We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT worth your time or money no matter the deal they offer”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT worth your time or money no matter the deal they offer”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is more like a motel. The rooms are very small, no frigde, no iron, no ice anywhere in the hotel. My room was so small the King size bed took half the room. If you turn too fast you'll hit a wall!
The key to the room would not work. I took 3 trips to the front desk before they sent someone from "engineering" who could not get the door open either. The next door occupant heard all the talk and opened their door and spoke with us. They also heard all the noise from occupants upstairs who kept them up all night too. Yeah, you can hear everything they are doing upstairs and the noise may keep you up all night.
If you still decide to come after Reading this, be sure to read the contract they have you sign upon checking, it has all types of hidden fees to be paid upon checkout. You even pay $15 for Wi-fi. Who does that anymore?
There are lot of options for nice hotel on Miami beach. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: Maybe if you complain enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing to share your experience. We apologize that your previous stay was not what you expected, and to that would like to expand on a few points. We pride ourselves in the tranquility of our guest experience. Once Sole is made aware of any disturbance during any of our guests stay; our procedures ensure that the situation is rectified quickly and appropriately, for our guests to continue to enjoying their vacation.
Regarding the $15 fee you mention, this was not for wi-fi, but is our resort fee. Sole is a four star beach front boutique hotel that offers an array of amenities. Many of our amenities are bundled in our resort fee which is stated on our website as well as on our affiliate’s websites. The hotel resort fee includes: Keurig coffee maker, beach chairs umbrella, fitness center, a dry heat sauna, steam room, and internet for all your devices, to name a few and is a standard feature of resort hotels in Miami.
In each room you will find the following standard items: an iron & board, two robes, hair dryer, safe and pillow top mattresses with luxury linens. Regarding room selection, we offer a variety of room categories ranging in size, view and budget. All room categories are detailed together with square footage and pictures on our website and all online booking websites to assist our guest in their room selection. Should you need additional assistance, our on-site reservation agents are always happy to help you find the room that best suits your needs. Thank you again for your feedback. If there is anything else you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact me directly at 786.923.9310.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    431
    196
    117
    116
See reviews for
512
585
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Since returning home from this fantastic stay I felt it was necessary to write a review! I'm a frequent traveler, although my family and I have always stayed in South Beach Miami either at the Perry Hotel or the Fountain Blu, due to my family wanting a less intense stay, we decided with Sunny Isles. Sole on the Ocean is well priced and in perfect distance of shopping and dining. Although the Hotels restaurant is amazing, it was a bit pricey to accommodate the entirety of my family's stay. The hotel has a very modern look and internally our suite was very spacious! Not to mention the view of the sea from not just the living/dining room but from the king size bed is absolutely breath taking! The service all around, was great! We have no complaints and Sole on the Ocean my family and myself will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slm7828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your glowing compliments on our property and service! We are overjoyed to know that you and your family had a great time. One of the great aspects about travelling with family is that everyone has different expectations. That being said, we strive to accommodate everyone on an individual and collective level. It is this type of feedback that helps shape the future of Sole and motivates us to deliver exceptional service. We take immense pride in our serene and elegant beach setting, while providing a level of guest service unparalleled in Sunny Isles Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sole experience soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stay at Sole on the Ocean for a 4 day weekend getaway and it was everything that I needed and wanted. The staff was friendly and accomodating and the service was great. MY ROOM WAS GREAT it was comfy and the bed was so comfortable I almost didn't make it to the beach. That brings me to my view which was awesome I was on the 15th floor and it seemed like I had a view of the whole beach and ocean. It was peaceful and serene. I am already planning to come back later this year. THANK YOU Sole of the Ocean staff for making my weekend getaway a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in painting a vivid description of your stay. We are very delighted to hear you were able to escape and enjoying Sole’s amenities and the breathtaking views. We pride ourselves in providing personable service, the team is more than thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Thank you again for choosing to stay with Sole on the Ocean. Please remember to learn about Sole’s specials and promotions by visiting our website or by calling Sole directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was situated perfectly on the beach. The front desk staff was very professional and when there was an issue with our reservation the manager called the booking agency himself. The rooms were spacious and had nice views of the beach. The bellman were very helpful

Room Tip: corner units have larger balconies middle units have bigger kitchens with a bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great service at Sole on the Ocean, everything was great for the price, the suites are small 1 bedroom apartments, that offer large bathrooms, full size kitchen and wraparound terraces. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Visited for a wedding did not know the area but was close to all amenities you would need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy00Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our recent stay was wonderful. The hotel is right on the beach and easy walking to the local businesses. The only draw back is there is only 1 restaurant, so if you want a variety of food there are several good restaurants close by. Staff very friendly and helpful. The young men that work on the beach providing lounge chairs and towels were very nice. Always smiling and very friendly. I would stay @ this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We book two nights for a wedding and the the sinks and tubs clogged . Ac was broken in the other room we also booked . When it was time to check out , they said I would get free parking for the first night and that never happened . Whatever , get to my car and I had a dent and a scratch . They sent the front desk manager to assist and he said I scratch my own car and didn't even apologize
. I will never stay here again . No one was helpful .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Property: Sole on the Ocean
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing