We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

From the room to the staff to the beach the whole experience is just what we needed the room spacious and very clean I asked for extra coffee and it was there before I was done with my first cup I decided to try new hotel in Sunny Isles insulated minute vacation spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgirl1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had expected to stay at a family owned condo in the area, but due to some unforseen circumstances, found ourselves looking for a hotel at 11:30pm on the night we arrived in Miami Beach. After speaking with the front desk and determining that they had a room with a refrigerator available, we headed over to Sole. We had no idea what to expect about the property other than having seen the outside of the building on our previous trips to Sunny Isles.

We booked a king city view suite. The hotel was originally intended to be condos, but when the real estate market burst, at least some of the units were converted to be a hotel Overall the property was very nice, and aside from tropical storm Isaac keeping us from enjoying the beach and the pool for more than a few hours, we enjoyed our stay. Our room had a nice kitchen, a comfortable livingroom and a very comfortable platform king bed. The hotel also has a decent gym and a steam room and sauna in the locker rooms. As we were pretty much stuck inside for most of our time there, we frequented the bar\lounge a few times. During the day of the storm, they provided board games in the lounge to help give the guests something to do. We thought that was a pretty nice gesture. On one of the 4 nights we were there, there was live music. One bartender in particular, Mickey, was very personable and certainly helped make our rained out weekend a little bit better. We will certainly be back for a drink when we are in the area and hope he is still there. Although food is served there as well as for room service, it's not really a restaurant. More of a lounge that has a limited food menu. Again, since we weren't motivated to brave the winds and rain, we ate there a few times, and most of what we had was pretty good, particularly the ahi nachos. I understand that there is a plan to create a real restaurant in the space there sometime this fall. The space is great so we are looking forward to seeing how the restaurant plan works out as there are not many oceanfront restaurant options in this area.

Our biggest complaint wtih this hotel is it seems caught between being a hotel and being a condo. For example, it has a full kitchen and includes some plates, glasses and silverware, but no pots and pans. When I called and asked about getting pots and pans, I was told it would be a $50 charge. Most hotel rooms that have a kitchen also offer basic cooking supplies. Also, the balconies are nice, with great views of the ocean, the city, and the bay, but there were no chairs on the balcony so you couldn't sit out there. Again, most hotels with balconies like that would provide at least minimal seating out there. Most of the hotel staff we dealt with were pleasant, but some of the service was spotty. There are no ice makers available for the guests to get ice from, nor are there ice cube trays in the freezer. You need to call the front desk to get ice. We had to do that twice before we finally got the ice. In addition, our unit only had one bar stool at the kitchen counter, but there were two of us in the room who wanted to sit to eat. I have no idea if that was standard or our room was just missing a second chair. We called twice to get this chair, and even with the person at the front desk calling to ask if we had recieved it, which we hadn't, we never did get the second stool.

Overall, the property itself was very nice and very comfortable. The staff was friendly, and as much as we were not happy that we did not get to enjoy the benefits of a nice beachfront hotel, and had to add an extra night due to not being able to fly out as planned, Sole was not a bad place to be stuck.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.  Kindly allow me to expand on some of the points you touched on.  Sole on the Ocean was designed and built as a condo hotel.  This means that units may be owned by individuals, however, all units must conform to the hotel standard with all furniture, décor, linens and amenities.  Owners may use their units from time to time.  The hotel will rent the units when not occupied by owners.  A nice feature of this designation is that families such as yours are able to rent a condo unit with full hotel services and amenities.  
As you mentioned, we will be expanding our restaurant services this fall.  We are very excited about the addition of a celebrity chef, who will bring seaside food offerings and will feature local catch and produce.  
Regarding your requests to the front desk, we have already shared your review with them.  We apologize for the inconvenience this caused and will be sure to revisit training on guest requests.
We hope that you will visit us again in the future to enjoy our beautiful beaches and to enjoy the new restaurant.  Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Locks in room did not work, staff treated you like a second class citizen and do not go during hurricane season. This hotel is not sympathetic to safety during time of a possible disaster so you WILL NOT get your money back per management. You are charged for every breath you take. This is s condominium with individual owners and unowned rooms are rented to the public which is why you have to be prepared to pay for EVERYTHING and renters are not treated like second class citizens. Below everyone else! The staff got into an altercation with my spouse. This was not a stay to remember. We did not get our money back for checking out early due to a hurricane. Even united airlines gave full refunds. I do NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank none1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
We are very sorry that your trip was not as you had expected.  Tropical Storm Issac affected many travelers over the weekend.  As a result of the storm, we waived our normal cancellation policy and guests were free to cancel or alter their reservations.  It appears that you had made your reservations and payments through an online booking website.  Unfortunately, we do not receive funds prior to guest arrival and as long as another company continues to hold the funds, their refund policies are out of our control.  
Sole on the Ocean is first and foremost a boutique hotel.  We wish to treat all guests with the utmost respect.  We are sorry to hear that the booking website staff does not do so.  
For future bookings, please be sure to book directly with the hotel to ensure maximum flexibility with travel plans.  Our website also provides specials, packages and our best rate guarantee.  Reservation agents are also available to assist with questions and room selection.  We do hope you will visit us again to enjoy the true Sole experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent hotel...Clean and the location is perfect for family. I will recommend getting a suit. The suits have a full kitchen, Diswasher & washer - dryer combo. Close distance to Publix for grocery shopping. Also located next to good restaurants. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I spent 4 nights at this location with my 10 year old daughter and she had a blast.

Room Tip: I did notice the parking was not the best. But, i did not have a rental car because everthing was wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.  We are glad that you were able to enjoy our beach and our central location.  We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a week at the hotel during the first week of August. This was my second stay at the hotel, and left this time with a mixed impression. Overall, I would recommend staying here (particularly in a suite that has the kitchen) if you are a low-maintenance person or family. I used the room and hotel as one would a condo--bringing in groceries and cooking, etc. My main gripes were the lack of kitchen equipment (basic stuff like pots and pans, spatula, etc). My first night was in a room that smelled like stale smoke and the carpet was still wet from an apparent cleaning. After asking to switch rooms, my subsequent room was much better. The location of Sole is great, the beach and view of the ocean is fantastic, and the staff seemed generally attentive. On at least two of the nights, my room was not cleaned at all or not until 6:30 PM. So, as much as I like the views and location, I think one could probably ask for a bit more from a resort hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, with a suite. I personally prefer the south side, which doesn't make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwoodLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.  We are always happy to welcome returning guests. We have already discussed your review with our housekeeping team and apologize for the inconvenience.  We look forward to welcoming you back and for you to see the difference your review has made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tthis is not a 4-star hotel. It seems like they try to appear as a 4-star resort/spa, but they save every dime on everything possible.... We were staying in a "basic" room which was a size of a closet. It had no rifrigerator and no safe. When we asked about it at the desk they said if we wanted to have it we have to upgrade and pay extra for it. Also when I called the hotel before booking, they said that when we check in we can ask for a room with two beds at the front desk and they will accomodate us. But when we arrivet to the hotel, they said (again) that this is an upgrade and will cost us extra. The sink was leaking, but after two visits of the plumber it was fixed. It seemed like the furniture and the bed were from some cheap "do-it-yourself" store. The bed was shaking with your every move, and since I had to share it with my friend it was not a good experience. The beach and towel/umbrella service was nice though... But I would never return to this place and will never recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.  We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.  We want all guests to be happy and try to provide as much upfront disclosure about our property as possible on our website as well as online booking websites such as Expedia.  All these sites include pictures of each room category together with a description of each room, its amenities and square footage of each room.  
We will be adding safes to all rooms this fall and while our suites provide full size refrigerators, our standard rooms, including the rooms with two beds, do not.  To upgrade from a standard room to a suite does result in an increase in cost.  However, we do intend to add refrigerators to non-suite units in the form of minibars in the near future.  
Regarding the furniture was custom designed for the hotel and is constructed of natural hard woods and fabrics in a modern Italian style.  Pictures of these can also be found online.  
We thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I love the beach. When we travel we prefer an ocean front room with a balcony. Sole on the Ocean is a modern hotel with very very comfortable suites and amazing views of the Atlantic from 2 private balconies.. I really enjoy walking on the beach early in the morning; at Sole it was a real joy taking the elevator down to the beach. Sole on the Ocean has all the fun and sexy you expect from Miami without the "EXXXTREME" atmosphere you will surely find 15 min down collins avenue in South Beach. Give Sole on the Ocean a visit.

Room Tip: Want a tip, ask for the manager Alissa, she really knows how to take care of customers seeking a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit from the beachfront location to the easy access to South Beach.  We will be sure to share your review with Aliza and to let her know what a difference she made in your stay. For future stays, please be sure to visit our website for upcoming specials and packages. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#9 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,146 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $170 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, outdoor pool and sundeck, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, complimentary paddle boards, Food Service at the beach, pool and room service from the kitchen of our Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing