We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could've been better ;(”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wash DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could've been better ;(”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Let me just say that whenever this hotel is finished; it'll probably be great! As of right now its okay but needs improvement. Considering the low price I paid per night It was of great value HOWEVER much of what posted on the site re: its amenities in the rooms are not necessarily true. I booked a ocean view double. It was very dark in the room expect for the day time when we open the curtains. There were 2 SMAll lamps that provide little light to the room. No clock and/or MP3 Ipod docking station. The phone was inoperable, no coffee maker, no hangers were available in the closet. No extras like pillows or blankets. Only 2 towels provided for the stay unless requested. The cleaning crew didn't come around until late in the evening either. We were told that the King suites MIGHT have those amenities to include a microwave etc but no guarantee. The person in the rm beside us puffed on a cigar every am which came into our room but the hotel staff said they couldn't find the smoke when they went to his/her room which couldn't be inspected because the person didn't open the door. Hmmm that's prob smart in a non-smoking hotel. There wasn't even an offer to move us to another room but rather we should open the balcony door. THANKS SOLE FOR THE 2ND HAND SMOKE!
There's no room service or restaurant located on the premises. The gym isn't finished yet (understandable) the Poolside bar doesn't have food UNLESS requested during the NON-PUBLICIZED few hours of meal deals... U don't smell anything cooking or even know that they serve food. Pool Cabanas are cute a lil dirty but cute. The beach is AWESOME but you have to pay for each chair you use and the Umbrella as well. I believe it was $10/chair & $20-$30?? for ur 'brella each day.. the towels will be billed to the room if not returned to the specific person who gives them to you. These are all usually complimentary in resorts and/or beach hotels: at least where I've stayed. Again there isn't a periodic cabana boy or girl asking if you like a drink but staff complained that there's no traffic to the bar. It prob would be if they turned the music up had a menu and advertised food/drink specials, etc! No wkend beach parties or anything like that.
DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT TO PARTY!!! SBeach is about 30minutes away so rent a car or pay the $75each way cab fare. U could do the $2 bus but it runs sparsely after 12am. Sunny Isles is more of a laid back well-to-do Retirement Community. :) Tony Romas & the Peruvian Chicken spot were the best meals. The malls were breaths of fresh air! Good Mix of stores. However, if I were to return I'd have a car and hope that some changes have been made.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMiss_On_The_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    431
    196
    117
    116
See reviews for
512
585
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north haledon, nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Spent six nights there and loved every second of it. We were in the Florida Riveria which means that the area and hotel were beautiful.. A few hotels down were three Trump Properties. Our King Suite was amazing. Brand new with beautiful boutique type furnishings and kitchen with stainless applicances, dishwasher and washer/dryer. Everything couldn't have gone more perfect. The front desk was extremely helpful giving out directions and help whenever we asked. After reading other reviews I was skeptical about staying there and I couldn't believe the facilities. The pool was gorgeous and we spent each day on the beach and pool. Across the street was a beautiful park where people were out each and every night. The stores, restaurant and shops are all in walking distance and we took advantage of all of the area. The Adventura Mall was a few milies away and loved the shops and restaurants. I would say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Amazing...

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Very hard to locate, the staff was not friendly but when we met a manager we understood why... Give a differnet room as booked, then they change it for other, no towels, no lamps, no chair in the room, no TV at room, dirty.
As says, all bad
PLAES DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piqui08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My friend and I stayed at this hotel and her very pleased with the friendy staff. The ambience of the hotel was astounding and the oceanview was absoluteley breathtaking. The location was central to all of the activites was had planned. The modern decor was impressive and the rooms were very comfortable. The experience at this hotel was stellar. I have recommended this hotel to family and friends who plan on visiting the Miami area. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to Miami.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This was by far the worst hotel experience I had ever experienceD. To start when we arrived we entered into the so called "lobby" ( counch, stars leading to nowhere and a desk). The man behind the desk was creepy and clearly knew nothing about what he was doing. After 45 minutes of watching the man look for our reservation we went in the nasty elivator , and through the spooking haunted looking halls with dirty carpets. In the room there where absolutly NO lights, No lamps. The only light that worked was the light in the shower. My friend tripped over the toilet. We paid for an ocean veiw room and recieved a room that was facing the hotel next door, BUT if you break your neck and lean over the tiny balcony in hopes not to fall over you could see ocean. Emiaditly after we complained in hopes that they would help us, they said that they were all booked up? and we didnt recieve any help until the next morning. They upgraded us to a better room AGAIN with no lights although the room did have a beautiful ocean veiw. We had to carry around a smalllll lamp in each room with us. The room came with NO towels, No soaps, No grabage cans, No toilet paper (in 2 bathrooms), No coffee pots in the kitchen, no tv in bedroom, no curtins, an old tv in the den( we used for light), lets just say it had nothingggggg. We could not phone down to the desk because the phones do not work. After several trips down to the front desk we FINALLY recieved 1 towel , and 1 roll of toilet paper (for three people and 2 bathrooms). We asked for a cot (we dont have that), okay so do you have a blow up bed? (No we dont have that), Okay then we will settle for some extra blankets and pillows (WE DO NOT HAVE). we had to share two pillows between the three of us. Customer survice was very rude and obnoxious by the way, everyone that works there doesnt know what they are doing or talking about EXCEPT EDWARDO THE POOL MAN. Going to the beach you have to take an elivator down to the parking garage and walk through cars to get outside to a crap walk way. The pool has a bar that doesnt open untill 1230 and the bar tenders dont know how to make any type of drink. (had to tell them how to make the drinks). There are no lounge chairs by the pool, and they refused to give us any from the beach. There are lounge chairs on the beach BUT you have to pay $10 per chair even if you belong to the hotel. There is no where to get water, coffee, tea, nothing. If you want to eat you have to wait untill 4 o'clock for the outside grill to open and the food is LIMITED and DISGUSTING. If you go next door to the Double Tree you will find that they will help you out because they feel bad for you. OH YA and parking is $15 everytime you use it. Not any of the employees can provide you with any attractions that may be around (they say there is nothing). ALL and ALL this hotel is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at, I would never stay here again even when they are all finished and I hope from sharing my experience you won't either. P.S. The pictures you see online are decieving.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Arrived at the hotel, very hard to locate due to the Sole sign being set back and not visible from the road. Given our room only to find it overlooking a hotel next door, not ocean front as booked. After a complaint we given an oceanfront. In the room no towels soap or any toiletries. We understood that the hotel had a restaurant and a spa. It would seem that we are a few months early. But not to worry we have a kitchen in the suite, no coffee maker, no toaster, still after a few calls we have these items. I had seen a review telling all that this place was heaven on earth, Tempurpedic beds, no, but they are comfortable.The linen is very good quality as are the towels although somewhat small and rare.The rooms are very spacious but they are so devoid of any character, bare walls everywhere you look. It would just take a picture on the wall and a bowl on the table or a vase to give that lived in feeling. No bedside lamps, one small lamp in the lounge area that we took into the bedroom in order to read as there is no TV in the bedroom. A good size flatscreen in the lounge gives us the only light in that area. To get to the pool you have to go thru the garage and along the side of the hotel, today there is dog turd ( I THINK) and the area has not seen a broom for a while. After getting to the small pool area a few tables and chairs and 3 wicker enclosed seats, no loungers by the pool but for a few bucks there are loungers on the beach. Many other things, the elevators will be very nice when they are finished, they do go up and down but inside are not completed. The carpets in the halls look very well worn, and again could do with a good vacuum. On the up side the weather is great, such a shame that the hotel is not.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnitedKingdomMikeDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando,Fl
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel for Miami Carnival this past weekend. The hotel nor staff was very accomodating. They lacked professionalism and could not provide the basics that a hotel should provide. They could not accomodate the request for 2 rooms to be together even though we requested this 4 weeks in advance. One room was on the 7th floor the other on the 15th. That was the best they could do. One room was not ready till 6pm and then they gave me the keys to a room that was already occupied. I had to go back down stairs with all my stuff and my 4 month old-and this is 3 hours after our room should have been ready. They didn't even apologize for the inconveinence and they knew we were traveling w/kids.Once getting into the right room, there were dirty dishes in the dishwasher,smudges on the mirrors, 2 towels, no washcloths. They couldn't even provide us with dishwasher soap. Why would you have a dishwasher and no soap to use it???We asked for 1 extra blanket and an extra pillow and they could not provide us with it due to them being "sold out". One room had a plasma, the other had an old school TV. I asked to speak with the GM and I never received a call. The elevators and hallways were not very clean.The list goes on. The product is nice, rain head shower is great and the views were spectacular, but the service and ammenities sucked! They have a long way to go...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbloodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Property: Sole on the Ocean
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing