We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class by itself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In a class by itself!”
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This was our second stay at this magnificent resort and we were pleased to see that if anything, it was even better than we remembered. Everything about this resort is truly 5 star. The ambiance is understated elegance. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished, with the best lighting I have ever found in a hotel. Staff throughout the hotel are wonderful - friendly and efficient, yet professional and never intrusive. "Do not disturb" signs are scrupulously observed, yet service when requested is prompt. The bed linens are wonderfully soft and of the highest quality. The towels provided are plentiful, large and fluffy. We never heard a sound from nearby rooms.

On this trip, the hotel was not fully booked, so the management kindly upgraded us to a fabulous 1 bedroom suite. This was huge (about 1100 sq. ft) with a fully furnished luxurious kitchen that included a Subzero refrigerator-freezer with ice maker, Wolf range, dishwasher and microwave. All plates, utensils, cookware were provided, including an espresso maker! Granite counter tops everywhere. The suite also included a dining room, large living room, master bedroom and a separate office with a daybed that could easily accommodate a child or third person. There were 1 and 1/2 baths, a large terrace facing the ocean. Both the living room and bedroom had large flat screen TVs, with a small tv in the kitchen. We wished we could stay a month or more!! But even the standard room where we stayed last time was gorgeous and spacious. Though I must admit that having an ocean view greatly enhanced our enjoyment!

The pools and beach areas are immaculate. The pool water is heated so that swimming was delightful even though the outside temperature did not exceed 78 degrees during the entire week of our stay. Both lounge covers and wonderful large towels are provided at the pools and beach.

Breakfast was included in our American Express Platinum travel package and was beautifully served in the lovely Il Mulino restaurant. Everything was fresh and delicious. A buffet is available or one can choose from the menu. Juices, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, breads, bagels, pastries, are always available on the buffet. On some days, waffles and french toast were also available. If not on the buffet, one could order these or pancakes, lox, eggs, etc. from the menu.

We had dinner once in the Il Mulino. The food and service were fabulous. We had the Dover sole, which was outstanding! The meal was pricey, but well worth it for the exceptional quality.

I used the spa several times and was delighted with the facility and wonderful services.

Across the street from the hotel are several new mini-malls with many shops and restaurants of all types and price ranges. There are even 3 kosher restaurants for those who observe kashrut. There is a Walgreens, open 24 hours. The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive from the Aventura Mall and about 15 minutes from the Bal Harbour shopping center.

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world, but the Acqualina is the best overall experience we have had. We hope to return to this lovely hotel as frequently as our schedule permits.

  • Liked — Spacious, immaculate, quiet, luxurious, great ocean view
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bewtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    85
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
349
373
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I picked the Acqualina because I was visiting friends in North Miami. While it's not in the center of the action -- South Beach -- it's a great alternative for anyone looking for a quiet, beautiful, clean and upscale resort type hotel in the Miami area.

The hotel is a high-rise literally on the beach with large, clean, well furnished rooms and balconies facing either the "city" or the ocean. I recommend spending the extra money for an ocean view room. An ocean view room makes you feel as if you're on vacation in a tropical resort, while a city-view room feels as if you could be in any large US city. How do I know this? When there was a problem with my city-view room the hotel went above and beyond the call of duty and switched me to an ocean view room in less than an hour. That's the difference between a standard hotel and a hotel that understands service.

The beach was clean, the beach service good (make sure you get a flag for your lounge chair), the food above average. I noticed that some people didn't tip the beach service people, which is unfortunate.

On my first day there was too much seaweed in the water, but that cleared up by the next day. The water was relatively calm and swimable. I didn't use the pools, but they appeared sparkling clean and the adult pool pretty quiet.

The amenities in the room were quirky and a nice touch -- a rubber duck with goggles! The mini-bar included all the makings of a mojito, although it was prohibitively expensive.

There isn't much in the area, which is a little industrial (strip malls, etc) -- you definitely need a car if you plan to see Miami -- but cabs are plentiful. There is a lot of construction in the area, but it's not bothersome.

The only complaint, although it's not a complaint just a taste issue, is that the hotel tries a little too hard. There are what seemed like bentleys, jaquars, and ferrari type cars in the parking lot in front of the hotel that never seemed to move. Were they their just to impress? The flat screen TV that pops up and down into a chest at the foot of the bed is unusual, but is it necessary to be considered an elite hotel?

  • Liked — Beach access and service
  • Disliked — Not understated enough
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fultonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel is fantastic. It's easily the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed at, by a long shot. The price is high, but worth it- I was able to find the best price on traveldealzone.com.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveFromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Acqualina is a physically beautiful property very finely appointed rooms. High quality linens, marble baths, dual sinks, luxury carpet. My husband most enjoyed the flat sceen tv mounted on swivels which arises on call from a box at the foot of the bed, as well as the well equipped health club.

What set the hotel apart in my opinion was the truly exceptional service, especially the personal touches and efforts of the housekeeping staff to assure that everything was in order in the room -- night and day. Special thanks to LaBelle in that regard, complete with her classic French maid uniform.

My two hour treatment in the Espa was a delight, as were our hours lounging by the extravagant pool. All in all, a good stay despite the hazards of passing tropical storms.

  • Liked — The luxury appointments and attentive service
  • Disliked — The beach was dirty beyond the area directly in front of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanGlobalGallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluj napoca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Sure the best in whole Miami.Great interiors,excelent staff,,superb beach and pools area,awersome restaurant.Entire resort is in great shape and the staff is doing their best to keep it so!Rooms are huge and very clean,with great balconys.Il Mulinio is great.ESPA,amazing!
GREAT JOB!KEEP IT LIKE SO!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dantudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My husband and I live in Ft. Lauderdale but wanted to get away for my birthday weekend not too far from home. We would usually head to Naples to the Ritz Carlton, but they were booked that particular weekend. We stumbled on The Acqulina through a travel site that we had used once before & weren't disappointed.The hotel seemed to be everything we were looking for, 5 star luxury accomdations, an ocean front rooms,spa & fine dining. My husband called WHATAHOTEL and was told this was a VERY special resort. He booked the room through them instead of the hotel directly because there were some added perks like a room upgrade, late check out, breakfast each morning & special rates. My husband also corresponded with the hotels concierge to make sure all the little luxuries we prefer would be in our room, extra feather pilow, matches for candles, ipod docking station, bath salts,fresh robes etc.. He'd coordinated special arrangements for my birthday, he fedex'd many "B" Day cards to them prior to arrival with instructions on when and where they were to be presented to me with a rose. They did everything according to plan. Our room was ready hours early when we arrived and found the in-room check in to be a nice touch. Our upgrade to our one bedroom ocean view suite was beautifully furnished, spaciaous and immaculate with a double balcony. We especially loved the large double headed shower for 2. The food and services throughout the hotel were 5 star,room service was fabulous and if it's not the menu they will prepare it you. The adult quite pool was relaxing, and they are strict about the no children allowed. The grounds are well kept, the pools and beach were very clean.The spa was my favorite, It's tranquil and serene, very Asian inspired.It was very well staffed as was the entire hotel.I spent hours relaxing in the crystal steam room, sauna and relaxation room before and after my treatments. I loved that I stayed in the same treatment room with the same specailist for all my services. I live close enough that I can come back often for a day at the spa. We had a wonderful dinner at IL Mulino, we found the food to be above average and reasonably priced for the hotel and the service. Thank You to all the staff for a fabulous birthday weekend experience, and thanks to the GM for one of the most delicious birthday cakes I have ever had. We will be sure to return.

  • Liked — luxury and spacious
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank absoluelyfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

There is so much to say about this Florida gem--great views, amazing spa, wonderful service, awesome beach, tasteful rooms...and to top it off, once I discovered that I had left a gold necklace in one of the robes in the room, they overnighted it to my house at no charge! My husband and I loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Personalized service & security
  • Disliked — Not very close to main attractions
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyFruFru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,489 reviews
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,054 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,012 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Property: Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Address: 17875 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, the AAA Five Diamond Award and the Andrew Harper’s Reader’s Choice Award for Top #1 Top Beach Resort, #1 Top Spa Resort and #1 Top Family Resort. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury at this Miami Beach Resort with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace, AQ by Acqualina with menus provided by Il Mulino New York and a separate restaurant by the Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardroom, a world class fitness center offering the latest Artis technology and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering 11 multi-functional treatment rooms and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing