We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Golden Strand is a hidden treasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Parlin, New Jersey
1 review
“Golden Strand is a hidden treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Strand and we felt right at home. Ther staff were very friendly and very accommodatingThe resort is old but quaint. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thumbs up for the Golden Strand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    48
    21
    18
See reviews for
116
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schreiber, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first visit to this resort. We traded into it using our timeshare. It's an older resort, but well kept, clean and comfortable and ... right on the beach! The customer service we received here was simply exceptional. Sandra and Edwige at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. When we were a little disappointed with our unit, they saw to it that we were moved to a more acceptable unit. We were simply overwhelmed with their efficiency and helpfulness. Even down to a little thing like coffee. We asked at the front desk where we might be able to purchase some coffee without having to take the car out. They gave us some coffee to tide us over until the next day, so we didn't have to go out. It was so pleasant talking with them and they started our week-long vacation off with a positive note that is much, much appreciate. Our thanks to Sandra and Edwige!

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are like a home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoonscapeDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand S, Manager at Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they have been passed on to Edwige and Sandra. We hope to see you soon again and we all wish you a happy new year!
Bertrand
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Came here with my partner who owns at this resort and aside from the lack of parking and rather lame "game room" very quite at night and wonderful views during the day! It will be a shame if this place is sold to make room for a huge tower like the ones on either side of the golden strand!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilson0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great second trip here (11 days10/13--10/23) Kelene and Maria do a outstanding customer service job and do take care of thier renters in every repect. We also enjoy all the Golden Strand has to offer, Pool,beach and restaurant. Studio-full kitchen queen bed. Will be back. Room2211

Room Tip: Call in advance, make requests (nicely) and hope for the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After reading so many negative reviews we were just hoping for the best. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit 5102. Directly facing the ocean. Beautiful views even being that it was a first floor unit. More than enough room. Everything was very clean and I am very picky! Had coffee on the patio each morning. Could even see the ocean from the loveseat. New furniture was very nice. Check in was fast. Had problems with the key cards but they replaced them each time. Everything in walking distance. Never had to park across the street. The only complaint would be the amenity fees. We did sit on the beach each day, however no one came over to offer a chair pad. Had to track someone down to get one at the pool. Other than that the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We exchanged through RCI and ended up with an end unit studio, 2311, in building 2 facing the restaurant, bar, pool and beach. Windows across the entire bed area and a large balcony. The room was very large with full kitchen. The bathroom was small, but this place was built in the 50's I believe. It is on the beach and the pool and beach were very nice. The couch and chair were comfortable and it had a flatscreen TV which was nice. Overall we would return if we could get this unit again. Our only issue was the fridge and freezer was not working very well, but we didn't report that until we checked out so shame on us for being lazy.

The area is busy, we never had to park across the street, but you have everything within walking distance you would ever need. We ate at the restaurant for lunch and dinner and I would recommend it, very good.

Bottom line it is an older Florida resort, not stuffy, we had friends next door at Trump and we hung out there, I felt more comfortable here. The grounds were very nice, we had lots of palm tress, something you do not see at the high rises in the area.

Room Tip: If you are with RCI try to get 2311 in building 2, the villas also looked very nice and actually all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PizzamanMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff was friendly. The location awesome. Easy access to anywhere in the city but directly on the beach. Mall, restaurants, grocery, souvenir stores and more up-down-or across the street. The room was decent. I included all the pictures I could. No bugs, rust, or anything else to complain. Second floor studio was great for my wife and I. The beach is relaxing and they provide chair, umbrella, and beach towels. I would go back.

Room Tip: Our second floor studio looking into the garden was a great view into sunrise so imagine getting a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2TavelALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.5 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.1 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort

Property: Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Address: 17901 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2720
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Golden Strand Ocean Hotel
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing