We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location go the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location go the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We currently checked into the thunderbird and had our first room dirty. We were told that it was a bad staff member who had been terminated and the room was cleaned while we waited. The pool and bar area are awesome and a great location right on the beach. If you care about the hotel room more than just a place to sleep then stay somewhere else because this place needs a total remodeling, seems like we are in the 1960's. If you want location and price then stay here. The Resteraunt is also good on site wih fair prices, they have burgers steaks chicken etc. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    253
    344
    148
    179
See reviews for
373
276
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartfod
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the first night of my holiday arriving in Miami at about 9pm. Was given a room that was quite shabby and as there was loud/deafening music coming from the property next door I asked to be moved to a quieter room, the receptionist gave me keys to another room on the ground floor by the pool. This room had a dirty floor as I walked, with dust and litter on the it. I did not really check out the rest of the room after seeing this. I complained again to the receptionist who then offered me their penthouse suite which by comparison was ok. We stayed the night and left early morning. The loud music did stop at 11pm and we did not use or check out any of the resort facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is not the best i arrived at 11 pm on the 9th Jan 2013 the lady at the desk was no help at all. Just gave me the key and no smile or chat.
It,s very dated room was clean and beds comfy .
Having to pay for sun beds in your own hotel not good.
Its well located on the main Collins Ave with bus stop outside the door and many supermarkets close by so handy for shopping.

Room Tip: I paid extra for a ocean view room on the front but not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lezhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location right on the beach. The rooms were clean, but the decor left a lot to be desired. There was a funny smell in the hallway when we first arrived, but I didn't see any bugs or anything gross. This place is worth it though. The location itself is worth it. If you want a fancy place, this isn't for you. If you just want a room to stay in that is cost-effective, this is it.
For a delicious dinner, walk to The H Restaurant (look it up on tripadvisor). We ate outstanding food, had wonderful service, and too much wine. It was the perfect way to enjoy a vacation.

Room Tip: We spent the extra money for the ocean view and ended up with a view of the parking lot and a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (which is now a Days Inn) the night of the BCS championship on Jan. 7th 2013. It is very old and not very clean. The front desk staff at check in were polite and helpful. All the rest of the time they were not very interested in helping us. The hotel was loud (we could hear everyone on our floor and the one above all night long). The bathroom was not very clean (hairs on floor, tub and sink from prior guests). It was right off the beach which was a nice amenity. For the price, I thought it was terrible. No parking except if you pay for it. Good size pool. The beach side bar was questionable and seemed to be the hang out for the local drinking crowd. I definitely would not recommend it for families. It did have a nice patio/balcony that allowed you to sit out on it and had a partial view of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiserclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is now a Days Inn, but that didn't seem to change anything. The guy at the front desk with the pony tail was a total idiot. The unit had a kitchenette. I woke up during the night and found bugs crawling all over the kitchen counter, one a cockroach. Continental "breakfast consisted of juice and coffee, plus toast, a bagel, or cereal. Pool and hot tube were nice and it is located right on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treadman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort is among the last of the vintage 1950’s resort in Sunny Isles. The hotel is sandwiched between two other resorts that have closed. Sunny Isles consists mostly of highrises.
I had booked online two weeks prior to our arrival. The Front Desk did not have our reservation even though I had a confirmation number. We both double checked on our computers and the management finally found my reservation. We were given room 438. When I entered the room, there was a stall shower straight ahead. I had to look around to find the toilet and vanity which was inside a closet. Apparently, this room had been an annex of the the adjacent rooms…obviously the handymen decided to put a shower and bath wherever they could install water pipes. Taking a shower was somewhat of an obstacle…we had to use a chair to hang our clothes.
We did not have an individual thermostat in our room and the AC was on high. We got on a chair to close the vent on the AC register. We didn’t spend much time in our room anyway.
We were charged a $10 daily resort fee for use of pool, beach, towels, USA Today.
The pool was undergoing maintenance and was closed for five days. We wanted the hotel to subtract the daily resort fee. We were compensated with a $20 discount.
This hotel is popular among Europeans and Montrealers. Montreal entertainers perform in the Montreal BBQ and club several nights a week.
Three years ago, we stayed here for ten days and had a wonderful experience...a room with two doubles with bathroom. The pool was in working condition.
Second thoughts about coming on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 3,789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing