We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
DennisFox
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed June 15, 2007

We stayed at this resort the week of Memorial Day and having read some negative reviews I was afraid that it was going to be an awful place. However we had a very good experience. The check-in was smooth and the clerks, especially Jaime, were friendly & helpful. The room was clean and had a great view of the ocean. The front faced Collins Ave, not exactly a highway (3 lanes in each direction) if you come from a city. It was well stocked with towels & kitchen utensils. We knew to bring food to cook since it's a timeshare resort. That way we didn't have to eat restaurant food every meal. The area was not short of good restaurants. The pool was beautiful, clean & plenty of chaises. The staff was helpful & friendly. The spa was well maintained and we took advantage of the free usage of the sauna, steam room & hot tub. I bought my wife a 1 hour massage and she loved it. The restaurant was nice, food was good and the wait staff very nice. I would recommend it to anyone that's looking to relax and get away. If you're looking for nightlife, stay closer to South Beach and spend the money. The parking is somewhat limited but we didn't have any problems getting covered parking. If you come back late you're probably young enough to cross Collins Ave. without worrying about traffic. If not, drop off the elderly and then park. Not the problem that I expected from previous reviews.


  • Liked — well maintained & friendly staff
  • Disliked — possibly to tranquil; it would have been nice to have music & dancing in the evenings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DennisFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    118
    54
    22
    19
See reviews for
131
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
charleston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

The on-going construction is the least of the problems for this resort. The staff is amongst the most unfriendly, unhelpful encountered in a long time. This "supposed gold crown" resort is slightly better than the Da__ _nn that we stayed in enroute. Our one bedroom unit has a wonderful view, and that's about where the quality starts and stops. The full size bed in the main bedroom is inadequate not to mention the pull out sofa which has a mattress that should have been retired long ago. The bathroom door does not close entirely, not because it was cut out to miss the toilet when you open/close the door. The shower door rollers should have also been retired with the mattress. The air conditioning units run non-stop and left the room very humid/moist. Oh.. did I mention that this was one of the recently refurbished rooms. Complaints to the counter were met very unreceptively. Parking on premises is a joke...both areas are one way areas only.. meaning - if they are full - you better be prepared to back out. Not fun at night or when one of the afternoon Florida downpours is in progress. All in all - save your money. I won't be back .

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank seasidefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anirolf
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

we were a night late because of an emergency.
our room was given away to someone else;
alma the "manager" told me my new room would better but she gave me a miserable room wit people an u inch away from my window. if you guys stay here and your room # starts with 11 it may be the same situation so be careful....and check your room first; before checking in. beware of the room 1109
the one and only good thing about the hotel is the beach....which is too very tiny.
vacationing in miami you must have a car. and if you are under 25 i reccomend ABLE car rental. they dont have the greatest cars, but they sure have great prices for adults under 25.
best of luck!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank anirolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We booked the Golden Strand through Skyauction about 10 days ahead of time. We paid $250 (including Skyauction's $195 taxes and fees!) for a week in a studio unit. The studio had one queen bed and a sleeper sofa, which was just right for our two daughters, ages 9 and 13. The studio was a nice size (for a studio), with a small-but-full kitchen and a nice little patio. The room had a view of the pool/ocean.

The best part about the Golden Strand is the beach! It's right on the ocean, and it has a private beach with beach chairs and a playground for younger kids. The beach was wide, clean, and white. The pool was large enough that lots of kids could play without its feeling overcrowded.

There is a great Italian restaurant onsite. It has only a few tables, so book early, or go for lunch. There is a poolside bar that offers food service also, and they had a great band on the weekends. The drummer even let our 9-year-old play the bongos during one of their songs!

Parking is an issue, but no more so than most "resorts" I've been to. At least it's free! If you can't handle the walk across Collins Ave , I'd recommend getting your parking space before the dinner crowd, or waiting until after the dinner rush!

The resort caters to the French and Cuban traveler, so don't be surprised to find yourself surrounded by people speaking different languages. If this bothers you, don't stay at the Golden Strand. We learned that the reason so many Cuban-Americans vacation here is that when the resort went time-share, they marketed the Golden Strand as a way for local businessmen to take their families on a beach vacation without having to take off work!

There is a small "gym" (a couple of treadmills, etc.) and a large "club" room with lots of books and magazines (including French and Spanish language works), plenty of very comfortable couches and chairs, and a television. The "librarian" runs kids' programs and volunteered to keep an eye on our 9-year-old while we worked out. Later we saw her popping popcorn for a group of kids who were watching a Disney cartoon. Delightful!

Across the street is a Publix; this is a great place to stock your kitchen to help you cut down on costs (for breakfast and lunch anyway!)

I would highly recommend the Golden Strand. The resort is older (it actually has a romantic 1940s history) but it isn't dated. I love that it's a holdout against the high rises (the Trump International was going up next door as we watched); if you want new and pristine, this isn't your place. If you want a comfortable, relaxing beach vacation with your family, consider staying at the Golden Strand!

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
11 Thank OuttaBanksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We spent a week here at the G.S. We found it to be very nice and the rooms were decent. This is not a luxury resort but it was well worth the $ we got it for. The best part is that it was right on the beach! Our room was a studio with a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. The beds were not the greatest. The room was nice with a full kitchen and dishwasher. The AC worked great. The courtyard was beautiful along with all the tropical trees and plants and a HUGE pool.
Now for the not so great.... the parking was not acceptable. This establishment has VERY limited parking on their property which includes an open lot and a covered garage. Please note that if you drive a large SUV like myself parking can be quite a challenge. There is an overflow lot across a VERY busy highway. It is very risky for the elderly or handicapped to attempt to cross this road. I really have an issue that this resort reserves 7 parking spaces on their already limited open lot for valet parking for their restaurant. To me it is insulting that a paying vacationer has to park their car across a very busy highway so they can accomadate the restaurant customers. Why not use the overflow lot for the valet parking? So..if you can get past the parking issue you should enjoy this place!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank teakieweakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2006

This is a great resort, nothing fancy but right on the beach. Pool staff is great, good restaraunt and spa. The rooms are nice and all have kitchens. Would travel to the Golden Strand again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.1 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort

Property: Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Address: 17901 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2720
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Golden Strand Ocean Hotel
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing