We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book this hotel unless you want to throw your money AWAY!!!!!”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not book this hotel unless you want to throw your money AWAY!!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Locks in room did not work, staff treated you like a second class citizen and do not go during hurricane season. This hotel is not sympathetic to safety during time of a possible disaster so you WILL NOT get your money back per management. You are charged for every breath you take. This is s condominium with individual owners and unowned rooms are rented to the public which is why you have to be prepared to pay for EVERYTHING and renters are not treated like second class citizens. Below everyone else! The staff got into an altercation with my spouse. This was not a stay to remember. We did not get our money back for checking out early due to a hurricane. Even united airlines gave full refunds. I do NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
We are very sorry that your trip was not as you had expected.  Tropical Storm Issac affected many travelers over the weekend.  As a result of the storm, we waived our normal cancellation policy and guests were free to cancel or alter their reservations.  It appears that you had made your reservations and payments through an online booking website.  Unfortunately, we do not receive funds prior to guest arrival and as long as another company continues to hold the funds, their refund policies are out of our control.  
Sole on the Ocean is first and foremost a boutique hotel.  We wish to treat all guests with the utmost respect.  We are sorry to hear that the booking website staff does not do so.  
For future bookings, please be sure to book directly with the hotel to ensure maximum flexibility with travel plans.  Our website also provides specials, packages and our best rate guarantee.  Reservation agents are also available to assist with questions and room selection.  We do hope you will visit us again to enjoy the true Sole experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    436
    202
    118
    116
See reviews for
525
596
90
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent hotel...Clean and the location is perfect for family. I will recommend getting a suit. The suits have a full kitchen, Diswasher & washer - dryer combo. Close distance to Publix for grocery shopping. Also located next to good restaurants. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I spent 4 nights at this location with my 10 year old daughter and she had a blast.

Room Tip: I did notice the parking was not the best. But, i did not have a rental car because everthing was wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.  We are glad that you were able to enjoy our beach and our central location.  We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a week at the hotel during the first week of August. This was my second stay at the hotel, and left this time with a mixed impression. Overall, I would recommend staying here (particularly in a suite that has the kitchen) if you are a low-maintenance person or family. I used the room and hotel as one would a condo--bringing in groceries and cooking, etc. My main gripes were the lack of kitchen equipment (basic stuff like pots and pans, spatula, etc). My first night was in a room that smelled like stale smoke and the carpet was still wet from an apparent cleaning. After asking to switch rooms, my subsequent room was much better. The location of Sole is great, the beach and view of the ocean is fantastic, and the staff seemed generally attentive. On at least two of the nights, my room was not cleaned at all or not until 6:30 PM. So, as much as I like the views and location, I think one could probably ask for a bit more from a resort hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, with a suite. I personally prefer the south side, which doesn't make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwoodLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.  We are always happy to welcome returning guests. We have already discussed your review with our housekeeping team and apologize for the inconvenience.  We look forward to welcoming you back and for you to see the difference your review has made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tthis is not a 4-star hotel. It seems like they try to appear as a 4-star resort/spa, but they save every dime on everything possible.... We were staying in a "basic" room which was a size of a closet. It had no rifrigerator and no safe. When we asked about it at the desk they said if we wanted to have it we have to upgrade and pay extra for it. Also when I called the hotel before booking, they said that when we check in we can ask for a room with two beds at the front desk and they will accomodate us. But when we arrivet to the hotel, they said (again) that this is an upgrade and will cost us extra. The sink was leaking, but after two visits of the plumber it was fixed. It seemed like the furniture and the bed were from some cheap "do-it-yourself" store. The bed was shaking with your every move, and since I had to share it with my friend it was not a good experience. The beach and towel/umbrella service was nice though... But I would never return to this place and will never recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.  We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.  We want all guests to be happy and try to provide as much upfront disclosure about our property as possible on our website as well as online booking websites such as Expedia.  All these sites include pictures of each room category together with a description of each room, its amenities and square footage of each room.  
We will be adding safes to all rooms this fall and while our suites provide full size refrigerators, our standard rooms, including the rooms with two beds, do not.  To upgrade from a standard room to a suite does result in an increase in cost.  However, we do intend to add refrigerators to non-suite units in the form of minibars in the near future.  
Regarding the furniture was custom designed for the hotel and is constructed of natural hard woods and fabrics in a modern Italian style.  Pictures of these can also be found online.  
We thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I love the beach. When we travel we prefer an ocean front room with a balcony. Sole on the Ocean is a modern hotel with very very comfortable suites and amazing views of the Atlantic from 2 private balconies.. I really enjoy walking on the beach early in the morning; at Sole it was a real joy taking the elevator down to the beach. Sole on the Ocean has all the fun and sexy you expect from Miami without the "EXXXTREME" atmosphere you will surely find 15 min down collins avenue in South Beach. Give Sole on the Ocean a visit.

Room Tip: Want a tip, ask for the manager Alissa, she really knows how to take care of customers seeking a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit from the beachfront location to the easy access to South Beach.  We will be sure to share your review with Aliza and to let her know what a difference she made in your stay. For future stays, please be sure to visit our website for upcoming specials and packages. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyngsboro
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a great experience from the moment we checked in until we checked out. Every member of the staff goes out of their way to provide amazing customer service. They are friendly and welcoming.The room was immaculate.The property is impeccable. The pools are well maintained.It had been several years since my last visit and they made some changes, which were all great. After having an unpleasent experience the night before at a different hotel, we decided to stay at Sole all I can say is Wow!! This resort has been such a great experience for my wife and I. We were looking for a great getaway and this resort provided us with it. We will come back!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
We are always pleased to welcome guests back to Sole. Sole is a boutique hotel and the primary focus is creating a personal and memorable guest experience.  We are continually working on ways to improve the guest stay. Many changes implemented are the direct result of valuable guest feedback.  In the next few months we will be adding safes and minibar service to guest rooms and are excited to announce the opening of a new restaurant this fall.  We hope you will enjoy these new additions on your next stay.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was very impressed with hotel. Customer care here was amazing also. I had a small problem with shout and before I put the phone down someone was at the door to fix it and offer another room. I was too happy with the room to leave and they fixed the problem in less than 5 min. If you have car like I did stay here. The will enjoy an incredible hotel on the beach that is quiet yet close enough to run down to south beach. I will come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleowner, Owner at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the personalized customer service we strive to provide to all our guests.  As a boutique hotel, our main goal is to provide a personalized and memorable experience to each guest.  We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,872 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Property: Sole on the Ocean
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing