We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sole on the Ocean”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed at Sole on the Ocean several times. The hotel was not quite finished the first couple of times I stayed here. The gym was not yet completed and the only food served was at the pool bar but our stay was great. The location is convenient and ocean front room was wonderful. The furniture is contemporary, the kitchen is more than adequate and the shared washer and dryer make it convenient to travel light. I enjoyed the one bedroom suite because if I was up when my wife was still in bed I was able to enjoy the comfort of the unit without disturbing her. The view from the expansive balcony that stretches from the living room to the bedroom is wonderful.
The reception/ check in area is of contemporary design with sophisticated, clean lines. The small gym now available is adequate. The hotel offers live entertainment in the now completed dining room.
The pool is small but I go to Miami to be on the beach and the beach here is quite nice.
The hotel is far enough away from the heart of South Beach to avoid the hub bub and near enough to visit and enjoy it. Shopping for essentials and both simple and sophisticated dining is available within walking distance.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: My advice is to choose an ocean front suite.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post a message and sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated that you wrote such a detailed review, it is always valuable. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our Hotel and Associates met your expectations during each of your stays with us. With so many return visits, you are officially a part of the Sole family. We are glad that you took advantage of our most recent updated on property amenities, facilities and overall esthetic design and concept of the Hotel.. Our Property sits on the pristine beaches of Sunny Isles, Florida also known as Americas Riviera and has direct Ocean Front access to the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Our Restaurant Alba, by Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the Restaurant ,as well as, Lunch Poolside or Beachside.
We will advise our Associates of your kind words of recognition and encouragement for providing the utmost service to our Guests.

Thank you for choosing Sole on the Ocean as your destination location and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!
We are always very happy to welcoming returning guests to Sole and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Best personal regards,
Manager, Guest Relations and Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Sole on the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spent a long weekend staying here recently. I didn't use a lot of the hotel facilties but I can say that the location on the beach is good. It is a small, boutique hotel a little under the radar, but with a cool,, friendly vibe. it felt very uncrowded, and I liked that. The room was a little on the small side and my ocean view was not exactly expansive, but I really liked the restaurant where I had breakfast and the price and value were in line with expectations. All in all a successful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post a message and sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our Hotel and Associates met your expectations. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Sole experience. Sole is a boutique hotel with a barefoot chic ambiance and personalized guest service.
Our Hotel property sits on the pristine beaches of Sunny Isles, Florida also known as Americas Riviera and has direct Ocean Front access to the beach and Atlantic Ocean. We are happy that our Hotels energy conveyed the Boutique feel and personalized attention that you mentioned and that you were able to take advantage of Sunny Isles #1 ranked Our wonderful restaurant Alba Seaside Italian, by Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano, which serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the Restaurant with amazing ocean views of the Ocean ,as well as, Lunch Poolside or Beachside. We will advise our Associates of your kind words of recognition and encouragement for providing the utmost service to our Guests.

Thank you for choosing Sole on the Ocean as your destination location and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!

Best personal regards,
Manager, Guest Relations and Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at Sole last week and I must say that everything was perfect. From the moment you walk in you feel welcomed. The staff was friendly, professional and informative. The room was impeccable. I stayed on the 24th floor in a suite and the view was out of this world, thanks Margie. My room was spacious and very clean. I can't wait until my next stay there.

Room Tip: Get a suite, totally worth it
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a message and sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Sole experience. We will be sure to share your kind words of recognition and encouragement for providing the utmost service to Associates On behalf of the entire Sole team, Thank you for choosing Sole on the Ocean as your destination location and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!

Best personal regards,
Manager, Guest Relations and Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the Sole on the Ocean in Sunny Isles in mid-November as part of a guys weekend getaway to the Miami area from New York and could not have been more pleased with my stay. Starting with my rental car pulling up the winding driveway to the hotel entrance, I was met with first-class service. From the parking valets, to the front desk staff, to the folks who manned the beach amenities, essentially every interaction with hotel staff was spot-on.

Of particular note was Sanford, the Manager of Guest Services, who liaised with the front desk staff as part of my check-in. Throughout my entire stay, he continued to ensure that all needs of myself and my party were met. His attention to care and detail far exceeded my expectations and his presence was a point of distinction from so many other generic hotel stays at other properties.

Without doubt, Sole has a very distinct and unique feel as a boutique hotel.
The accommodations were really stellar and our room included a breathtaking view of the ocean. To be fair, the rooms are not as large as a standard, chain-style hotel, but their size was more than sufficient for the weekend's needs...and of course, the excellent service and views more than made up for the space that is usually occupied with a utilitarian desk at most other places (but who goes to Miami to work, anyway??)

To summarize -- staying at this hotel was without doubt a great choice and helped to create an unforgettable weekend experience. The genuine care for guests demonstrated by Sanford and the rest of the staff at Sole has set the bar extraordinarily high for other hotels to even come close to matching. Overall: highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ocean are ideal. Make sure you check out the private beach to grab some sun...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Sole experience. As part of a boutique hotel, our entire team strives to provide our guests with a memorable stay in an intimate setting. Sanford is dedicated to guest relations and as such a valued team member. He will be very happy to have been singled out for making your stay so enjoyable. We thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best personal regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This property is not a hotel but a cheap condo disguised as a boutique hotel.
Very small, dark painted room with cheap Ikea like furniture. There is no minibar, no water, no ice, no fridge, no glasses, no bottle opener. You won’t find any luxury touches to enhance comfort.
I had to keep my shirts and other clothing items in my luggage as there is no dresser in the room. There were only 3 hangers in the closet. Asked for few more but never arrived. The only seating in the room was a kitchen chair. Balcony was very dirty with no chairs or any kind of furniture. Corridors are very narrow and dirty. I haven’t noticed any cleaning or vacuuming on the corridors for 5 days. Bed sheets haven been changed for 5 days. Bathroom adequate in size but badly designed. Shower water was only lukewarm; there was no hot water for 5 days. The shower stall had no shelves or holders so you have to leave all your toiletries on the floor. Flat screen TV is the size of a computer monitor and extremely difficult to watch from the bed. No option to order movies or other programing. In room dining was also very poor. I ordered a pizza and it was delivered cold, in a brown card box, without any cutlery, serviette or napkins. Water served on a plastic cup. Breakfast in restaurant was also poor. Coffee is bad and the croissants are more like cheap bread than butter pastries. They most likely are supplied bulk frozen as they were served sliced and toasted as bagels or white toast. Very amateurish. Overall, this property offers very, very basic and cheap amenities and services. You can feel every step that this is a struggling property trying to save pennies on every way possible. I will never go back again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank TIAFAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a message and for sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated. While we are very pleased that you chose to visit us again. As a boutique hotel, we want all guests to be happy and we are sorry to hear that this stay with us did not meet your expectations. Rest assured, we have already reviewed your comments together with our housekeeping and restaurant teams.

As you may recall from your previous visit, our hotel and room design as well as all furniture and amenities were carefully selected with guest comfort and convenience in mind. Housekeeping service all day throughout the property, bottled water, Keurig coffee machines in guest rooms, high thread count linens and towels, solid hardwood doors, furniture and cabinetry and ceramic and stone flooring, freshly baked goods made on premesis daily by our pastry chef, and Victoria L’Orignale coffee and espresso in our dining room to name a few. We hope that these were some of the reasons that you chose to return.

We do hope that you were able to take advantage of some of the many upgrades that we have made to the property since your last visit including the new robes, safes and vanity mirrors in all rooms, and the new security system restricting access to guest room floors for registered guests of those floors only, to name a few.
We do appreciate your feedback and will take every consideration., I would be happy to chat with you further off-line to discuss in depth.

Thank you for choosing Sole on the Ocean as your destination location and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!

Best personal regards,
Manager, Guest Relations and Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We came upon Sole by urgency when our first reservation fell through at another hotel. From the moment we stepped through the front door we couldn't believe how helpful and personable everyone was. The front desk double of Marjorie and May got us checked in seamlessly. We checked in early and got right to our room. Anytime we were walking around all the staff just stops to say hello and make sure your day is going well. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a message and sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our Associates were able to meet and exceed your needs and expectations and will advise our Associates of your kind words of recognition and encouragement for providing the utmost service to our Guests.

Thank you for choosing Sole on the Ocean as your destination location. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!

Best personal regards,
Manager, Guest Relations and Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and loved every minute. The hotel is situated right on the beach with spectacular views. The hotel staff were extremely polite and available at all times. The Valet staff were very courteous and very quick to respond.......we came in and out several times daily.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone that wants to stay in Sunny Isles.

Room Tip: I would choose a high floor, ocean view, to get the best of your experience.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLORIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to post a message and sharing your feedback, it is always greatly appreciated.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our Hotel and Associates and met your expectations during your stay. We are glad that you took advantage of our updated on property amenities, facilities of the Hotel. Our Property sits on the pristine beaches of Sunny Isles, Florida also known as Americas Riviera and has direct Ocean Front access to the beach and Atlantic Ocean via our Beach Club’s Resort entrance and our Restaurant Alba, by Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the Restaurant ,as well as, Lunch Poolside or Beachside whom we will convey your thoughts .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $165 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing