We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip To Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another Trip To Paradise”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Decameron Los Cocos from Feb. 2nd - 9th. It was our 6th time to this resort and won't be the last. We really enjoy the area and how safe you feel off the resort. The resort is kept very clean by the hard working staff. The drinks are very good and the bartending staff are very friendly. A shout out to Hector and Chris. We did find that the food was not quite as good in previous years. The beach area is always a busy place with all the vendors and tourists walking by, It is a very nice long walk to the far end off the beach. I got to know a few more of the activity staff this year. I played beach volleyball with and against them pretty much everyday. It is a nice laid back area and a big reason that we enjoy going there so much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowbirds2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    470
    140
    47
    23
See reviews for
296
434
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

First off, I apologize for the long review. I never plan for them to be so long!
I stayed at the Decameron Los Cocos from February 8th to 15th with my husband and 2 of our friends. I have known about this hotel for a long time and was always interested in it (I like Decameron properties and it gets very good reviews). The distance from PV and the lower star rating always kept me from booking...but...after a horrible winter we were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful, with great weather and this fit the bill.
When we arrived, I have to admit we didn’t have the greatest first impressions. We discussed paying to upgrade to the Royal Decameron (where I had stayed before) but we decided to stick it out/make the best of it. I'm happy we did.
The reasons for our original nervousness...when we arrived the bell staff tried to wave our bus away...they had no idea there were guests on the bus (there were only 4 of us). We were trying to get off as the bus was driving away...not exactly welcoming! Then we saw our room. We were prepared for basic but these rooms are...really, really basic. The doors didn’t really meet up with the walls (so there were openings around the outside), we could only get 2 double beds, the TV was a flat screen but was also the size of most computer monitors. The best part is the TV remote which is attached to the wall with a phone cord! Best comparison...like a room at a Motel 6.
The rooms, while extremely basic, are kept very clean. Our room was in Cocos 2 and the Air Conditioning worked well, the beds were relatively comfortable, it was quiet (for the most part), the shower worked well..lots of hot water. I mean you aren’t in Mexico for the room so once the shock wore off…the room was fine.
The hotel is very spread out, with all the room blocks having their own pool. The pools….if you are a big pool person (which we normally are) this might not be the place for you. The pools within the blocks are very small and quite shady for a lot of the day. Also not ever very warm. The one in Cocos 4 is a bit larger but is almost painfully quiet. I’ve never understood why “Adults Only” has to also mean complete silence? I am an adult…I like music and activities around a pool. Anyhow, one thing we found very strange was how strict they were about drinks in the pool. Like even a drink in a closed cup…you were forced out of the pool by security. I guess that isn’t a huge deal but not something we’d experienced at other resorts.
The food, I had read lots of reviews that stated the food was amazing. I can’t say I thought it was amazing but it was very good. The week we were there the hotel was very quiet so I think that limited the variety a bit. What they offered was tasty and most importantly none of us felt even remotely ill the entire week. There was only one a la carte open (La Bamba) and we had dinner there twice. It was nice for a change from the buffet. There are also lots of restaurants in Guaybitos that you can walk to, I wish we had explored/eaten out more. A week goes too fast!
The bars were good too. We spent most of our time at the 2 down by the beach. Hector at the Cocos 2 bar is amazing! So friendly, always has a smile on his face. Enjoyed the blender drinks and the beer was always cold. We only tried the white wine in the restaurants but it was totally drinkable.
The beach is honestly the best part of the hotel. It isn’t the crystal water/white sand you would see in Cancun or Cuba but the water is SO calm and SO warm. Made up for not being able to have a drink in the pool…we had them in the ocean! The vendors can get a bit much…we found “No Gracias” worked MOST of the time but when you are trying to read a book, have a conversation, take a nap and they just keep coming…it can be a bit annoying. That said, it’s all part of the experience (and some of them do sell some interesting things which makes for good people watching!)
The guests were mostly Mexican families and older Canadian couples. It definitely isn’t a hotel to go to if you are looking to party but we were okay with quiet so it worked out.
Excursions, we did 3 (which is a lot for us!) The prices are really good! The first one we went and took surf lessons in Sayulita…none of us are going to be expert surfers ever but lots of fun! Left time to wander Sayulita and have some lunch, it is such a cute little town. Definitely want to go back. The second was organized by the bell boys at the hotel, a shared van to Puerto Vallarta for the day. They had a sign up sheet posted and the trip only went if they had 8 people. For $25 each it included return trip with an English speaking driver. It started well enough…bit of a slow/cautious drive to PV but we got there and were told to meet the driver in the same place at 3:30pm (which we all did). Let me say I love PV so definitely try to get in there to wander around if you haven’t been before (or even if you have). The trip back…I won’t go into lots of detail but..yikes. The driver who didn’t speak a word of English also had no idea how to get back from PV to Guayabitos and got VERY lost. We were in some areas that we really shouldn’t have been (and were told that by several people), pulled over by the police, the driver had his license taken away. Took us 2 (extra) hours to get back to the hotel…it was a pretty uncomfortable situation. When we arrived back and asked to speak to one of the bell boys we were either told they were all gone or that no one spoke English, we were finally told to come back in the morning. When we went back the next day…basically got a LOT of excuses (wasn’t the normal driver, if they’d know the night before they wouldn’t have paid him, they wished we hadn’t asked to speak to someone because they’d get in trouble now, they were there the whole time but out on the street and not in uniform, they questioned the driver on why he was so delayed and he said we were all late getting back to the van etc.) and a hug (not really helpful but nice I suppose). Oh well. The third was a whale watching trip which was incredible. So cool to be close to those HUGE whales! And for only $20 per person!
We really didn’t get too involved in the activities or the shows. They did seem to have things going on throughout the day but definitely weren’t pushy about getting people to join in. Shows at All Inclusive resorts aren’t really our “thing”, we only went one night and didn’t stay long.
The Wifi worked well in the lobbies. Was slow sometimes but really nice to have it free.
Honestly, a bit of a rough start but by the end of the week we didn’t want to leave! It grew on us and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. If you go in with the right attitude…there are really so many more positives than negatives at the Decameron Los Cocos. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

we stayed jan3/14 to jan31 and loved it. would totally recommend this property. been here several times before and would return always. the staff are the greatest, the food is good and plentiful, any problems are fixed asap. taxi 9 pesos in the van and 30 to penita by taxi is amazing..love the proximity of rincon and the safe feeling. son and his wife came for two weeks and were also amazed.

Room Tip: we always stay in cocos 2, ground floor. my husband has copd. it is quieter and we are right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bc Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We still like coming back to this place. Price was up this year and there didnt seem to be as many people. Not sure if it was price related or what! WIFI is a nice touch but you cant get it everywhere.
Staff always great, work hard to please all.
Few complaints, "juice" at the bar in evening was gross! it wast real juice but tang type blend. After having wonderful juice in the morning you expect the same when you order one at the bar (non alcohol).
Next, when it says NO SMOKING why do people still do it? Disrespectful to the resort, staff and the guests that choose not to smoke. you wouldn't lite up on the plane, your room or at home in a outdoor pub so WHY do it here??
Attire, hmmmm banana hammock (less than a speedo) while eating lunch! cover up and save it for the beach.
Positive......requested our room we like and got it. Had it 5x now. thanks for accommodating us.
safe place to take a family for sure.

Room Tip: cocos 4 is always nice and on quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4444
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to the Decameron in December and January. So I guess I do like it been 4 times now will I go back yes. Staff very friendly. Beach is very nice to walk and water is nice to swim. As for food there is always something for everybody choice. Went to Salvador's to try another place to eat I 've always liked the brothers who run it. Loved the food there as also the Teqilla House. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We come to this hotel every year and we love it more and more. I believe you get a true authentic Mexico experience here. The town of Guayabitos where the hotel is wonderful and has everything you could need. We travelled with two small children ages 2 and 8months. The staff here love children and go out if their way to help you out with whatever you may need. The rooms are clean. The resort is clean. The food is excellent. Breakfast being my favourite meal. We didn't do any excursions cause we had our children but in our past vacations here we have and there are plenty to choose from. We ate off the resort at Salvador's which is just down the beach. We had all you can eat shrimps. It was excellent!!! The only thing bad was the long drive to and from the resort and if course that we had to come back to cold canada. Once again had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our 8th visit here(jan 15-22)....won't be the last! this quaint hotel has wonderful staff a fantastic location for relaxation with reasonable access to different tours. The local people are great. the beach club is worth the visit for more relaxation.We traveled with several friends who are repeat visitors as well. The rooms are dated but always clean. Food is standard for buffet...hit/miss, never left hungry. See Fransisco on the beach in front of the hotel for more tour options. Hector and Jorge will take care of your beverage needs in the bar, miss ya guys!

Once again we love it and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddnjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torreblanca Suites
Torreblanca Suites
#3 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Property: Decameron Los Cocos
Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing