We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump International Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Paid for ocean view but got distant sea view with main view being air conditioning units on hotel roof next door!! Ended up having to pay an additional $40 per night for a true ocean view!!

Most staff were great but some certainly were not.

Final straw came on last day when we asked for a late check out (we had 2pm in mind). We were told 12 noon was the absolute latest and "company policy" meant any later would have to be paid for. Bearing in mind the hotel was less than one third capacity, they were totally inflexible.

Room (eventually)and food were good but standard of service was nothing like The Aqualina where we stayed last year. With all the extras we'd have been better off going back there.

Definitely wouldn't go back for the price paid.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    655
    304
    162
    96
See reviews for
938
521
53
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall, I think that this is a great hotel to be at if you want to be pampered.
First, the location was excellent for me. I didn't rent a car because I planned on spending most of my time at the pool/beach. However, the hotel has a shuttle service to Aventura and a few other places.
The room was clean and nice. Comfortable bed. The pool area is beautiful and there are two outdoor hot tubs. When you come out to the pool area, there are nice lawn chairs and people to help set you up.
I had a few disappointments (clogged shower, noisy neighbours at 3 am, faulty safe in the room)and when I voiced them, nothing was done about it. It ended up leaving a poor taste in my mouth considering that it is an expensive and 5-star hotel. However, when I filled the survey upon my return, I did have someone from the hotel call to follow up and try to resolve this issue. So at least, it reassured me and overall i could say the stay was very enjoyable. Keep in mind there is a $22 / day resort fee that i don't recall anyone mentioning when I booked my trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonfire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in on our recent family adventure through Florida. Floating cabanas on the beach, clean pools, great friendly staff.

Ocean view room really worth the extra $40. Breakfast in suite in the morning was really tasty. The floating cabanas on the beach were a wonderful touch. Check in staff and concierge staff really helpful in getting us to our dolphin game.

Will be back soon Miami

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cruising down Collins Ave in Sunny Isles there is an impressive array of shiny new towers. The , Trump International however is in a league of its own thanks to the attention to detail and great service. We spent a week in a junior suite with an ocean view to die for. The rooms were modern and comfortable, a quick ride with the lifts through the lobby, grab a complimentary coffee or water, your lounger and parasol are set up for you and from then on you can relax, soak up the sun and swim in mild tempered, turquoise and shallow sea. A short walk away are a supermarket so you can eat at home or eat out at any of the many restaurants, and then work it off in the gym. Best & worst: Affordable luxury; drink service waiting times at the beach.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeralGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Donald should be checking on this property. Needs renovations. Spent Labor Day weekend here. We had 4 rooms. We wanted to stay Monday and spend the day at the pool. They only extended check out by 1 hour. Poor management decision. We left and took our business elsewhere. So many lovely hotels so sorry we chose this one. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from a vacation with my wife and children from Trump International in FL, we chose a one bedroom suite which was a good choice for the four of us with a bedroom with a king bed and a pull out sleeper for my two girls. The one big drawback was that there was only one bathroom for the four of us . The view was magnificent being that we were on the 30th floor with an ocean view (which was an on premise upgrade offered at an additional $100 bringing our total room charge upto around $650/night).

The pool, restaurant, beach and overall service were excellent but as with everything there were several areas where the experience could have been better.

The were long waits for the elevators at times and the pool did not have enough chairs for the number of guests, we had to wait for 40 min one day and 2 hours the second day for a lounge chair and then we were only able to have two chairs for the four of us. This greatly took away from our enjoyment of the pool which is great for kids and adults.

My daughters each had a manicure and my wife had a 50 min massage and everyone came back smiling so I would give both the Salon and Spa two thumbs ups.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are beautiful, you may be able to upgrade at the check-in counter. If traveling wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walt-18966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo ,Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Last July I went to this hotel with my husband and daughter for a week in the beach .The location is the positive point, since we dont like crowded places .
The hotel is beach front so we can stay in the pool and reach the beach easily , besides on the other side of the street there is a Publix and a few more meters a Dennys.
The hotel is close to many stores and the Aventura Mall..
The rooms are very confortable and have a nice balcony.
The hotel offers a good breakfast buffet but a little bit expensive so we decided to have breakfast at Dennys.
The only bad thing is that if you arrive a little bit later to the pool you arent going to find a place to sit and will have to go to the second pool that isnt as nice as the first one and is located in a lower level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patcintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,817 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.2 mi away
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Be...
#1 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
968 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
13,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Property: Trump International Beach Resort
Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing