We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Phoenix
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed after a cruise. Hotel in very convenient location. There is a public metro bus to get to the mall (northbound) or to get to south beach (southbound). Check in was a breeze, but the hotel seems to be a hot bed for time sharing. I hate being steered to them by the hotel on the auspicious of getting a rubber band to wear on your wrist. Nobody checked for that. It does not get you into anything. The hot tub was out of order, but the pool was nice, easy access to beach from hotel. Internet was mixed bag, using the hotel business center computer cost 25 cents a minute and connection was slooow. The good news was that you could print boarding passes for free. The room was a bit quirky as it was a Double queen with two flat screen TVs. Seems cool, but is awkward should you want to watch two different shows. Service was adequate but not extraordinary by any means. We asked for more pillows and got a cot instead?!?


Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BigDogAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    924
    652
    378
    480
See reviews for
1,285
785
105
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

great beach, great view but the service was mostly poor. we made reservations a month in advance for the oceanfront room and paid for it and was told when we got there that the rooms were overbooked and they gave us the lateral view of the ocean, what is the point of making reservation a month in advance? they did waive the resort fee and the parking fee to be fair but we would have gladly paid for them, we had issues with our tv and had to call guest services 4 times every 30-40 minutes and we were there in December so it got a little cold at night and we were told that the hotel does not have heating installed!!!! I The room service cleaned the room poorly and did not provide new soaps, the water in the sink did not flow quickly. it was as if the room was from the 1950s.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilofer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,
Just a short note to let Trip Advisor know about my recent experience at the Newport Beachside Resort Hotel in North Miami Beach..What a wonderful place and good time we had there..I should note that Michelle Theodule , Director of the Front Office a very charming young lady, nice, friendly, helpful, made us feel comfortable staying as a guest for the holiday...In my opinion, Michelle is a major asset to the Newport Hotel and I shall continue to be a guest there in the future when on Florida vacations..
Thank You, Howard Weiss

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I took a quick getaway for three nights and had a wonderful time! This hotel is not huge like some of the other resorts in Miami Beach and it gives you a more cozy, friendly feel. The hotel is directly on the beach, and even when the air temperature was a bit breezy, the pool was nice and warm! We had a room with a terrace overlooking the pool and beach. I would certainly recommend this lovely getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

first impression nice place room I was given really nice but as you look around at other places around hotel you become puzzled why parts of hotel look new other parts old then I found out that the person that owns this place is selling timeshares but only updateing the rooms as they sell thats why I said weird but nice carpete in hallway old some doors in hallway are old some new so it looks like the hotel is confused but I stayed in two different rooms both new and they were nice clean beds were comfortable I liked this hotel people that worked there including the sales people were friendly nice grounds well taken care off outside bar is bartended by nice staff and the restuarant 305 is a very good place to eat 4stars. lobster and steak melt in your mouth good

Room Tip: If you book a room here call the hotel direct after and request a new updated room and if its in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in a ninth floor room facing the pool. After reading other reviews I requested a renovated room and it was great. Right now they have specials of you sit through a time share presentation. We didn't eat at the resturaunt but it looked nice. The beach was clean and had very few people on it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brentandjacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent Thanksgiving week at this hotel and I must say it was a wonderful experience. The staff was very warm and attentive and the service from the hotel staff, spa and restaurant was phenomenal. We never had any issues or complaints. To top it off, they had an amazing Thanksgiving dinner buffet that we and our friends enjoyed very much. Plus they had great venues and entertainment all week. 5 stars hands down. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.3 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#162 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 4,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Property: Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing