We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value , great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marenas Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marenas Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value , great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just stayed 3 nights. One Br suite, ocean front (901a). Had 2 full baths, nice kitchen, dining table, king bed and pull out sofa. Wrap around balcony (narrow) to watch sunrise with your coffee. We paid two hund per night which is a very good deal IMO for the area, for January. Had lunch at the restaurant and it was good, but limited menu so didn't repeat. Miami Juice across street had
great fresh, healthy lunch (but pricey...it's Miami!). Staff was great, prompt, friendly. Gym was very good for a hotel.

Things to know:
pool is small and early always shaded (at least in Jan), but beach is 20 steps from hotel and nice and sunny till 3pm. The high rises in this area frequently shade many properties -this is not just an Marenas thing! Rooms -01a, -01b, -10, -09, and -08 are on the south side and will get sun at some part of the day (01's in morning and rest In afternoon). The other rooms face North and I don't see how they would ever be In the sun, so shade lovers pick the north side.

Bar scene does not exist. If you want nightlife, pick another spot. The neighboring properties did not seem to have nightlife either. Also, kitchen has utensils, dishes, pots and pans and appliances. Nothing else...no paper towels, dish cloth, dish soap, etc. just FYI if you plan to use the kitchen. There is a Publix grocery store a block away which is very convenient.

Parking was $27 a day, but again... Know the area...parking at most shopping areas is $6 or so for an hour or two.

Room was minimally appointed (scandinavian style?) but very adequate. Smaller tv in LR, large one in BR, washer dryer, deck chairs on balcony with small table.

Overall, we enjoyed. My rating is largely based on price/value for the area and I feel we got more than our money's worth.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side see sun, 901a is full ocean front with wrap around deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WNYSue48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Marenas Resort in beautiful Sunny Isles Beach. It is true that the hotel provides a great value as compared to other properties in the area. The Resort is undergoing a refresh which includes several upgrades to the Resort's Public areas and Condominium units. We are happy to hear our staff was pleasant and efficient during your visit.

We look forward to once again welcoming you back to Marenas Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    404
    182
    90
    57
See reviews for
503
386
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
409 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Marenas is a nice hotel in Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach. I cannot give the hotel a better rating, since I rented directly from the owner and did not get all services offered, such as housekeeping. In my situation something were missing from the hotel service and the apartment needed a urgent renovation. However the hotel has some low points…now room service after 10pm and the pool closes at sundown, which in Miami does not make any sense. As high points I can say that the two bedrooms is great and comfortably accommodates a family of five, with a great kitchen and spectacular view. The location is also very good, for those not planning daily trips to South Beach and Downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at a Private Condominium at Marenas Resort. As you mention, some of the private units are in need of improvements. Currently, the Condominium Units directly operated directly by Marenas Resort are undergoing monthtly improvements and are held to strict quality controls.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit. The Marenas Resort website has several specials available throughout the year which are hard to pass up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice place...many positive remarks, especially the staff. I and my wife have taken 70 trips in ten years...place especially the suites are very nice, but like I said too pricey. Pool very small. Food double the price for the quality...parking 30 per night...

Room Tip: Price way too high for the quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimhp9000408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the great staff at Marenas Resort with Trip Advisor. The hotel is undergoing several improvements which are designed to enhance the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit. Although not inexpensive, Marenas does offer a great value considering the option of having your own kitchen and additional living area.

Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed for three nights in a one-bedroom suite and found it very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with a large fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. it's true that very few rooms have a direct view of the ocean, but I found that by going out on the balcony and leaning over the rail I could get a reasonable view. The beach was in the shadow if the hotel from 4 pm on, disappointingly. The staff were friendly and courteous, if somewhat erratic in their efficiency. Top marks to the concierge and Joe the beach towel man. In general the staff seemed untrained, particularly the cleaning staff, who had no idea how to behave with clients. They use the same lifts as clients and often seem tired, unhappy and unwashed. The lobby area is remarkably uninviting and awkwardly laid out, particularly the restaurant and bar. I wouldn't want to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms at the eastern end of the building have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went there yesterday (party of 8) for lunch at the Caracol Restaurant and we left VERY disappointed. The food was not good nor fresh. We all had stomach problems the rest of the day. But the worst part was the service. I had to get up to call the waiter more than once to ask for: the menu, to take our orders, to take away the dishes after each course, to offer us dessert and coffee etc, etc. No clue whatsoever on how to wait on tables.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanghai17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I should have known there were going to be problems at check-in. I showed up with my 11 year old son for a father-son trip to see his beloved Dolphins. We arrived at 4:00 pm and when I gave my name to the front desk clerk, he literally stared at his computer screen for 5 minutes without saying a word. I then inquired about what was the issue as he could obviously not find the reservation and I gave him the internet confirmation. He asked us to sit down for a “little” and then 10 minutes later it was obvious he had no solution. I asked at this point to speak to his manager and he acted like he did not understand the request. He would not allow me to speak to a manager. He kept trying to say the reservation “had not been moved to his computer”. Finally after 26 minutes, we got a room key.

We went to the room and as soon as we got there my son looked in the refrigerator. There were 3 partially eaten meals left in there which had seafood to which my son has a severe allergy. This was given to the bellman and I had to scrub down the refrigerator. We went to dinner and came back to let my son go to bed. I opened the sofabed and there were 9 different areas of stains on the mattress and no sheet available. I called housekeeping and it took 35 minutes for them to respond to my request for bedding for my son. He finally got to bed at 10:00 at night.

The carpets were quite worn down and the room was in bad need of an update. There is a great view of the ocean and the bellstaff and valet staff were quite efficient. I had stayed there in 2007 for the Orange Bowl when it was a Le Meridien property and had a wonderful experience. It sadly is nowhere near the property it was then and the choices nearby of the Trump or Acqualina have to be superior to this property.

When we returned to home I realized that I had left my son’s asthma medicine in the room. I called back 5 hours after checking out and they did locate it but said nothing could be done until Monday. I called the security office on Monday who said we will be glad to help you “with your credit card number for the shipping”. Not exactly the level of service I am used to. I am afraid I could not recommend staying here in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I just stayed there this week, I had cancelled my reservation at the Trump International just down the road because this location had better reviews and ratings. Upon arrival my wife noticed hair in the main bathroom and over the days the same hair was still there. During the stay more random hair would show up in the bathtub and sink. I noticed chewing gum stuck to the shower floor which remained there for the entire stay. The carpets and the sofa looked soiled and the patio furniture on the balcony were in need of replacement. The lounge chair had the webbing falling out of it and we had to ask twice to have it replaced so it could be used to sit on. When it was replaced the old one was pushed to the other end of the balcony where it sat for the entire stay. The carpets in the main halls are old and lumpy and looked like a beginner installed them. The main public areas looked very good and presentable. We had lunch on the outdoor patio and even though the server saw us I had to go inside and ask for service after 15 minutes. After driving around the area and seeing the other name brands like Ramada and Marriott and how they presented themselves I regretted not shopping around more before booking. I have experienced worse in Florida but we expected more than we got. This would be a nice place for a family with children because it was not crowded and the beach was nice and the pool was not busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Be...
#1 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marenas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marenas Beach Resort

Property: Marenas Beach Resort
Address: 18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2404 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marenas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated midway between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Marenas Beach Resort enjoys a desirable location on a glorious 2.5 mile stretch of pristine white sand in Florida's French Riviera of Sunny Isles Beach. Combining classic and contemporary styling to make up its design, Marenas offers a combination of rooms and suites each with views of the glistening Atlantic Ocean and Intracoastal Waterways ideal for family retreats or an intimate couple's getaway. As a member of Benchmark's Hotels and Resorts, Personal Luxury collection Marenas is sure to exceed your expectations. In addition, newly redesigned event space to span over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function areas with breath taking panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Marenas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marenas Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Le Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Sunny Isles Beach Meridien
Sunny Isles Beach Le Meridien
Marenas Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing