We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed at Sole thinking of an average gataway from Tampa where I live. I came recomendded by a friend that had a very good stay...but mine was Outstanding!!!
I was there with my girlfriend just to clebrate our anniversary and I thought we were in a honeymoon. We were given a free upgrade to a Suite with a great view. Service in general is very warm and commited. Mangement presence was there at all times at Front desk and Beach area. Luis at the bar THE BEST!!!!
Luis as soon as he realized we were celebrating he opened a bottle of champ and made a toast in our honor.... THANK YOU! it was the best anniversary even...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORGE5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel has the worst service I have ever been apart of! They pay ZERO attention to detail and will not honor anything they say on the phone!
- Their beach service is slow and food takes about an hour to receive
- The manager in uninformed on anything that is going on in the hotel
- The valet crashed a right in front of me
-We had charge mistakes on our credit card that they refuse to reverse

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationer210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Dear valued guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write such a constructive review, which allows us to pinpoint where services and staff training need to be improved. We apologize for failing to provide you with the expected service that we pride ourselves in. We can assure you that we have taken your comments to heart and that we have addressed your review with our staff.

On behalf of our management team and staff, we do hope you will visit us again to see the improvements your comments have produced.

Best regards,
Robert Adams
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

we had a great stay in a wonderful room and very modern bathroom. my room was connected to my friends room by a hall and a seperate door to the rest of the hotels guest. we also had a washer and dryer. our suite had a full kitchen with seperate living area. only down side the hotel had no kitchen. beach acess was also great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Solé on the Ocean during your recent visit to Sunny Isles. Reviews such as yours help us understand what is most important to you.

On behalf of the management and our entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Robert Adams
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The location and hotel is beautiful, but they are scammers!!!!! They tell you one thing online and when you actually get there, it's a lie. Our family of 3 paid closed to 4grams for 2 weeks stay for hotel, car and flight (baby's under 2) and we thought we were getting a nice room, but to our surprise when we got there they give us this box looking room and told us to upgrade for 50$ a day..shocking!! secondly, they said other things were free and they were lying. The sheets were tored up and you have to pay for the water after the first complimentary one. Wow!!! oh by the way, no alcohol allowed...responsible people cannot take alcohol..Please don't waste your money..Too pricey for lies. If we were getting what we we were promised, we would not have mind paying, but they are scammers!!! Go to other hotels on Collins and not the Sole on the beach...Lies, lies, lies..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Solé on the Ocean during your recent visit to Sunny Isles. After reading your comments, we are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience during your stay. We are working diligently to provide our guests with consistent services and that all of our deals are honored. To that end, we will be improving descriptions of all room categories online and will be adding pictures and square footages to these descriptions. We hope this will alleviate the problems you experienced.

We do, in fact, have a “no cooler” policy for our pool and beach areas which are serviced by our food service.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location and beauty of the hotel, and we will continue to work hard and ensure that our accommodations, service and cleanliness meet all guest expectations.

On behalf of our management team and staff, we hope to restore your confidence in Solé on the Ocean on your next stay.

Best regards,
Robert Adams
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. When we checked in, we were surprised with a free upgrade to a suite to celebrate our wedding! The suite was beautiful and completely stocked. The pool was warm and the bartenders friendly. This hotel is right on the water, so the views were perfect. Service was very friendly and responsive. Milton and Michaela took wonderful care of us!

We were a little bummed to learn the gym was not yet open, and the elevators were a bit slow, but overall, everything was really nice. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, as well as shopping. The area had a very European feel.

We would definitely stay here again. It really was a fantastic value! Great modern style and amenities for an incredible price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chardy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We’re thrilled that you singled out some of our staff members that made your stay extra special, and we’re happy that you appreciate our varied amenities and contemporary style.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning!

Best regards,
Robert Adams
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and liked it. We booked through a 3rd party and got a good deal.
The hotel is located in north beach area and it's right on the beach. You can get beach chair and umbrellas easily. The facility is well kept and all the staff were really respectful and nice. we had a king room with partial ocean view. Still we had a very good view of the ocean and sunrise though. The hotel has a small pool which is okay. They have a gym with a bar and restaurant. They are all okay, not the best though.
parking was somehow a pain, since it's valet and will cost you 20$ per night. King size rooms are really small ( we didn't care though ). If you like space, you won't enjoy their cramped king size rooms.
In conclusion, it's a decent choice if you are not very picky. In miami beach area where everything is way overpriced , this is a decent place. In conclusion, I liked this place and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

1. Ocean view included having to lean over the balcony to view. Otherwise got to see the air conditioners on the top of the parallel building.
2. Front desk did not have an English map of local area.
3. The room was the size of a tampon box.
4. The walls were paper thin...think college dorm.
5. The tv was the size of an ipad.
6. Nothing within walking distance besides strip malls.
7. The bed did not have a mattress pad.
8. The door to the bathroom did not have a latch.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony55419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your stay. In response to reviews such as yours, we will be providing pictures and square footages for the various room categories as well as better descriptions of amenities (flat screen televisions are 26”-32” in the bedroom and 42” in the living room). We also want to assure you that we are making the necessary requirements to make our rooms quieter, as well as offering expanded amenities and providing additional services to enhance our guests’ stay.

We do, in fact, have many strip malls in walking distance. However, the characteristics of these shops range from mid- to high-end fashion boutiques, coffee and juice shops, jewelers, gourmet grocery and international selection of restaurants; this is something we cannot change.

We will continue to strive towards making improvements to our business.

Best regards,
Robert Adams
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#9 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,146 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $171 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, outdoor pool and sundeck, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, complimentary paddle boards, Food Service at the beach, pool and room service from the kitchen of our Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing