We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lacking professional customer skills & organization” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lacking professional customer skills & organization”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Arriving around noon time, staff @ customer desk seemed lacking professional customer care skills though filled with cocky attitude. Requested to see a room on 8th floor in order to reserve it. I was given a key & by the time I am back to the desk to confirm it which was in less than 5 minutes. They said no the room already given to another guest. At the same time my family found somebody entering the room while they are inside!!!!!!!!The trouble is that no apology or even feeling of wrongdoing.
Unbelievable. Beach is amazing though

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    953
    669
    385
    484
See reviews for
1,318
804
108
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Växjö, Kronobergs Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked a family room. We got a very small room with One kingsize bed and 1 bedsofa for the kids. Both horrible. The springs came out of the sofa!!!! Next time we will spend an extra 100 $ on a room cause this was way below what we expected, even after looking atcthese revieuws. Positive note was the staff at the front desk. Those where the only helpfull ones without even asking for the "tipping" like the rest of the staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Joost_Bartels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's an older hotel, so don't expect sparkle, but it's right on the ocean and reasonably priced. When I arrived, the computers at the front desk were down and check-in took an exceptionally long time, but the staff were very nice and apologetic. My room was right on the ocean and just fine.

My only complaint is that, except for a couple hours on one day of the four I stayed there, one elevator was out of service. The remaining two elevators were not enough to handle the number of people and seriously delayed getting to and from my room nearly every time. I was advised on the first day to take the first elevator I could squeeze into, no matter which direction it was going, and take a round trip. If you decide to stay there, I pass this advice on to you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I am a physician and my wife is a business owner; we were in Miami for a professional conference. We used Priceline, the option where you pick three star and North Miami Beach location-- and they put us here at Newport. I now have a call in to Priceline demanding that they remove Newport. Here is the sequence of events for our three-day stay: (1) we arrive at midnight Thursday night and the desk clerk says our room is not available due to flooding on the 5th floor; in compensation, they say we can stay down the road at the Ramada-- a similar quality hotel for the same rate we paid (equal exchange; the two hotels have this arrangement in such cases); (2) incredibly, the clerk says we can just walk down to the Ramada. On further questioning, she then states it is ~ a mile away. We insist on some cab fare and she gives us 30 bucks out of their petty cash drawer; (3) We get to Ramada and they know the drill-- this seems to happen often. This hotel is in similar dis-repair as the Newport, only to a more severe degree. Incredibly, at Ramada, they tried to charge us for their resort fee. The room was filthy, but at 1 in the morning and an exit back to Newport in the morning, we acquiesced. (4) Next day, we get our room at Newport. The room was not as ordered (wrong bed arrangement, less of a view than we had paid for). So, we get another room, and incredibly it is on the 5th floor, where of course we see no sign of water damage. The windows are 1970 variety and you can barely see out because they have not been cleaned in several years. (5) We made the mistake of breakfast at Newport the next day; sweet girls staffing the place, but the coffee was 1/4 strength and the food definitely mass produced with no taste. I felt sorry for the staff, because they try hard but were serving a deficient product. (6) The lobby is a virtual zoo-- indeed, with a couple of bird cages. Kids love that, I guess, and there were lots and lots of those running around; I like kids, had three of my own, so that was not the problem. Problem was too many people and noise in the lobby. (7) Unfortunately, the last night of the stay, we had made arrangements for my son to stay in a separate room just for that one night-- a room that we also got on Priceline. Incredibly, when he checks in, they tell him that he will have to stay at, you guessed it, the Ramada; before they could fabricate a reason this time, we lit into the staff pretty seriously given our Ramada experience the previous evening. With a little pressure like this, it was amazing how a great room just opened up, within seconds of them ready to send another couple down the street to a true dump. The ethics of this business are at an extreme low; in fact, again, I feel somewhat sorry for the employees as they generally seem like hard-working people who want to do a good job-- but obviously are forced to practice in a way that optimizes the hotel profits. As we talked to more of the workers in a friendly tone, it was incredible how sorry they were, how this stuff happens "all the time".

So, please stay somewhere else. The location is good, but the filthy rooms, the insufficient elevator capacity that others have commented on (I always took the stairs the five flights, even with luggage because I did not want to waste 10-15 minutes), and the unethical business practice that I observed indicates this place is not worth the chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank DoctorDuplicate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this nice hotel for a wedding, with my whole family. The service was very nice, the rooms are large and the location is impossible to beat. However, I am sensitive to bug bites and the first morning I woke up with five large bite marks on my chest. The front desk took my complaint very seriously, upgraded us and we moved rooms. Which tells me they are a good hotel and they have received this complaint before. The second morning I was fine. Then on the third morning I woke up with six or seven small red bite marks on my ankles and legs. My husband never gets bug bites, so he was not bit nor could we corroborate: was it bed bugs? The manager thought the common sand flea was to blame. Impossible to know, but glad we are checking out today and we will be taking the necessry precautions to wash our clothes before dumping them into our laundry pile!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BusterKeaton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in early January 2014. The lobby is amazing and miami action all around. Paradise ended when you got to your room…or is should say getting to your room. We were on the 9th floor and there was always one elevator out of service. checking in took 20 minutes to get up stairs. We started using the stairs instead of waiting. I stopped counting after my 10th trip up the stairs. When they fix the elevators and bring the rooms out of the 70's…it may be worth the money. The couch in the room was ripped and dirty.
On the good side, location is great. Help was great. Food was great.
If they renovate the rooms, we may come back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
226 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for 1 day and night before getting our cruise . We arrived early afternoon and ourban rooms weren't ready. That was no problem though our cases were taken care of and we sat out on the lovely terrace looking out to sea and enjoying a drink or two. We then had a walk out on to the pier for which there was a small charge, but a member of the hotel staff came along and said because our room was not ready we did not have to pay ( what good service) . When we got to the rooms . They were lovely rooms big comfy beds and all the facilities you couple.d want. We were situated near some good bars and restaurants. Perfect place for a shot stay and a place we would like to return to for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sniknej187437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.3 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#160 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Property: Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing