We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, Nc, Usa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I were totally fried when we arrived at Aqualina. after three days we were recharged and refreshed. This is one of the best hotel/resorts that I have ever stayed in. I travel extensively internationally and the facilities, service and staff at Aqualina are second to none!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    79
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
290
340
21
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Acqualina has potential but misses on the fine details. Beautiful rooms, the lobby and common areas were equally appealing. With that being said there is just something missing, I can't quite put my finger on it. The staff is truly exceptional ("my pleasure" is obviously engrained in them) and most cases exceeded my expectations, but there were a couple of instances where they fell short. One was on the beach. We were effectively forgotten. It appeared to be standard for them to give each "set up" a flag for service but we didn’t get one. No problem, we walked up to the bar for water etc and let them know. They said they would send someone over to fix the problem but it never was fixed. We went up again and asked for the service flag since the waitress only responds when she sees the flag up. I am normally easy going and don't mind getting up...but when a resort sets a 5 star expectation its attention to details that make the difference. The idea of being lazy on the full service beach was not a reality.
All in all I would say it was a good experience and would recommend the Acqualina. The staff’s efforts and genuine nature made up for the shortcomings. The resort is part condo/part hotel which gives the place an established vibe. There did seem to be a large contingent of nouveau riche eastern Europeans in the condos that were borderline obnoxious. They did not exhibit the best of manners, but were not overtly rude.

Room Tip: You are so close to the beach that oceanview isnt necessary. I did have it which was nice, but i sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First of all, while I own my own business which is doing well, I am not one of the people driving the ferrari's, maseratti's and rolls royces parked in the lobby. I booked two rooms in this hotel for business, and thought it would be a nice splurge and an extra special stay for my team. Having just returned from several 5 star hotels in Napa, I thought this hotel was a disappointment by comparison. The grounds are definitely lovely and special; the couch/grassy area is beautiful, and the hotel staff is exceptionally kind and accommodating. The rooms are very spacious. However, overall I was disappointed and did not feel the hotel was worth the expense. For one thing, when I made coffee, the spoons with the cups in my room were dirty. We stayed 3 nights and on day 3, there is still a dirty spoon in there. That's kinda gross. Also, we ate at Piazetta and the server offered me a dirty to-go container with dust and crumbs in it to take the rest of our pizza to our room. Also, every time we got our car it took 20 min which was a hassle. Also, turn down service is bottled water. Bottled water, really?? What's special about that? Tubs in the room are not jetted, and clean towels were left in a pile in the bathroom, not put away. But, most significantly of all, we were traveling with a child and they lost her beloved bear she sleeps with when they changed the bed linens. While the staff was very pleasant, overall, our stay was not the special treat I hoped it would be.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JhaleyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Acqualina Resort and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! Such an exclusive feel, yet the staff (every single one we encountered) treated us with such warmth and courtesy.
The spa is a must do!! Best two hours we've spent in a long while. The beach is clean, comfortable chaises with cushions/umbrella whatever you want.
Fantastic dinner(s) at Il Mulino! Excellent!!
Lovely suite with amazing ocean views and a huge balcony....perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First off, I'm a Virtuoso travel agent that gets to visit many 4 and 5 star hotels often and the Acqualina stands out. Rooms are large,clean and very comfortable. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and always there for any request. The hotel car is great to take you to Bal Harbour shops or area restaurants. The spa was very nice and relaxing.
Acqualina is a little north of Miami and a great choice for families. I saw many kids involved in all the activities they offered and the parents and kids seemed to love it.

Room Tip: Oceanview 1 bedrooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just had four nites at this wonderful hotel. Could not fault it in any way. The staff are lovely, the facilities and beach are first class. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Their courtesy car driver John, is a wonderful asset with an endearing personality. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Has a lovely stay the staff were very helpful and friendly and especially the concierge and the house driver john
Wonderful position great beach right near aventura mall but
Sun loungers around pool too cramped and poor quality wi fi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starandree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.6 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.3 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Property: Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Address: 17875 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, the AAA Five Diamond Award and the Andrew Harper’s Reader’s Choice Award for Top #1 Top Beach Resort, #1 Top Spa Resort and #1 Top Family Resort. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury at this Miami Beach Resort with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace, AQ by Acqualina with menus provided by Il Mulino New York and a separate restaurant by the Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardroom, a world class fitness center offering the latest Artis technology and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering 11 multi-functional treatment rooms and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing