We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and it was a really good experience!

When we checked in it was overbooked, so we was upgraded to ocean view suite. The room was so nice and big, with a breathtaking view. The staff was helpful, always smiling! If we go to Florida again, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

I went there for 5 nights. the experience was very good, great location ( you can walk to every restaurant ) nice view from the 19th floor. The only thing i did not like was the pillow, way to big . The beach is very beautiful, did not use the pool. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leptit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lemme just say..... What a stay!!... Wonderful place.
Before booking I read a couple of reviews, some good some bad.... For some reason, I had some of the not so good reviews in my head while checking in. The check in process was fairly quick. Our room was on the 18th floor, what a view!!!! Room was clean all seemed to be in place. We left our bags and headed for the beach. As son as we got to the pool we were approached by Sebastian he welcomed us to the pool and beach area of sole. Bar staff was really friendly, we had tickets for free sole drink which were delicious. Beach was awesome, sun was shining, what else can you ask for? Maybe more free drinks.
Sebastian and Jose at the beach gave us directions and answered all the questions we had about south beach and shopping and served us more than a couple mango coladas.... Couldn't get enough of them.
Awesome place, awesome staff.

Room Tip: Suites are best... Ask for ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atl30066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We paid the owner a significant deposit for the room in advance. When we arrived with two infants at the hotel, the staff had a hard time locating our reservation. But when we finally got to the room, we were shocked with the anti-sanitizing condition. It was a clear misrepresentation of what was advertized on the web-page.The strong smell of tobacco throughout the unit, dirty stains on the carpet floor, unchanged dirty bed sets, dirty cookware in the sink. But the most shocking was when all of a sudden the toilet had exploded and the foamy substance started erupting out of the toilet spreading on the floor. We rushed out to the front desk for help. For a couple of hours they were deciding whether to put us to another room for extra charge or leave us there. Finally they understood that it was not safe for us to stay there and moved us to another room. But next morning the management decided to charge us there top rate for our entire stay,despite the previously prepaid and agreed rate. In a very rude manor they ordered us to pay immediately by cash or money order, despite the charge that they had already applied to our credit card on file. We could not understand what was going on and called the police. After a dispute with the management we understood that the hotel tried to double charge us and decided to move out immediately to another hotel. Be aware!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosco083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lupechick1965, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

We had a very unfortunate experience with this guest, who demanded a free two week stay. All his efforts from the start were aimed at this goal. We called the police, who upon hearing his demands and seeing the good condition of the suite he was provided, assisted us in removing him from the property. He was not charged by the hotel as he was promptly removed.

Best regards,
Martin Mehnert
Hotel Director
Solé on the Ocean, Sunny Isles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

since we got there the service was great. All the employees were very nice and always asking if you need something or help. I'll definitely be back it was a great experience :)

Room Tip: get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments on behalf of the staff at Sole on the Ocean. We at Sole strive to provide our guests with a welcoming experience and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Martin Mehnert
Hotel Director, Sole on the Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stumbled upon Sole because a friend of mine was staying there and I just so happened to be visiting for the day. My girlfriends and I were going to stay on SOBE that night, however we instantly fell in love with the hotel, its location, its staff, and even the type of people that stayed there. The beach was very clean and they had people serving us food and drinks on the beach which was very nice. There were people constantly picking up trash so it was very clean. We were able to use towels at not additional cost as well as the beach chairs. There were water activities to do such as paddle surfing and we were right by the jet skis as well. Both of which I was able to take advantage of and enjoy. The staff at Sole was very professional and attentive to all of our needs.
Although I do not have kids, there was a kids club that was definitely somewhere I wanted to hang out myself. When we ordered room service the portions were large, tasted great and the service was very fast.
i would highly recommend anyone visiting Miami to experience Sole on the Ocean. We were still able to hang out at SOBE as it was a simple cab ride. Sole allowed us to have privacy and peace, but when we wanted to experience a busier nightlife we were just a cab ride away from SOBE!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinahNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 28, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is great to hear you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach club and that your experience was enjoyable. Reviews such as yours help us identify what is important to you.

We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriends back to Sole.

Best regards,
Martin Mehnert
Hotel Director, Sole on the Ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Great hotel, awesome location. The rooms are bright, clean and have tons of storage space. The staff was superb, very professional and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexei123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 28, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We certainly appreciate the positive feedback as it encourages us to provide the best service we can.

Best regards,
Martin Mehnert
Hotel Director, Sole on the Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Sunny Isles Beach
Residence Inn Miami Sunny Isles ...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#9 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $213 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, outdoor pool and sundeck, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, complimentary paddle boards, Food Service at the beach, pool and room service from the kitchen of our Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing