We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort from Aug/04 to Aug/07. This was a getaway weekend without our children. We got there and lobby was nice, friendly staff and quick to get us checked in. First night we spent on ground level floor in a 2X double bed room facing the parking lot. The room had connecting doors on both sides which made it very noisy. Kids next door woke us up before 8AM, and we were getting away to avoid that! The next morning we asked to change room and they gave us a spacious king room on the 4th floor, which had a kitchen and a balcony with side view to the beach. Much much better. Beside the usual hallway noise, we didn't hear our neighbors. The hallway is not carpeted, tile is nice, but noisy when rolling your luggage. The location is just perfect! On the beach, which was nice and fairly quiet. Resort fee ($10) covered local calls, beach towel and beach chair at the pool. Pool was nice, busy on Saturday but Sunday and Monday were quiet days. Locals come during weekends and it gets a bit busy around the pool. Gym was scary, old and dangerous equipment, accident waiting to happen, but treadmills and bikes were in very good condition. On site restaurant served decent breakfast anytime, at a fair price. In front of the property there is a Publix, grocery store, and CVS, pharmacy, at the corner, Navarro at another corner, with liquor store and other shops at a walking distance. In all, we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on ground level, at least the ones facing north (parking lot) for the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    289
    383
    168
    220
See reviews for
441
313
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fabulous hotel, great location and very clean.
Stayed here for 2 weeks. Top hotel, great pool plus jacuzzi which you can use at night and right on the beach, you can walk from the pool one minute and the next minute your in the ocean, and what an ocean, you can see the fish from just one foot deep!! The sand is white! a paradise beach.
The hotel is very large with a massive lobby area plus a hair salon - Jeannie who owns it, is very friendly indeed !!
Our room was overlooking the pool and the ocean, so excellent view. Room very large, loads of closet space, large clean bathroom plus a small kitchenette in the room. Great big comfy clean bed.
The hotel has a nice diner - great for breakfast and lunch with a nice choice of menu.
Its right outside a bus stop on Collins Ave with buses to South Beach and other places. Opposite the hotel itself is an outlet shopping area and lots of restaurants, mostly Israeli food, which is superb.
All is all, we had a great holiday in Miami, with just one downfall, it was far too hot!!!! about 105 every day and night ! and that was end of September !! couldnt go in that heat again, I would go around December time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked my hotel, flight and ground transportation through Orbitz. American Airlines nonstop from Philadelphia to Miami. Smooth--no complaints. Thunderbird Beach Resort was comfortable. Staff was friendly. Location was ideal--ON THE BEACH. I was booked into an efficiency (kitchenette) so I immediately went to Publix across the street (Florida supermarket) and bought coffee, cereal, fruit, etc. Nice part of Dade County, north of Miami Beach. Still, the "S" bus stops in front of hotel and for $2.00 you can go to Lincoln Road, South Beach and City of Miami. Collins Avenue, near hotel has great restaurants and Aventura Mall is very close by. My only complaint was with Supershuttle (ground transportation). They really went downhill. Orbitz started a new thing whereby you pay in advance but it only covers part of the ride. The rest is billable at the time. The drivers look at the Orbitz voucher like it was their first day. On my return to the airport (upon departure) the driver refused to accept the voucher because he said the barcode was not enough. I needed the 2 pages of verbage. Nextime, I'll book through American Shuttle on the spot. Supershuttle "lost the curb" at MIA. Now I know why. Aside from that, Miami Beach is my happy place.

Room Tip: The Superior Room is Days' Inn nomenclature for Efficiency. If you are staying more than 1 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I actually stayed here in August 2010 but it wouldn't let me choose that far back as an option, this hotel is a disgrace, I have never felt so unsafe in a hotel, groups of people shouting & banging all day & night, someone had a party in their room right underneath us, it was dirty, it looked more like a dirty hospital than a hotel, avoid at all costs! I would have given it 0/5 but i can't!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HC23091982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOSPORT
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An old-fashioned ;low rise American motel amidst an abomination of skyscrapers.
The few remaining motels of this type on this strip had their heyday last century and are now living on borrowed time. The beach and the views are to die for (we had ocean front apartments) and well worth the hotel room rates. However, the appalling standard of some of the fittings and the endless excuses from the front desk are the reason that we will never stay there again.
Problems encountered included a room safe that didn't function (took them 4 days to fit batteries), bath that wouldn't hold water, fireworks being let off on a balcony below, front desk not answering calls, dangerous use of the pool by large groups and a loud and smelly (fried fish) party in the adjoining room.
We actually were expecting some of this and didn't let it spoil our holiday but the real problem was the apathy of the staff.
On the positive side, the cleaners do their best and the restaurant serves very good evening meals at a reasonable price. The Virgin rep on site is very helpful and does her best to help sort out any issues.
Verdict: It's gone beyond quaint - knock it down and start again.

Room Tip: Ocean front every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It wasn't the worst place to say, or the best place to say. What was nice about it is that it is located directly on the beach, has a pool, and a couple of bars. I did not have a problem with anyone who worked at the front desk or the concierge, they were helpful whenever we needed anything. The room we stayed in wasn't bad and was a pretty decent size.

HOWEVER, the "pool staff" could use a little education in manners and hospitality. You have to rent umbrellas for $5.00 a day, which I can find understandable since it is not an all-inclusive resort. My mother and I went to drag over a lounge for each of us into the shade near the pool, and the men lounging around the pool staff area yelled out "make sure you put it back when you're done!". They were kind of rude, unhelpful, and not very nice. As for the breakfast that is included with your stay, you only get to choose from a bagel, english muffin, or toast... that is it. You have to pay a $10 a day "resort" fee on top of what you already paid to stay there, which we did with no complaints. However, the breakfast and pool staff could definitely use some work.

I probably wouldn't stay at this place again, but it was fine for just my mother and I who don't need much more than a decent room with a shower and a place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent in this hotel 3 days and it was just great! Our room was very spacious and had a balcony with a nice view to the pool and a little bit of the ocean. It was clean and we had everything we needed: a fridge, an iron, a TV set. The breakfast was included. It was simple but it was enough to start the day.
The hotel provides umbrellas and chairs on the beach, you have to pay extra for them.
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and we'll definitely chose the same hotel if we decide to go to Sunny Isles once again for our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank svetodiod80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing