing I was impressed was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights June 2014. We were booked in here by Virgin Holidays as part of a cruise package. We had what they called a 'one bedroom city view suite'. If you're staying in the same for any more than a couple of days trade up! Pay the extra and get a pool view. It's clear from the reviews that there are huge variances in the quality of the rooms.

Our 'suite' was a room with a mirrored partition which split the bed from the sofa. The room was tired, the furniture was naff and the bathroom naffer. The room was probably cutting edge in the 80s but hadn't been refurbished.

I didn't take photos because we arrived late on the friday night and were leaving at 7am on the Sunday but had I been there for any length of time I would have moved rooms.

My advice would be to book the pool/sea views as they've clearly been refurbished and are fine.

The bedroom aside, the hotel was fine. Common areas were good, pool area clean and you are just a few paces from the beach. If you have a car then take the valet parking. There is a self parking option but it's only a few dollars less per day and the car park is on the other side of the road (6 lanes) and you need to travel about 100m up the road to negotiate a u turn and traffic lights. You then need to cross 6 lanes of traffic (which doesn't let up) to get back to the hotel. As a Scot the whole valet thing was alien to me and I was a bit sceptical before we arrived but the operation seems to be run by an Irish guy and the staff were excellent.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are is a retail park opposite and there are a couple of restaurant options, a pizza take-out and 24 hour pharmacy which is like a supermarket. Sunny Isles is about 15 minutes north of Miami proper so the location isn't great unless you have a car.

Room Tip: Anything but a city view! You have to be on the right side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed at the Newport Beachside Hotel with my boyfriend for his birthday. Brionna who checked us in was great. She was knowledgeable of the area, was very helpful with activity ideas, and her customer service was better than any hotel we've stayed at. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends. Thanks Brionna for making my boyfriend's birthday a happy one!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,864 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#171 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Property: Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing