We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$209
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Trump International Beach Resort(Sunny Isles Beach)(Great Value!)
$220
$179
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Marenas Beach Resort(Sunny Isles Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$192
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$149
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Sunny Isles Beach(Sunny Isles Beach)(Great Value!)
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Great Miami Vacations(Sunny Isles Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,078)
Filter reviews
2,078 results
Traveler rating
1,023
511
243
142
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,023
511
243
142
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoleamerican bistrofront desksunny islesbeach servicespecial thankssouth beachliving roomvalet staffpool barfull kitchenvalet parkingcity viewbeautiful beachmiami areaaventura mallgio
Filter
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 2,078 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Our hotel overbooked and sent us to Sole. It was not our choice to stay there, and it certainly was not our taste. It was not Sole's fault that our original hotel overbooked, They tried very hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The pros: it is right on the beach, the service (Jose our bar/drink guy), the front desk, the bartender in the 4th floor lounge, everyone tried very hard to be nice to us, and it really did help. The beds were very comfortable, and we had a nice view of the ocean out our window. The rain shower was wonderful. Also appreciated the spa facilities, the showers were large and architecturally pleasing. The cons: the decor, VERY sparse and modern, bordering on bizarre in some areas. In the bathrooms, there were no towel bars, no soap dishes in the showers, or anywhere to put anything. Drinks were expensive, but that is Miami Beach. Lighting was low everywhere, construction was cheap for a "high-end" hotel. The walls are paper thin, we could hear every conversation in the hallways and in adjoining rooms. It kept me up all night. Free computer access, but no printer, so we were unable to print our boarding passes until we arrived at the airport.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms A & B are different.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to discuss your recent stay at Solé on the Ocean. We are happy that our staff was able to provide you with the best stay possible given the circumstances. We are continually looking for new ways to add additional amenities to our rooms and will take your comments as ways we can improve them moving forward. Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Solé Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I recently had the wonderful fortune to have been booked into the SOLÉ on the Ocean on Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, near Miami, Florida. I came to Miami to present a seminar on Environmental Scenting and Custom Perfumery for The Luxury Marketing Council and stayed at The SOLÉ. What a joy!
I arrived on Wednesday afternoon, after a seminar the previous day in Tampa, and the day before that narrowly missing a snow storm in New York. Suffice it to say I was stressed out and on a major deadline to get to the hotel, unpack, change and then to get ready for the next presentation in Miami on Florida Avenue .
The check-in process was smooth and effortless and the staff were most accommodating. The entrance of the hotel was bright, airy and beautifully decorated.
The running water with lovely floral arrangements under the big bold staircase reflected lovely details.
Upon entering my suite, 1101A, the panoramic views of the ocean were breathtaking and the suite was magnificent. The wonderful touch was the orange and white beach ball on the bed which suggested that a fun time could be had on the beach (if only I had the time!). Upon my checkout the next day, I was greeted by Steve Sfarzo, Executive Director of the Hotel, who introduced me to Martin WW Mehnert, Director of Sales. Both were so friendly and concerned that I had had everything I needed, which indeed I had!

I would love to come back to the SOLÉ and spend some time there! Unfortunately I didn't have time to check out whether it had a gym, spa, business center or not...but I wouldn't be surprised if they did. I mentioned to both Steve and Martin that based on the reason for coming to Florida, ( to present our fragrance technologies) I thought that a signature fragrance for the SOLÉ would be wonderful and would create a very positive guest experience and a multi-sensory branding opportunity for this fabulous property!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUEGPHILLIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments. Your suggestion for the multi-sensory opportunities is brilliant and we will look into it. We enjoyed welcoming you at Solé on the Ocean and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Solé Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I had a great stay, all the staff was exceptional as in classy and friendly making me feel really welcome. I liked the contemporary style and superb location right on the beach and only a five minute drive from Bal Harbor shops. An outstanding value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JrothStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Solé on the Ocean. Our staff works hard to make each guest stay special and will be pleased to hear your feedback. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience and welcome you to visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Solé Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Despite all of what you will read below, we had a great vacation mostly due to the fact that the weather was perfect and the pool/beach service was the most reliable. Had we had to spend more time inside, it had the potential of being much less than enjoyable.

Upon entry the facility appears to be very appropriate according to all ads. The staff are welcoming and pleasant. The pool and beach facilities are lovely and staff outside is very accommodating.
Unfortunately, the lobby is the only part of the building that measures up to its marketing descriptions. The hallways are very narrow, dark and seldom vacuumed.
The rooms are very tiny, not at all like the descriptions in the marketing which were very misleading… one sink in the master bathroom, no commodes with drawers for clothing… we had to buy hangers in order to find a place to put our clothes. Every item of clothing and lingerie were hung up. There were no towel bars in the washrooms. The pictures show a dining table in the kitchen but it is actually in the living room with broadloom under the table. Therefore if you spill anything, it is nearly impossible to clean it properly after. “dining” chairs are like plastic, etc.
The furniture and bathroom fixtures are so flimsy, they could have been purchased at the local variety store. Wallmart has better quality… lamps, paper thin and fragile,
There are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms. They are available at the front desk in the lobby but the management isn’t aware of procedure. Sometimes, they lose the paper that is supposed to be signed before getting the box yet they assume the key belongs to you anyway. If you don’t remember the number of your box, they allow you to take the key and try all the boxes. They sometimes open the box while handing it to you, hence seeing whatever you have inside. There is no privacy.
The staff was very friendly and polite but they have not been trained in hotel management. They can enter the rooms at any time without knocking or calling first. When something needs repair in the room, it takes hours before anyone will come up. The main engineer, WAYNE is the most reliable and valuable employee in the building. He understands all the technological and physical issues that can arise. He is the only person we encountered who understands protocol, respect for privacy and ensures that repair issues are dealt with effectively.
There were no chairs on the balcony.
There was not even a bar of soap anywhere in the unit. There was no kettle, paper towel, dishwashing detergent,. We bought our own towels as not nearly enough.

A gym is advertised but it is hidden away isolated and is the size of a box - with minimal number of machines, no weights. They advertise a spa but there is only a sauna which is very difficult to locate.
The valets are very friendly and courteous. However, the narrowness of the driveway make the experience very annoying. There is only room for single line of cars. Sometimes trucks or cars are blocking the drive making it necessary to stay in the car on the hill for up to 15 minutes before the driveway is cleared. If someone is taking luggage and supplies in or out of their car, we were forced to wait… and if they needed valet service to help them up the elevator, there were not always other valets available.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francessca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 11, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write such a constructive review, which allows us to pinpoint where services and staff training need to be improved. We can assure you that we have taken your comments to heart and that we have addressed your review with our staff. 



From your room description, it is clear that you had rented a non-hotel unit, a practice which is no longer allowed due to the types of issues you have experienced. We, at Sole on the Ocean, work hard and take pride in providing the best service to our guests. Reservations for the hotel can be made by email at reservations@soleoto.com or at our main number 786-923-9300.

Our gym was designed with the input of professional athletes and their trainers. Equipment includes new, state-of-the-art Life Fitness cardio machines including treadmills, elliptical machines and recumbent bicycle as well as the Life Fitness weight machines including leg extension/leg curl machine, lat pull down/row machine, bench press/shoulder press machine and cross pulls only found in high end gym facilities. The gym also offers free weights ranging from 5 lbs to 90 lbs complete with weight bench. We are pleased to say that our gym facilities are regularly used by a wide range of professional athletes including those in Major League Baseball and the National Football League,

The spa includes steam room, sauna, locker room, showers and treatment rooms.

We are glad that your overall experience was a good one and hope that you will stay with us again so that we can make it an even better experience.

Best Regards,
Solé Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We decided to take a last minute trip to Florida and searched for a hotel on the beach near Miami, I contacted several hotels and could not get a better deal and service when I talked to the person for my reservations. I arrived late at night and when I arrived the employees check us in promptly, delivered rooom service and delivered our luggage to our rooms. The price for the room service was very fair and the food excellent.. The views from our room were spagtacular to wake up to ! We will definetly go to the Sole' next time we are in Florida.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laverty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Solé on the Ocean. We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Solé Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews