We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very bad housekeeping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very bad housekeeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in August for 5 nights, booked and received a room with kitchen facilities.
The room had a bad smell of rotten carpets, the towels were not changed for 3 days and finally received stained towels, the room was never hoovered,
The hotel has a very good location the receptionists seems busy all the time.
I took one breakfast , one two many, the price is quite expenssive for what they serve.
On my next visit to Miami i will not stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norita190547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    952
    669
    385
    484
See reviews for
1,318
802
108
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting too much after reading the reviews here but I was pleasantly surprised. The location first of all is really cool. The beach is really nice and the sea is calm and stunningly beautiful. A big plus is the jetty that can be accessed until late at night ($2 entrance fee) which offers a stunning view on the Sunny Isles skyline, especially during the night. If you're a photographer this is the place to be. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. Downside was that ours didn't have a balcony, so spend a few bucks more for a sea view room. The lobby is always crowded but has a pleasant vibe to it. Be prepared though for long waiting times at the elevators especially during check out! time. Pools are nice but in the evening there's nothing to do. Across the street you'll find some restaurants. Avoid Chef Ho - we found it disgusting. All in all we had a great time at Newport and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to have a taste of Miami at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DylanLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first trip to this part of Florida. The lobby area is beautiful but the rooms definitely need updating. Our room was ready upon arrival and we had an oceanfront room which was clean but definitely in need of updating. The bed was comfortable, had plenty of towels and hot water when showering. We were at the end of the hall in which all the rooms down to ours were gutted and in the process of renovation. We were offered another room, but we decided to stay. The workers didn't start until 10:00 or so and stopped about 5:00 - 5:30. It was so quiet at night, we loved it! We didn't hear anyone in the hall, no opening and shutting of doors - it was nice! We loved the pool area, the beach and the food was good at the tiki bar, as well as Kitchen 305. We were with a large group of people and had a better experience than some of the other couples. The staff was ok - could have been more helpful at times and friendlier. We were out and about to different stores and restaurants during our stay in North Miami and wasn't impressed with the people down there. People are definitely not warm and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I checked into this hotel end of September. The valet guy asked us if we were parking "valet" he pronounced the "t". Reception ladies were very nice. What was scary was the throngs of people running thru the lobby heading for the pool obviously not guests of the hotel. They are loud rude and scarier than a day long at the drivers license bureau. My husband and I are well rounded people we have never come across such a cheap low class crowd at a hotel before. Luckily once you walk into the Spa its a different story. The Spa is great We had a very nice oceanview corner suite with 2 balconies. Expensive for this hotel but it was our escape from the harrowing crowds. The pool area is dreadful with ghetto blasters. Bartenders at tiki hut very nice. Oh yeah the tours pushing the time shares are very annoying bringing in all sorts of creepy people looking for freebies. The restaurant Kitchen 305 was pretty good Our waiter so very sweet. The bar and music after was fun. But again the people attracted to this place are not our cup of tea. We are used to South Beach and nice resorts world wide I guess this hotel needs to decide what type of resort people they want to attract. I guess they have and its not us.

Room Tip: Oceanfront with balcony so worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was at the Newport Beachside many times a couple of years ago, until I decided to go somewhere else. The decline of the hotel was pretty obvious: rude staff at the reception, cleaning of the rooms late in the afternon, furniture and equipment getting old and not being replaced....
What a shame, the location is wonderful, the beach is fantastic, but I decided to never come back. Last time I was there there were tours of people trying to be convinced ti buy a time sharing. In exchange of the visit they were allowed to spend the day at the pool. Noisy people, no respectful.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here a year ago and gave the property a less than favorable review. Actually it was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at (you can feel free to read that review and view the photos) However they have a great spa on the property and an expensive restaurant but excellent food. So, I decided to give them another chance (everyone deserves a second chance). They offered to upgrade me because of the prior circumstances and I thanked them.
Upon arrival I pulled up to the door and inquired about self parking from valet (there's not much room to maneuver near the front of the hotel with a car) and as soon as he heard self parking he rudely stated...across the street, with no other instructions. I go across the street (not an easy task in the heavy traffic and street barriers) only to get there and the attendant tell me I had to get a paper from the hotel first in order to park there. I go back to the hotel.
Because of this they gave us another upgrade to an executive suite. Wow, this is a poor rendition of an executive suite. I can post pictures but there was blood all over the curtain in the bedroom (that would be bio-hazardous material) decay in the bathtub and faucets, chipping of marble all over, etc.
The spa was great and restaurant 305 Kitchen however breakfast at the other restaurant was horrible. Cold and stale. The bagels were the only decent item and the coffee wasn't bad. Also a year ago they were re-doing the hot tub area (I think there had been a fire) well, they are still re-doing the area so you can't use any hot tub. And the first elevator still sounds terrible. Really spend a little more and just come here for the spa.

Room Tip: Not sure...ask for a newly remodeled room, maybe that would help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our first experience at this hotel came as a family vacation on 2010. When we got to the hotel and waited a long time to get one of the two only elevators in the hotel we exited our floor and immediately saw nothing what was being shown on their website. The carpets had areas where it was unglued, trash in the hallway and very dirty vents. Once we walked in the room we nearly had a heart attack the room was NOTHING at all what the website showed and what I paid for. We reserved a room with two bedrooms and view of the Ocean. We received a room with a wall divider and the second bed was pulled up in the wall behind the sofa, sheets were from the 70's era and the view from the room was of the garage roof. After fighting with Management they can only give us our money back but, that late we couldn't find a decent Hotel in Miami for the vacation so we stayed and recevied free breakfast each day (woohoo!!). To make things worse from the pool we could see the remodeled sections of the hotel and the room we asked for everytime we went into the pool area. I contacted the GM who never wrote back or called back. I then did my research and contacted the owner of the Hotel who offered us a free equal night stay on our next visit the following year in the remodeled wing. On that visit that area the halls were better and the rooms were great with a GREAT view of the pool and ocean. The GM and Management were very helpful. Overall I would give this place between an Average to Good. The first experience ruined a Great report and if we experience what we did the second time around it would have been a Good review. The Hotel has a nice club, GREAT pool and Beach area. Breakfast was better than some hotels. Rooms were dirty even after they were cleaned and had to ask twice to get it cleaned again and many times for towels. You'll definitely enjoy the pool and beach area one of the best once they get the pier fixed it would be even better.

Room Tip: My recommendations are reserve rooms in the remodeled section facing the Ocean or closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Generro_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.3 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#160 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Property: Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing