We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Service”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and always use Trip Advisor as a helpful and accurate tool. This is the first time that I have to disagree with the ranking given to a hotel. I have stayed in Miami several times and decided to stay in Sunny Isles this time. I booked a double room at Sole on the Ocean for 11 days. My definition of the hotel: a nice place to shower and sleep in front of the ocean. Period. If you are looking for any kind of service, even at a minimum level, run away from this place. The rooms as ok and spacious, but poorly maintained. When we arrived, the A/C of the second unit was not working. Good for Miami's summer... After 5 days of complaint and absolutely no response, we offered to change rooms. We accepted and, when arrived in the new room, surprise: it was occupied. We went back to the old room (2105 a and b) and waited another day to receive an offer to change room again. We rejected the offer and the proposed new room was really bad and stayed without air for the entire stay. The stove of the larger unit was also not working and, irrespective of the several complaints, was never fixed. Room service is a special point: they are so rude that you feel that you are doing them a favor. One day, the lady entered the room at 9:30, turned on the lights and woke my two kids up. We had to force her out of the room, not without hearing some really nasty words. And, yes, our floor was being painted during our stay. Nothing like getting to the room and feeling that fresh paint odor!!! Amenities are non existent and the bar is very limited. Finally, don't walk in the corridor without shoes. The carpet is as dirty as it can be... Summarizing, if you are absolutely not into receiving any kind of service, even a bad one, and want a place to shower after the beach, this could be the place. If, however, you require some basic, and I mean really basic, service from a hotel that you are paying for, then DO NOT STAY HERE! Certainly not a 4-star place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Mauro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was sold as 4 star but in reality its a condo failing trying to make it as a hotel. The rooms are puny, not even a cup for wAter in room and snoby staff who could care less. Yes, its on the beach with a pool, so I stayed, but not again. Sad choicr.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

> Dear Valued Guest,
> We are truly sorry to hear that your recent experience was not what you expected. First, let me start by saying that we would love to go into more details regarding your recent stay. We strive in creating a tranquil stay for all of our guest. Please feel free to contact me directly at 786.923.9310.

Second, kindly allow me to touch on a few items your raise. Sole was designed and built as a beachfront boutique hotel in 2009. The overall design was intended to provide beach chic setting for guests. Each guest room features luxury linens, pillow top mattresses, keurig coffee machines together with cups and free refills, bottled water, free wi-fi and video on demand, to name a few. To assist guests with room selection, we have included pictures of each room category together with views from that room category and square footages. Our reservations agents are always happy to assist as well.

> Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Thank you to Eric, Jose and Luis and all the others who made our stay a very nice experience. Ralph Pagano, Chef and owner of Alba Restaurant was amazing!!! Thank you! My only complaint, we stayed at a suite with a full kitchen.. However there were no dish towels, no dishwashing detergent and housekeeping did not run the dishwasher nor clean the microwave during our 5 day stay. On the second day, I had to request dishwasher detergent to wash the dishes because they had not been cleaned by housekeepers

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medmed25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for talking the time in writing and sharing your review. The team at the beach is thrilled for being singled out. My apologies regarding housekeeping and a remedy has immediately been set in place. On the upside we are pleased you were able to enjoy Chef Ralph Pagano dishes at Alba. Please come back to visit as he has recently added a few more delights to the menu. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next getaway with us at Sole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked a one-bedroom through a management company and paid for an entire week's stay up front. Was charged $15 per day (plus tax) in resort fees, and $25 per day (again plus tax) for parking fees. The sad part is that visitors that are not resort guests get the parking for only $17. Or get to pay only $5 if they purchase drinks or food at the bar. This means that in addition to the rental and other exorbitant hotel fees, we also had to pay an arm and a leg for 5 drinks and a couple of sandwiches, and was still forced to pay the $25 a day to park there. (Word to the wise, don't even think about buying an ice cream by the pool as it will cost you $5 plus an additional 18% gratuity...INSANE!!!!) going back to our one-bedroom, all the doors within were dirty with what appeared to be kid hand prints in sunblock that just didn't come off (tried cleaning it myself). They should have considered repainting them if they were going to rent this room out to me as a 4-Star hotel. The toilet in our room didn't flush properly; bathroom doors didn't lock, 2 of the stove ranges in the kitchen didn't work, and the other two wouldn't turn off. There was no toaster on the kitchen, which turned out to be a real inconvenience (again almost felt like they were trying to get you to eat at the hotel's restaurant). The staff at the beach chairs and pool-bar area were extremely unprofessional and displayed inadequate behavior at times. They kept starring at all the women that would pass by in their bikinis and point them out to their other co-worker (not the least bit discrete about it). They were also only interested in your tips and harassed you until you bought snacks/food at the pool-side bar (which was all ridiculously overpriced). And don't even attempt to bring your own drink or chips down to the beach or pool area as they will make you discard it. In short, my recommendation is that you save yourself the money/agony and rent elsewhere. There are plenty of other resorts on that block that are better than this place, and by far. Signed an extremely disappointed guest!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPAREMOI3675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

> Dear Valued Guest,
> Thank you for your recent review. We apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. Kindly allow me to clarify a few points. Valet parking is $25 for overnight guests. A smaller fee would be charged to any guest that has visitors only staying for a few hours. Our outside guests that visit Sole to enjoy our fine dining restaurant Alba, have a set parking price, as do other hotels in Miami. To offer our guests dining options outside Alba, we offer full service meals on the beach and in the pool area, and as such do not permit outside food and beverages in these areas. Additionally, we are sorry that you felt harassed to purchase items in the beach area. Our servers do try to be attentive to our guests and do not wish to have anyone feel overlooked. We have shared your comments with them.

> Regarding the items you listed in the room, the stove in the kitchen is a flat top and the indicator light remains on until the stove has completely cooled down which is a safety feature. We are in the process of repainting doors for exactly the reason you mention. Rest assured, we have addressed the toilet and lock issues immediately.

> Thank you again for your feedback. We hope we were able to clarify some points for you. Please feel free to give me a call directly if you would like to further discuss your recent stay or plan your next. 786.912.9310

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I decided to head down to Miami Beach recently and decided to stay here at Sole on the Beach. The rate was not outrageous or even truly expensive for a partial ocean-view room so I knew that Sole would not be the Ritz. The first impression of the hotel was great. The first let down was the $25 a day valet parking. There is off-site parking but you run the risk of being ticketed and towed so, we valet parked. The guys parking the car we great. They were very professional and got the bellman down asap to help us with our bags. The bellman went above and beyond to make sure our stay was well. After we checked in we made our way to the slowest elevators ever. The elevators on average took about 3-5 minutes to arrive to your floor which in my books is just too long. Once we got to room one, we all noticed how warm and un-comfortable it was. The thermostat was set to 60F and the vent was blowing out warm air so, we made our way back down to the front desk. We went now to room two which was also warm and muggy. Finally, we made our way to room three which was small but the view compensated for the size of the room. I immediately began investigating to look for any imperfections and I found quite a few. There were multiple stains on the sheets and tables but nothing that would put a huge damper on our stay however the room was missing a few things. The room lacked soap dishes both around the sink and in the shower, an ice bucket, and enough space. The location was amazing. The walk from the room to the beach was very quick and easy. Once outside you are allowed two chairs, one umbrella and four towels per room with no pay option to get another chair. There is ocean-side beverage and food service but it was very hard trying to get the server's attention. There is no outside food or drink which in the long run will just kill your wallet. This was the biggest issue with the hotel and it's staff; they steal your money and there sneaky. Every time we ordered we were shorted on change and one time were shorted over three dollars. You always have to ask to see a receipt and even then they don't keep change outside. The beach closes at 6 or earlier which in my opinion is a little to earlier and the pool had no real official closing time but when we walked down at 9 the lights were off and the pool seemed closed though no one kept you from swimming. There is a Walgreens and Publix in walking distance to the hotel making it easy for you to get things like snacks, toilet trees, and drinks. Sleep quality was great. The room was cool and the beds were comfy allowing us to get our full 8 hours and more! Night 1 we decided to try the hotel restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant. The food was a amazing and the view was fantastic. Be aware though the food is a little on the expensive side. Just about 8 minutes away is a jet ski rental which kept a few of us entertained for an hour. Sole was clean, had great views, in prime location, and service was alright but Sole lacked the small things and things like waiters and waitresses short changing you and the hotel being a little unorganized brought down its enjoy ability. I do however recommend the Sole.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in general just seem more quite and relaxing so ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxProsp757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience. Chef Ralph Pagano certainly appreciates you being one of the many ravings about the restaurant. It is currently ranked #1 in the area on Trip Advisor, Open Table and Miami New Times to name a few. We greatly appreciate your comments on the little things. Sole on the Ocean is a boutique hotel and we continually strive to improve each guest experience. One small note, parking is tight all along the beach and as a result,valet parking is the standard among hotels in the city. We look forward to your next visit and the difference you help us make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Miami. Room 1806: We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious living and sleeping areas as well as the bathroom. We were very lucky to have a wrap-around balcony with access both off the bedroom and living area and although we had basically a city view, we could see the beach as well. It must be stated that this was our first trip to the Miami/South Beach area and we were unaware of the distance from South Beach itself. We had rented a car and it was typically about a 15-20 minute drive into South Beach, however if you were traveling in on a Friday night, forget it. We never even got there and after having moved less than 200 ft in 40 minutes, we decided to go back to the hotel. If you're looking to stay in the middle of the action this is not the hotel for you, however if you like to visit the action but still get a decent night's sleep, you're good to go. The bed was very comfortable and I slept extremely well (for someone who never sleeps well when away from home). Food in the hotel was fairly pricey (calzone, chicken fingers/fries and two drinks = $70). The plus was we were right on the beach, which was clean and we always found an umbrella and loungers. For those that are typically used to the all-inclusive experience, this was a change. There are charges for everything including a daily resort fee of $15 and parking $25/day. Emily was fantastic on check out! Thank you! All in all, we would return to this hotel. Thanks for a great first experience in Miami!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyDon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Consider us your home away from home. We are very happy you enjoyed your Sole experience. During your next visit please stop by the concierge office as they would be happy to assist you with directions or anything you many need to navigate the city. We thank you for allowing Sole to be a part of your vacation memories and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

we stayed in the hotel a couple of days and it was amazing! the hotel is very close to the beach, it's very new and clean. We had a room with the ocean view on one of the top floors and we really enjoyed our stay.
Breakfast and service were also very good

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntheRun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit at our resort. We are glad you were able to enjoy the beach and experience ALBA Seaside Italian during your stay. We thank you again for staying with us. Please visit our website for great specials and upcoming promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Sunny Isles Beach
Residence Inn Miami Sunny Isles ...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#9 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $212 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, outdoor pool and sundeck, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, complimentary paddle boards, Food Service at the beach, pool and room service from the kitchen of our Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing