We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUNSHINE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    283
    377
    160
    208
See reviews for
423
308
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My mother and I spent a week Feb 18-25, 2014. I was a bit nervous about some bad reviews, but we thought it was wonderful. Granted; the rooms are a bit dated, but they were clean, and all had balconies. The Jacuzzi was too hot for me, but my mother thought it was just right. She wasn't happy unless she'd spent twice a day in it. The pool was fine. We didn't go to Florida in February for a frenetic sight seeing tour; we went to get away from several feet of snow and months of subfreezing, oftentimes subzero weather, and just relax. We rented a car, and only used it to go to and from the airport. The car was a waste of money.
There is no hotel shuttle, but easy transportation nonetheless.
I rate room service as poor, because there isn't any. I also did not go to Florida to sit alone with my mother in our room.
What I liked best about this hotel was number one the staff. Except for one exception, they were all incredibly friendly and efficient, if a bit slow. From the concierge to the bartenders to the waiters and waitresses to the pool staff to housekeeping, they were a pleasure. I also loved that every day, there were several group activities..bingo every day, silly games every afternoon (horseshoes, darts, swim races, egg toss, balloon relay), some event every evening (concerts, movies, trivial pursuit, karaoke). Also, the fact that it just felt like a family. People have booked the same place year after year, and when they get together, it's like a family reunion. I will say that this hotel is I think owned by French Canadians, which I thought was very cool. French and English (mostly New England English) predominate, but most of the staff are also fluent in, from what I could hear by eavesdropping, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, German, and maybe Hebrew. It's one of the few hotels left which is not a high rise; 4 stories plus a 5th floor penthouse. Their focus is on friendship. I am going back next year.

Room Tip: The Salon is on the second floor. They do mani/pedis, too. I took a peek into a room across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after getting off a cruise & it was horrible. We got to the room about 5 pm and had to ask someone to come vacuum, stuff was all over carpet! Wear something on your feet at all times, carpet has a sticky feeling. Fridge didn't work & had to call maintenance. After trying 3 outlets finally got it to worked. The Safe broke 2nd day there and had to call maintenance again, had to keep valuables in our car because they didn't show up until later in day to fix it and we had to leave. The vent in the shower was caked with dust and dirt. The elevator was out of order 80% of the time and we were on 3rd floor. We had to dust the top of the radio and table it was on to use it, you couldn't even see the top of the radio! The walls are super thin. The people in the room next to us fought late into the night and it was like we were in the same room with them. Every time we started to fall asleep they would start in again. The next couple had a baby who's crying kept us up late and woke us very early. Staff was very unfriendly, we were never greeted when we came in or left except by the valet who was the only friendly person there. Paid $166/night first night and $122/night for remainder + $12/day to park & $11/day for pool & beach which we did not use. Water in hot tub was green and cloudy. This was more like a $45-$60/night hotel depending on location. My recommendation is to RUN! Find another place to stay even if you have to pay a little more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Sad to give this hotel my lowest ever review score, our main issue was the location. There are plenty of facilities nearby and the beach is stunning, but this hotel is 180 streets from where most tourists will want to visit.

That's an hour each way standing on a very busy local bus for $2.25 each or a taxi would be at least $30 and 20-25 minutes.

Also during our stay there was no shuttle service available and I doubt it would have suited our needs.

The hotel itself is out dated, the fixtures and fittings are old and look tired and there are maintenance issues in terms of the lifts, pool area and bathroom. Sadly there was a slight smell in the public spaces, decoration was poor although the room was generally clean.

We had booked the hotel via Virgin Holidays and I think most of their customers would be surprised this was a in their brochure. In fact I believe that the area rep was based at Thunderbird but didn't see anything of them during our short stay.

The included breakfast was very basic, a single bagel with coffee and juice and we had to ask for a voucher each morning.

The staff we saw did the basics but little else during our short stay. Sorry Thunderbird but I think the future is closing in on your from both sides in the form of high rise complexes being built each side of you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I grew up in this hotel. Many Italian families from New York, Boston, Cleveland and Detroit have been going here for over the past 50 years. Most of us bought condos in the Sunny Isles area back when it was good old Miami Beach. This hotel has alot of character and if these walls could talk I would be producing the Oscar Movie of the year. Staying here was the best times of my life. I guess it's an "Italian Thing". Snobs need not apply.

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is basic. There are mosquitos everywhere. Hotel is very dated and in desperate need of decoration. The cleaners do the best, towels are changed everyday and bins emptied. We upgraded to a superior room to have view of the beach, its one of the worst rooms I've ever stayed in, however, the seaview was picturesque. Hotel is cheap you get what you pay for!!! No frills, bed to sleep on, tv with basic channels. Not recommended!!!

Room Tip: KFC & Burger King across the road. Publix supermarket also across the road. S bus runs regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#166 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing