We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way past it's prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending to some family business nearby. I remember the Thunderbird from my trips to Miami 30 years ago. The rooms are in serious need of renovation. Touching anything in the room left a slightly slick, unclean feeling on my hands. There was dirty grout, mildew and stained tiles throughout the bathroom. The positives are that there were plenty of clean towels, a working AC, free Wi-Fi, on site parking (not free) and a reasonable rate for where it is (not for what it is).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank use_2_love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
There are newer reviews for Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

At first glance this hotel is a nightmare for parking. They only have a few spots up fron, the rest are across the street in a poorly paved and dirty lot. But... once inside you are in a palace. Large spiral staircase, large seating hall, and a fabulous brick walk around the pool and it's two bars and a restaraunt. Right on a fantastic beach with tiki style unbrellas. Rooms are large, beds are great and overall a great place to stay. Except for the poor parking. They need to pave the parking lot and have the concierge parking over there too.

Room Tip: Get a beach front rather than a beach view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had to work in the area for a week and was very surprised to find a beachfront hotel for less than $100. I agree with the other reviews that this hotel needs re-modeling. However, it is ON THE BEACH!! Walk out the back, and stroll down the beach. The room I had included a kitchenette; not new, but it is nice to be able to cook your own meals - and there is a Publix (grocery store) within easy walking distance. The value for the location is the reason for the 'Very Good' rating. The room that I had was not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable.

Parking is ridiculous at this hotel. I have never been a proponent of valet parking - its inconvenient and (I think) a rip-off. You can 'self-park' for $10; that amounts to a ticket to put on your dash so you can park across the street in an un-guarded lot that appears to be a public lot. Also, there is not much room to get off the street when you arrive at the hotel.

One good thing about the hotel is that there is tile everywhere. In the rooms, the halls, the lobby...especially comfortable in a beachside hotel. No wet, smelly, sand filled carpet.

I would recommend this hotel - just understand that it isn't "Trump Tower" comfort; but it is VERY affordable for a comfortable room on the beach.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for an ocean view - save the $$ and just walk out on the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on February 6-10. The room was somewhat clean, not enough towels at first. Stayed oceanfront. could hear every word and movement of the individuals next door, air conditioner constantly/loudly turned off and on. Staff was extremely unfriendly and not very helpful.They acted like they did not want to be there and don;t bother them.
The only thing good was the ocean view, it was great. The resturant food was also very good, but with unfriendly staff. will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarajeanSt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We currently checked into the thunderbird and had our first room dirty. We were told that it was a bad staff member who had been terminated and the room was cleaned while we waited. The pool and bar area are awesome and a great location right on the beach. If you care about the hotel room more than just a place to sleep then stay somewhere else because this place needs a total remodeling, seems like we are in the 1960's. If you want location and price then stay here. The Resteraunt is also good on site wih fair prices, they have burgers steaks chicken etc. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the first night of my holiday arriving in Miami at about 9pm. Was given a room that was quite shabby and as there was loud/deafening music coming from the property next door I asked to be moved to a quieter room, the receptionist gave me keys to another room on the ground floor by the pool. This room had a dirty floor as I walked, with dust and litter on the it. I did not really check out the rest of the room after seeing this. I complained again to the receptionist who then offered me their penthouse suite which by comparison was ok. We stayed the night and left early morning. The loud music did stop at 11pm and we did not use or check out any of the resort facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is not the best i arrived at 11 pm on the 9th Jan 2013 the lady at the desk was no help at all. Just gave me the key and no smile or chat.
It,s very dated room was clean and beds comfy .
Having to pay for sun beds in your own hotel not good.
Its well located on the main Collins Ave with bus stop outside the door and many supermarkets close by so handy for shopping.

Room Tip: I paid extra for a ocean view room on the front but not worth it
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lezhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $80 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing