We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable 7 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Two buffet restaurants, 4 or 5 open bars, special Mexican nights, outstanding service and friendly staff, this all inclusive hotel stay was impressive. Add in the lovely beach, mostly calm water, great warm weather and we had a delightful week. About 65km north of Puerto Vallarta airport, the bus ride to the hotel is tolerable, the scenery ok, and the town Guayabitos very Mexican. Even though the hotel buildings are obviously old, they are well maintained and nice and clean. We tipped all the time, service received was great, we would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pensumkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our stay was from Jan 18 to February 1; 2014 at this hotel. It's close to a mixed brown and black sand beach (but in pictures it looks white). The complex consists of 4 buildings (no. 3 most likely the least desirable due to it's location). There are cons and pro's with every building, we were in 2215 (two building), where it was quiet, with a spacious room and a large shower. Old type TV set, one night table for two beds and limited storage capacity. Canadian's you don't have to change your money, it's accepted in the hotel and in town by everybody. Mostly elderly customers (many repeat) come to this resort from Canada.

Summary
Pros: well maintained buildings and grounds, responsive maintenance, clean kitchen facilities, clean rooms, proper prepared foods (hot and cold) and very friendly staff, daily fresh linen and towels, cool down of temperature every night (+10C, bring a sweater),we never run out of hot water in the shower, reasonable authentic Mexican food is being served (and even pizza, hamburger and fries for the "homies" are found in another buffet), free WiFi.

Cons:
entertainment crew is always the same (day and night), only one show at night (starts at nine and finishes at ten), poor Ala Cart restaurant (not the service you would expect from an Ala Cart restaurant, poor salad bar, get your own soup, no after meal special drinks), food selection is repetitive, dress codes in Ala Cart is very loose and at the buffet as well (leave your gowns and long pants at home), all swimming pools are cold due to their location mostly in the shade, a long bus ride (1 1/2 hours to and from the airport), most bar liquor are "no name brands", no Canadian TV channels, very boring at night time.

Overall; It was not for us, you just get what you pay for - we won't be returning

Room Tip: See my comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marylou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just got back from Los Cocos and had a very relaxing time. We only had a week so just wanted to take it easy and this is the perfect place to do that. We are always happy to see our favorite staff; Hector the bartender, Pablo the waiter in the dining room, Viriadana (sp?) who is always sweeping or mopping the floors, and many more. It is our 6th time here so we know many people. We find the food improved, I love the chilaquilles for breakfast and my spouse loved the fresh fruit. We forgot how good a banana could taste! I found the pozole soup on Mexcian night dissappointing; in the past it was much better. And the ribs are cut different than we do and they were difficult to eat. We went to La Bamba for dinner one night and had a great romantic setting on the lower patio. I ordered the shrimp diablo which I have eaten all over Mexico and was shocked when it arrived with heads and shell complete! The waiter did not return to ask how our meal was and I got too hungry to wait and proceded to dive in New Orleans style. Our romantic dinner turned into me wanting a newspaper and a bib. I told the waiter he should warn people about that as it's hard to be romantic when you are cleaning seafood. My nice top was splattered with shrimp and they were also cooked a bit too long and the shell is hard to get off then. They also said they were out of Jack fruit for one dessert but we saw it daily for sale just down the road. We would have liked to try it. As for the rooms, I love the firm beds and we got lovely swans when the maids did the room. I will bring some cleaner and a squeegee next time for the shower stall tiles; they looked quite dirty and I am a bit of a clean freak. We also loved the snack bar; my gringo spouse loved the french fries and I had the quacamole, salsa Mexicano and chips almost daily, Just be careful; the only stomach problem I had here was on the last day when I decided to have 2 burgers as we were going to the airport and wouldn't eat for many hours. I think the second burger may have been cooked at 11:00am and this was at 12:45 and by the time we were at the airport my guts were churning. Better the last day than the first day though. I also witnessed over serving in the bar. A girl asked for a double vodka and got at least a triple or quadruple. I think sometime they think it is funny to get someone smashed and then watch the show. Dangerous though. I was a server the 17 years and have my tickets so maybe they don't have the same liability issues as us but they should be careful. We also noticed the hotel has done much painting and improvements on the hotel, maybe new faucets could be next? They are quite old. Despite a few problems, we keep going back because we love the people and the towns of Guayabitos and La Penita. We even like this better than the Royal Decameron because of the authentic Mexican-ess of the location and the great staff. Be careful of the biting insects at the "premium" tequila bar and the bar up by Cocos 4. They were very active from dusk on. And they need some premium tequilas at the tequila bar. Cuervo and Cabrittos is not premium. And good deals on liquor at La Koritta store in La Pinita. Try Decameron Los Cocos; it is not perfect but very good value and you too will be hooked. We are looking forward to our next and 7th return!

Room Tip: Not many rooms face the ocean but if you want to be near the beach, Cocos 1 or 2 are closest. Cocos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Many regulars at this resort, return customers... people got to know the staff personally over time, nice relationships. This was our first time. The people there is what really makes this resort fun.

Pubic beach, private resort, venders cannot come on the property and are very frequent if you are on the beach. Dicker, start with half of what they want and move from there. Pesos are 12 for every dollar. Front desk will buy your CAD dollars for 11. They currently don't take US currency.

Bar on the top part of the hotel has better quality tequila, lower bar it is on tap, not the best, margaritas are very sweet.. just my taste. Bar on top is adult only. They say rooms up on the top area are good, but there are many stairs.

Food at the Tropical was good.. small changes every day to make it different. Service at all places was perfect.
Food at the La Bumba used side ribs instead of back, so full of fat.. ok if you like that, I didn't. Steaks there were very good.
Food at the La Camoa (spelling) was ok.. Shrimp garlic with peppers: the peppers were dried and then added, very chewy. Shrimp was tiny, all in their shells and full of sauce.. hard to eat. Steaks were good but we got the wrong one. Overall was ok.

All rooms have cement instead of box springs.. you either get a king or two doubles. Mattress was thick with a foamy on each (not memory foam) and the beds were very very firm.

Trip to PV was fun.... small van and squeeze in 9 people. $25 CAD each.

La Penita market was awesome. Overwhelming number of vendors. Find a local restaurant there, its fun and food is good. There is a little shop just off the market a block or so, you must go and see it: The shop is *Hamaca Maya* and it is located on 48 Emiliano Zapata avenue, in La Penita. Owner is english, Hala.. she sells easy to wrap and pack, original and authentic art... as well as a good assortment of hammocks. There is a new Melacon along the beach, very nice.

Guaybitos market was good as well, walkable from the resort.

Venders set up in the resort area every night, nice people, good items

Taxi to Los Alaya is only $30 pesos.. the Collectivo is only $9 pesos. If you are in a group, taxi could be better, more comfortable.

Overall was a good time.

Room Tip: Large U shaped building is one of the buildings, do not use rooms in the bottom right of the U shape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Have known about Decameron Los Cocos for some time and thought it sounded interesting but too far from the airport. Finally decided it was worth a try and are now part of the loyal Canadian fan club. We have never been in a resort so clean. We even saw an employee with a broom and dustpan, SWEEPING cigarette butts off the beach! The resort is older and the rooms are very basic, but the attention to cleanliness makes up for any ageing. Beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. Lots of closet space etc. and a flat screen TV with some English channels. Other guests there commented on the noise at night and early in the morning, but we used the AC every night and it seemed to block out external noise, even though it was very quiet. And it worked well the whole time we were there. Bathroom was also basic with just a shower, but a large one with no shortage of hot water. A larger vanity around the sink would be an improvement as there was little space for toiletries and cosmetics. We were in building 1 and our room had a balcony with 2 chairs but no table - no side walls for privacy and not the best view, but we could see the water. Our building had 4 floors and an elevator so was perfect for anyone not liking stairs but liking to be above ground level. The lobby of this building also has WiFi so it is usual to see people there with computers, iPads etc, checking up on the people at home! There is also a small store in this building selling Spanish magazines, candies, ice cream bars, toiletries etc. There was a lifeguard when the pool was "open" and the beach was just a few steps away. Plenty of lounge chairs but they were hard! Next time we'll buy an air mattress from a beach vendor to use as a chair pad! Speaking of vendors, there were many but they did not pester or pressure after a polite no thank you. Food was excellent, both in the buffet restaurant and the a la carte restaurant. Again cleanliness was impressive. Food handlers were constantly sanitizing work areas and hands and many wore gloves and face masks. Reservations must be made for the a la carte restaurant and are made from 8 a.m. for each day. With three sittings, we had no problems going on the nights we chose. The beach is great. Lovely sand and a beach that goes for miles. Lots of small beach cafes provide places for rests and cold drinks and make long walks very enjoyable. Resort has a catamaran that can be booked for 1/2 hour blocks (complete with staff member to operate the boat), kayaks which can only be used in the marked area other than in the mornings when a staff member accompanies kayakers on an hour long trip along the shore line. Boards etc. are also available and whale watching, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, etc. can be booked for very reasonable rates. Staff is extremely friendly. Activity staff was excellent, organizing everything from bingo to aerobics to beach walks. Games and contests were played all day. They really tried to do things that would appeal to everyone. Night time entertainment was very good, especially for such a small resort. Great dancers and some incredible costumes. After the show each night, there is a disco that goes until 3 am. The hotel guests seemed to be half Mexican and half Canadian tourists, some with younger families but more middle aged plus couples while we were there. Most were repeat guests, some visit every year! One of the best things for us was the location. Other all-inclusives we've been to are quite isolated or are part of a string of tourist hotels and we really see little but other tourists. Here we could wander around a number of villages, all within walking distance albeit a good walk to some, and had a chance to experience Mexican culture and learn a bit about the Mexican way of life. We came home with much more than a bit of a sun tan and plan to be among those who go back each year.

Room Tip: There are five buildings and Building 4 is the newest and the one with the superior rooms. It is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a genuine Mexican experience but with lots of travellers' amenities. The rooms are basic but totally adequate, beds are good, food was excellent with lots of choices. We were pleased to see so many Mexican dishes in the buffets. We were very impressed with the celebratory dinner and entertainment provided on New Years Eve. A very beautiful and lavish spread. Extremely hard-working staff, always accommodating. The beach is ideal for young children, very gradual slope, no surf. Not an exciting beach for adults or swimmers but Sayulita is very close by if you want to surf and have a latte. Concierge was very helpful. Nice to have wifi at the lobby. The only request I'd make would be to announce the activities and excursions better so one didn't have to hunt for them. Very relaxing. Lots of Mexican families come to visit. If you really miss a good coffee, go to the cafe/book store in the village called "Three Flags".

Room Tip: Cocos #4 at the back was quiet. And it's close to La Bamba restaurant for morning coffee. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I spent the week of Jan. 4 - 11, 2014 at Decameron Los Cocos, our first visit to this resort. We rode in on the bus with two couples that were returning, for the 6th and 8th times, and were told how great the place was. They weren't lying. And it seemed that every other couple we met here were regulars with nothing but good to say about the resort. After our week I would definitely add this place to our list of resorts to visit again.

The resort itself is a hodge-podge of buildings, three of which are right on the beach. We stayed in Building 1, the main "U" shaped building right on the beach. Our room was on the south side and we had a balcony overlooking the treed hillside and some of the rather grubby buildings and shacks just south of the resort. That didn't bother us though, as we spent very little time in our room, and I don't mind seeing a little "real" Mexico anyway. I preferred that to the north side of Building 1 which had no balconies, and windows that looked into the main courtyard. Our room was spartan, but very clean and comfortable, the AC worked well. There were two large closets for our stuff.The bathroom was OK, with a large shower, no tub, and newer sink and toilet. Every day the entire room was cleaned thoroughly, even the floors were washed daily.

Building 1 is the oldest of the 5 buildings and as such is a little weathered, but kept very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was always someone around who spoke English well enough to help you out if needed.

We ate at the main buffet in Bldg 1 and at the one a-la-carte, La Bomba, at Bldg 4. The food was very good with lots of variety every day and the buffet items varied from day to day, too. The a-la-carte had a varied menu and the food there was very good. There are a number of restaurants nearby off-resort. We heard good things about several of them, but as we were only there a week, we ate on-resort. My biggest food complaint was there was no ice cream! But we found a couple of ice cream vendors a block or two away.

The beach at Rincon de Guayabitos (which translates to Corner of the Little Guavas, as the town used to be a plantation for a small variety of guava - a tropical fruit) is narrow at high tide. It can be pretty busy at times, at least it was on the weekends when we were there, as this is a popular resort for Mexican families from Tepic and Guadalajara and for locals. Week day mornings were great for quiet walks though. There is still an active fishing community and boats are pulled up on shore each morning to sell the night's catch. It's very interesting to watch and attracts large numbers of pelicans and frigate birds looking for handouts, so the seabird watching is great. You can walk for several kms along the beach, and cross the river to La Pinita and walk several more km if you like. The scenery surrounding Jaltemba Bay is gorgeous, the bay is nearly enclosed by mountains with islands to the west. Absent are the mega-resorts of Vallarta and Nuevo Vallarta. The Decameron is the biggest resort in Guayabitos and the beach is lined with smaller hotels, condos, restaurants and RV parks.

There is a different character to the beach vendors here as many cater to the vactioning Mexican families and locals who buy food and inflatable toys on the beach. There are the usual vendors, too, selling tourist trinkets to the Gringos, but all were fairly low key and polite. You will definitely want to buy air mattresses for the beach chairs, they are rock hard.

If you want a quieter beach experience take advantage of the Decameron's Beach Club at Los Ayala beach, only 1 km south of the main resort. You can take a bus from the resort or walk there in 20 minutes. The road is narrow, but traffic is not too heavy, and the scenery is great; you climb up and over a hill to reach Los Ayala, giving you some great views of the bay. The Beach Club has washrooms, change rooms, a bar, lunch buffet and beach front chairs.It's part of the resort, so there are no extra charges to use the Club. There is even another smaller beach you can walk to from the south end of the Los Ayala beach, only about 300 m further along.

Minor annoyances: they have sea kayaks you are free to use, but only in a small roped-off area; they claim there is too much boat traffic to let people go further. You can rent kayaks off-resort to use anywhere, but they weren't cheap. There are bikes you can take out, too, but they are in pretty rough shape, as are a lot of the roads. Combine the two and it doesn't make for pleasant biking. The nightly shows were held in an enclosed auditorium with stifling air and a booming sound system, so we didn't stay for any of the shows.

There are a variety of excursions you can go on and arrange through the resort or from sellers on the beach, ranging from snorkeling at the nearby islands to whale watching and tours to other towns. Guayabitos is somewhat isolated ($60 cab, one way, back to Vallarta!) which we enjoyed, but some might find awkward. We took in one all-day whale watching/deep sea fishing/snorkeling tour ($75 C/person). It was great, though we got a little too close to some whales in a rather small boat! There is a nice little market on Mondays in Guayabitos and a large market on Thursdays in La Pinita which caters to tourists and locals, so there is an entertaining array of goods to see.

All in all we had a great time at Decameron Los Cocos. This is definitely a low-key family-oriented place with good food and service, great scenery and with an interesting mix of Canadian and Mexican tourists. We felt very safe everywhere we went, day or night. It's a great place for people that like to walk around and experience a small Mexican tourist-town.

Room Tip: Building 4 is new with a quiet pool and the a-la-carte restaurant next to it. It's on a hill so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torreblanca Suites
Torreblanca Suites
#3 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing