We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extrimely rude staff, dirty and rusting, hidden fees- DO NOT STAY THERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Location is good (near the beach and shopping center), And this is all. It is old, dirty with rusting bathroom, greasy tables and chairs on the terrace. There are hidden fees (in the end it is 130 $/night with parking). On the top of this staff is unbelievably unpolite. In spite of the fact that our colleague checked to Thunderbird presenting his ID, he was actually staying at and paid by his own credit card, hotel staff (Beata Reyes, Andre and Manager) refused to issue an invoice to his name and address in extremely rude manner. Staff was yelling at us!!! Believe me: you can do much better with this money in Florida!
I had a fruitful stay and met fantastic people in Miami but I deeply regret that overall Thunderbird hotel ruined my positive impression concerning customer treatment in USA.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blobik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is really nice and comfortable. The rooms were nice and clean with 2 double beds and a balcony, even though ours was overlooking the car park it was still nice to have. The pool area is absolutely fantastic with a big swimming pool, hot tub, poolside bar & restaurant, and the beautiful beach is right there at the back of the hotel! There are 2 supermarkets just across the road and there is a bus service to South Beach which is about 20-30 mins drive. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning staff.

It is a nice hotel but a bit far out of the action of South Beach for me so I probably wouldn't stay here again just for that reason.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Look don't listen to the bad reviews, the hotel is clean, very good value for money and all the hotel staff are really friendly. The hotel is a distance from south beach but only $2 on the bus, the bus stop is just outside the front of the hotel, and a 10 min bus ride to the mall for also $2. There is a also a supermarket just across the road, the beach is perfect you really cant fault it, a nice pool with really friendly pool staff. I really like this hotel and have been back four times and will continue to use this hotel. People shouldn't moan I feel this is a great hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola-UK-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff is rude and lacking professionalism and communication skills. The entire experience from check-in to check-out was frustrating and stressful. I had to fight for the room I had reserved and then the wrong number was given to the car valet. The beds in the room slide across the floor and cannot be locked in place so that when you prop against the headboard you fall over backwards as the bed slides out from under you. Ther was no hotel directory or room service menu in the room. A call to the front desk got the response, " yeah, so?". At one point the room attandant walked into the room without announcing herself and at 9am on check out day she beat on the door asking for the dirty towels and was unwilling to wait till check out even though I requested that she come back. Extremely noisy guests running and slamming doors kept us awake most of the night. Calling the front desk did no good. At check-out, the desk clerk asked me to sign both her copy and my copy of the credit card slip and leave both with her but could not explain why she needed two. Upon questioning, she flung it at me across the desk. Three good things about this location.....the view of the ocean is incredible, if you can get the right room. The maintenance man is fast, friendly and knowledgeable and the little onsite restaurant is good, although it has changed from the one still being advertised.

Room Tip: The better, ocean front rooms can only be booked directly with the hotel, according to the rude desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauracrawford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was poor and dirty, really bad standard, I did not have the feeling that the staff was really helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Zeki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

my husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Florida we traveled down the east coast starting off in Daytona throughout our holiday we stayed in 5 hotels which were all fantastic except for this one although the room was clean it was very dated and in need of an upgrade we were on the 3rd floor walls very thin we heard every noise from both sides the people on one side sat in balcony till about 5 every morning speaking laughing playing music... we only managed a few winks of sleep ... we asked for a change of room but it was to cost us $10 per day above the $10 for the supposed valet parking and the $10 resort fees for amenities we did not use if we ever go back to Miami we would definitely not use this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosemary635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed here for 5 nights in October. It doesn't look like much has been done to improve the place since I last was there - it remains an old-condition motel with under-average features whose biggest asset is that it's on the beach, and near shopping and food. You pay $8/day for self-parking which is across a 6-lane highway, in a dirt lot! C'mon people.... at least pave it!
Pool is large and cold; jacuzzi didn't look that clean and was lukewarm, but at least they have one. They offer shuttles to the mall which is a nice feature. Also local calls are free. TVs are old and in bad condition. Beds were comfortable. I reserved thru Hotels.com and didn't get my reserved room (with terrace) until the 2nd night. Complained to Hotels.com and got a $20 credit which went to pay for the parking. They still have the Tbird in the lobby - nice touch.

Room Tip: terrace! don't get ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windyrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hollywood/Aventura
1.1 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range: $99 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing