We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
1 review
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Look don't listen to the bad reviews, the hotel is clean, very good value for money and all the hotel staff are really friendly. The hotel is a distance from south beach but only $2 on the bus, the bus stop is just outside the front of the hotel, and a 10 min bus ride to the mall for also $2. There is a also a supermarket just across the road, the beach is perfect you really cant fault it, a nice pool with really friendly pool staff. I really like this hotel and have been back four times and will continue to use this hotel. People shouldn't moan I feel this is a great hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola-UK-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    264
    354
    149
    188
See reviews for
389
286
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coral springs fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff is rude and lacking professionalism and communication skills. The entire experience from check-in to check-out was frustrating and stressful. I had to fight for the room I had reserved and then the wrong number was given to the car valet. The beds in the room slide across the floor and cannot be locked in place so that when you prop against the headboard you fall over backwards as the bed slides out from under you. Ther was no hotel directory or room service menu in the room. A call to the front desk got the response, " yeah, so?". At one point the room attandant walked into the room without announcing herself and at 9am on check out day she beat on the door asking for the dirty towels and was unwilling to wait till check out even though I requested that she come back. Extremely noisy guests running and slamming doors kept us awake most of the night. Calling the front desk did no good. At check-out, the desk clerk asked me to sign both her copy and my copy of the credit card slip and leave both with her but could not explain why she needed two. Upon questioning, she flung it at me across the desk. Three good things about this location.....the view of the ocean is incredible, if you can get the right room. The maintenance man is fast, friendly and knowledgeable and the little onsite restaurant is good, although it has changed from the one still being advertised.

Room Tip: The better, ocean front rooms can only be booked directly with the hotel, according to the rude desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauracrawford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOHENTENGEN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was poor and dirty, really bad standard, I did not have the feeling that the staff was really helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Zeki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

my husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Florida we traveled down the east coast starting off in Daytona throughout our holiday we stayed in 5 hotels which were all fantastic except for this one although the room was clean it was very dated and in need of an upgrade we were on the 3rd floor walls very thin we heard every noise from both sides the people on one side sat in balcony till about 5 every morning speaking laughing playing music... we only managed a few winks of sleep ... we asked for a change of room but it was to cost us $10 per day above the $10 for the supposed valet parking and the $10 resort fees for amenities we did not use if we ever go back to Miami we would definitely not use this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosemary635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed here for 5 nights in October. It doesn't look like much has been done to improve the place since I last was there - it remains an old-condition motel with under-average features whose biggest asset is that it's on the beach, and near shopping and food. You pay $8/day for self-parking which is across a 6-lane highway, in a dirt lot! C'mon people.... at least pave it!
Pool is large and cold; jacuzzi didn't look that clean and was lukewarm, but at least they have one. They offer shuttles to the mall which is a nice feature. Also local calls are free. TVs are old and in bad condition. Beds were comfortable. I reserved thru Hotels.com and didn't get my reserved room (with terrace) until the 2nd night. Complained to Hotels.com and got a $20 credit which went to pay for the parking. They still have the Tbird in the lobby - nice touch.

Room Tip: terrace! don't get ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windyrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Can't understand all the negative reviews. For what we paid (less than $100 including taxes, resort fee and parking) for a direct beach front property in the Miami area, well, it doesn’t get any better than this.
Is it perfect? – of course not. As others have said, the sound proofing is non-existant. You can hear doors slamming most of the day and the first night there was an extremely loud Jamaican woman next door who yelled, not talked. Felt she was in the room with me. Luckily she checked out next day. Some of the staff were not very friendly but I would not call them rude. OK, you can also complain about the 1950’s acoustic tile and low ceiling in the bathroom, the chipped painted over paint and the very old (but pretty clean) mattresses where you can kind of hear the springs when you turn over on the bed. None of this really bothered us.
We stayed in room 437 and the view was fabulous. I had requested poolside and we got the opposite side and I’m glad we got that side. There was a beach club (no tall building) next door and after that a vacant lot so you were not up against a large skyscraper. The view was wonderful and relaxing. There was a large balcony with a large table and two chairs. The room was a double and quite spacious. It also had a table and two chairs where we were able to eat dinner (had delivery pizza).
It unfortunately rained the two days we were there so we did not use the pool or beach but I took a stroll down there in the rain and the pool was large and looked very nice as did the beach.
For the money paid this is an incredible value and I can’t wait to come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank funtravelingwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#162 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 4,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing