We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Staff, Real Mexican Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to Decameron Los Cocos the last week of December. I’ll split up my review into the following categories: resort rooms, grounds and services, food and drinks, staff, beach, town, activities, practical info.

Rooms, Grounds and Services
There are 5 different hotels, Cocos 1-5, as shown on the map. Cocos 1, 2 and 5 are right on the beach (30 sec walk). Cocos 3 is in the middle – 45 sec walk to the beach. Cocos 4 is furthest away from the beach (1.5 min walk). The disco and one of the bars is close to Cocos 3. The main dining areas and bars are at Cocos 1 and 2. We stayed at Cocos 2, and for most part it was fine for noise, but due to its close proximity to the bars and dining areas, it could get noisy around dinner time and early in the morning. I would advise to bring earphones if you’re a light sleeper – just in case. Cocos 4 has rooms with balconies facing the beach. In Cocos 3, most rooms seemed to have balconies but it’s unclear if the beach can be seen from them since the building is in the middle and fairly low. Cocos 1 and 2 only have very few select rooms that have balconies at all. All the balconies face the beach but some are much closer than others. In Cocos 2, there are only 4 rooms that have balconies, 2 are right on the beach, and 2 a bit further in, but the beach is still visible. Cocos 1 has 7-8 rooms with balconies facing the beach, however, one of the balconies actually looks into the roof of the dining hall, so that one wouldn’t be so good. There are also 2 penthouses in Cocos 1, at the very top of the right wing – rooms 1501 and 1502. 1501 balcony faces the beach and probably has the nicest view. I wouldn’t recommend staying at Cocos 5 – it only has ground level rooms and no balconies – its only plus is that it’s right on the beach.
The rooms themselves are nice – I didn’t bother taking any pictures, the hotel ones are true to what the rooms and the resort looks like. There is a choice between 2 double beds or 1 king bed, and you can make a request when you book. Our request was fulfilled when we asked for a room with a king bed. Everything was clean and it had all the amenities needed. The bed was comfy enough. The pressure of the water in the shower was a bit low, but plenty of hot water. You do not get any shampoo or conditioner, so bring your own. Also bring lots of sunscreen cause it’s very expensive there. There is a TV in the room, as well as a safety deposit box, but you have to get the key from the reception and it costs 230 pesos. The hotel is not responsible for any loss if your valuables are not in the safety box. Pets are not allowed. You get maid service every day and if you don’t wish to have a maid clean your room, just put a Do Not Disturb sign on your door and leave it there for the day.
The grounds of the resort are very beautiful and well maintained. There was staff everywhere always cleaning, making repairs and maintaining the grounds. There are 3 pools that are open until 6 p.m. (no night swimming allowed). You get beach towels at the resort so no need to bring your own. There are many activities for the kids every day in the snack-bar area, as well as games to rent. If you wish to play tennis you must have tennis shoes (they won’t let you play barefoot).
There is no spa at the resort but they do offer massages that you can book through reception. It’s 400 pesos for 60 min for shiatsu and deep tissue and 350 pesos for relaxation massage. There is also a guy offering massages on the beach and he charges the same prices – we each got a 30 min massage for 200 pesos. There are a few places in town that also offer massages for a bit cheaper.

Food and Drink
There are 2 buffet-style restaurants at Cocos 1 (largest one) and Cocos 2 (smaller), and one a la carte restaurant (La Bamba – steak and seafood) at Cocos 3. La Bamba requires reservations which start at 8 am at Cocos 5. The restaurant is fairly small so the reservations fill up very quickly, we were there at 7:55 and there was already a line up. We went once to see how it is, and honestly, it’s not worth getting up early just for that. We each had a different steak (New York and Sirloin), New York was too fatty and chewy, sirloin was too thin to be done properly. The seafood you can get most days at the buffet-style restaurants or on the beach in front of the resort, so it wasn’t anything special. The drinks are the same as you would get at any bar or buffet-style restaurant. If we go again, we won’t bother with the a la carte. The buffet style restaurants have a great selection, the food is of good quality, and there is a different theme every day, so you won’t get bored. There are always fresh fruit and veggie selections as well. My only complaint was that their coffee was pretty bad, but I like strong coffee (espresso), so it could be just me. If you like strong coffee, there is a place in town called Tres Banderas (Three Flags) that has a very good espresso and cappuccino. You’ll recognize it when you see a wall full of books – they do book exchanges (English and Spanish).
On the beach there are many vendors selling delicious goodies as well – there are fresh oysters, which they open for you right when you order them – with lime and chili, they were delicious. There are grilled shrimp and fish on a stick, fresh fruits (pineapples, coconuts and mangoes), fresh donuts, nuts, ceviche, tamales, corn on the cob (slathered in cream and cheese) and tacos – all super delicious. In town you can get freshly squeezed fruit juices on almost every corner as well as grilled chicken and other things.
If you’re looking for a different dining experience, try the nearby Vista Guayabitos restaurant (check out my review there), it’s a 5 min walk up the hill from the resort. The restaurant is high up on a hill so it has incredible views – the food and drinks are comparable to Canadian prices, so expensive compared to other places in town, but the view is very much worth it.
The drinks at the bars are average - nothing great, since they use lots of syrups and artificial juices, but at least the cocktail selection is vast. They serve the drinks in plastic cups, but we saw lots of people that brought their own travel mugs to drink out of - I guess so they don't have to walk to the bar so much.

Staff
The staff at the resort are excellent – they are very helpful and courteous and always smiling. Tips are appreciated and accepted – 10-15% is good. We would leave about 20-40 pesos after every meal and about that much for the maid per day.

Beach
The beach is very long and very wide, and although at Christmas time it was very busy, it was nowhere near a point where you didn't have space to put your towel or to find a chair to sit on at the resort. Many people would get up early and reserve their chairs by putting their towels on them, but most days we’d just show up whenever and there was always a free chair. There are many people selling trinkets on the beach – bracelets, silver, rugs, masks, hair braiding, etc. If you’re not interested, just smile and say “No gracias” and they’ll leave you alone – they are not pushy at all – in fact they are super friendly even when you say no. The water in the morning is much higher (the tide goes back in the evening) and cleaner. Also, the fishing boats come in the morning and the fishermen sell their fish directly to the locals, who then grill it themselves right on the beach. There are a TON of pelicans on the beach in the morning (they leave during the day cause there are too many people), and it’s funny to watch them try to get some of the fishermen's fish. The water was very nice and calm, there was only one day that the waves were a bit high. The resort is in a bay, so that shields the shore from having too rough waters.

Town
The town of Rincon de Guayabitos is very small (see map) but also very lovely. It’s a resort town so there are many hotels and restaurants, and it mostly caters to Mexicans. If you’re looking for an authentic Mexico experience, this is it. You are not isolated in the resort with only other tourists – you get to see and experience the local culture. There is a big market on Mondays.
Very close by to Guayabitos is a little town of La Penita, which is walkable from Guayabitos in about 30 minutes (the walk is very nice and gives you a chance to see both towns). Taxi is about 7 pesos per person. La Penita has an even bigger market every Thursday, so we walked there to check it out. The prices are better for rugs and silver than from the guys selling it on the beach. There’s lots of fresh fruit and veggies as well. We walked back from La Penita to Guayabitos on the beach.

Activities
The resort offers buses for 280 pesos (25 Canadian dollars) to Puerta Vallarta on Wednesdays and Fridays only. Otherwise a taxi is about 60 CAD one way. You leave at 9 and return at 5:30 (leave PV at 4 p.m.), so you get about 5 hours to check out the city. I would recommend going if you haven’t been before, the city is very lovely, the walkway along the beach is nice and the old town very charming.
The other thing we did was whale watching. There are many guys selling whale watching tours on the beach and the prices are the same for all – 200 pesos per person for about 2.5 hour tour. They have some tours that include snorkeling, but we only did whale watching. We went with a company on the beach called Fiesta Guayabitos, on the party boat (bigger boat since I was afraid of getting sick on the small one), but they have smaller boats as well. They go every morning at 10:30 a.m. or 11 a.m. for the bigger boat. We were happy with this company and saw lots of whales.
There are other tours you can book at the hotel, like zip lining and horseback riding.

Practical Information
Rincon de Guayabitos is one hour behind Puerta Vallarta so effectively 2 hours behind Toronto. When you arrive there will be people at the airport pointing you to the right bus – make sure you tell them you’re going to Los Cocos, because there are other Decameron hotels in PV. You’ll have to wait for all the people for Los Cocos to board the bus before you can leave, for us, this took about 1 hour. Since we arrived at the resort after dinner we each got a welcome package with some food inside when we checked in. The bellboy will take you to your room after you check in. You’ll get a package on the bus with tour information and your orientation session will be the next morning around 10 a.m. The resort exchanges ONLY Canadian money to pesos (they DO NOT exchange American $) – the rate was 11.50 to 1 when we were there in Dec 2012. There is no wi-fi, you can pay 30 pesos for one hour of internet and there are computers in the lobby – you can use your internet code until your time expires.

Overall this was a very nice resort for the price and it offers an authentic Mexican experience

Room Tip: There are 5 different hotels, Cocos 1-5, as shown on the map. Cocos 1, 2 and 5 are right on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are repeat customers of Nolitours and the DeCameron Los Cocos. We have vacationed there twice a winter for 5 years. We went the 2nd week of Dec 2012 and were disappointed. There are normally 3 resturants to choose from. Only the buffet as open. If you tried to eat after 8 at night there was very little food left to choose from. During the day there was only one bar open. One of the beach bars never opened. The sailboat had no sails. They brought in a new one the last day we were there but never unwrapped the shipping paper off of it. We were not allowed to take the kayaks out of the swimming area. This is ridicules as it made it dangerous for the swimmers. The staff was very good. The beach club was very good. The bartenders at the beach bar that was open were overworked and cranky. There was no attempt for the staff of the beach activities to speak any English. Because of this we were unaware of the shows at the disco. We couldn’t understand the announcements. I do not blame the people working this resort. I believe we should be made aware when we book that we won’t have all the services at the resort that we paid. When I see a brochure of what is available at a resort and find that when I get there less than half are open, I feel this is false advertising.

Cc: Nolitours

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VanIsle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have been coming back to Decameron for years and will again this year for New years.
If your looking for a true Mexican atmosphere then Coco's could be for you. If your looking to spend your holiday on a private beach with other US and Can guests only then Coco's might not be for you.
We love the Mexican people and Coco's does fill up with Mexican family's on the weekends and holidays but for us that is the true charm of Coco's. By Monday all the weekend worriers have gone and your left with mostly Canadians and your thoughts for the week. By the time the next weekend comes your ready and waiting for the Mexican family's to show up and show you how to have some fun. They share their wonderful country not unlike we Canadians share ours, truly a very generous and accommodating people. We love the small fishing village feel and feel very safe walking around Guayabitos day or night.
Yes the resort might be 2.5 stars but the staff is 5 stars for sure and although the place is not brand new it has always been very clean. We don't speak Spanish but have learned some over the years and the fun of trying to communicate with hand gestures makes Coco's what it is. You are in their country and they speak Spanish, you want English only then stick to Florida.
The beach in front of Coco's has many huts and beach chairs for hotel guests only. We spend much time in the water and leave our belongings on our chairs and have never had anything go missing, have never heard of anyone else's belongings go missing. In all our years we have never used the in room safe and have never needed it.
We have taken many tours and they all left from the hotel. Last year was a visit to San Blas and a boat ride on the La Tovara river to see the crocodiles.
The sand at the beach is very nice and the best part is the hotel is in a nice protected cove where you get very little wave action. Two pluses with that, my wife is not a great swimmer so the ability to enjoy the water without having to worry about large swells is nice, and the fact all the fisherman and boating activity takes place not far from the hotel because the boats all overnight in the protective cove makes for some interesting people watching. Some of those boys can really throw a boat around.
So in short if your looking for an all English holiday with McDonald's and Burger King on the corner then Coco's might not be for you, if your looking for late night eateries and nightlife then Coco's might not be for you.
But if your looking to immerse yourself in Mexican culture and heritage, and might want to head out in the early morning and help a fisherman load some of his catch then Coco's just might be for you, it certainly is for me!!!!!

Room Tip: The newest and biggest rooms are in Coco's 4. We prefer Coco's 1 with a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MikeCam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Within 24 hours of checking in we checked out and moved at our expense to another resort. As a traveler make sure to do your homework for the Hotel Decameron Los Cocos. Make sure this resort is right for you and your family before you book as it as it has some very unique characteristics.

We left for Mexico on Dec 8, 2012. This was our seventh trip to Mexico. For this trip we used the website Ydeals.com. On the search engine we typed in that we were looking for a resort quality of four stars or better and the dates. This resort Hotel Decameron Los Cocos came up on Ydeals as an amazing resort, four stars, and a rating of 80. The Ydeals website said “Less than 1% of deals reach a score of 80 or higher”. After flying down to PV we checked in the afternoon of Dec 8 and knew we were in trouble.

Both our rooms were placed in the economy section (see photo attached). It looked like a work shed or tool shed in the corner of the complex near a demolition/construction site. Sets of vertical security bars covered the windows. The room did not have a main door but only a sliding patio door. Our room/suite is the white buiding in the photo. Everyone we have shown the photos have reacted with either shock, laughter or both.

After checking in, we went to the front desk and said we think there's been some mistake. We booked four stars or better and paid nearly $3000 for three people, two rooms, for the trip. The hotel manager told us that the resort was only rated three stars (we would guess 2-2.5) and we received the rooms we paid for thru our booking. They did show us another room in a better area of the resort. However, they would only move one of the two rooms even though the resort was not full. Given it was a pretty rough and isolated area of the resort we thought we best stay together and not separate the family. We sent an email off to Ydeals with a photo of our accommodations and asked for help.

We decided to make the most of it until the Air Transat/Nolitours representative arrived the following morning and we went exploring the resort. The first thing we noticed was that this was a very Mexican resort. 90% of the guests at the resort were local Mexican vacationers. The entertainment was all pure Spanish no English or other languages were spoken. This is not a bad thing, but again understand ahead of time and decide if this works for you and your family. The beach is nice, calm, but is a fully public beach not private beach. The resort does not have an area for the specific use of resort guests or beach chairs assigned for guest use. We were warned about watching our belongings and any contents of travel bags while on the beach as they were at risk. The food quality was pretty good but the alcohol quality was poor. The rooms do not have hair dryers or shampoo so bring your own – they provide a couple bars of soap and towels but that’s it. The rooms have a safe but you have to pay for the key at a cost of $27 Can/US per week per room. The safe is optional but is recommended by others as well as by the resort staff.

The resort is right in the town of Guayabitos. The main street runs thru the resort. It was almost like the resort had purchased several city blocks, all the buildings within the city blocks, and then decided to the paint the resorts distinctive paint color scheme on all the buildings to form the resort. Some areas of the resort were nice and around a 3 star quality and some areas were “get me out of here” quality. We went to the nightly entertainment at the resort. It had very little English content but still good to watch if you don’t mind really bad lip-syncing or quite often they wouldn’t even bother to try and sing along. I stepped out to get a bite to eat at 9:30 p.m. I asked the front desk to ask where I could grab a bite to eat. I was looking for a snack bar. The front desk told me to wait until breakfast or go find a vendor down the street. No problem as we had a bag of chips in the room, but heads up if you get the munchies after 9 p.m.

We ran into a few really nice Canadian couples who really liked the Hotel Decameron. They had been there several times. They asked our opinion and we showed them the iPhone photos of our rooms. They both were surprised and went to the hotel management and they even asked that we be moved. One couple said they thought we were “complainers” until they physically walked over and looked at our rooms and location within the resort and were very surprised. They knew the manager and asked him about moving us. Again they were told they would move only one of the two rooms.

We did not hear back from Ydeals via email (still have not). The Airtransat/Nolitours representative arrived at 11 a.m. the next morning. I showed him our photos, reviewed with him what we had booked, what we had paid, and asked him to help us out of this resort. I told him to look into their “sister” resort - the Royal Decameron in Bucerias about 45 km south.

The Airtransat/Nolitours representative was holding a travel briefing for new arrivals at 11:30 a.m. and we attended. One of the issues that came out of the briefing was that tours were not available from the resort as it was too far north from P.V. Guests were responsible to get themselves to the tour locations via taxi if they wished to go on tours. Tour companies did not come to the resort. A couple of specific tours options were available but at least eight guests had to form a group for a tour to be considered. Again this is another area to understand before you book if tours are important to you.

After the travel briefing the Airtransat/Nolitours representative said we could transfer to the Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta (Bucerias) for an additional cost of $342.00 for the remainder of the week for two rooms and we would be responsible for the taxi ride to the new resort. The taxi ride was $450 Pesos ($40 Can/US). The resort wanted to get us out by 1 p.m. so they could clean our rooms and probably re-fill them with new guests. Personally, I think they should have put caution tape in that area and closed it for guests. We left early that afternoon for the Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta (Bucerias). We lost a day of our trip, paid extra money, but the move was worth it for us. Again this is up to you and your family depending on what you are looking for as a vacation experience.

Summary: understand this resort before you book it. This was our 7th trip to Mexico and this resort is different. The hotel management states it is a three star. The best areas in this resort might be classified as a three star if you stretch it but almost all other areas are lower. The resort has both nice areas and areas you do not want to locate in (trust me). 90% of the guests when we were there were Mexican and the entertainment is structured and caters to these guests. No typical Mexico resort beach area but a public beach area crowded and busy. The beach is still nice as long as you don’t venture too far one way or the other. We went for an evening walk and found if you ventured too far you got a heavy sewage or heavy fish smell – so best to stay close to the resort itself. We were told by some that there is no sewage treatment so they would never go too deep in the water and would not chance swallowing any of the sea water. No tours are available from this area if that is important to you. The food was good and drinks were poor and it was initially difficult to figure out where to get a drink. No welcoming drink upon arrival. It was not for us and unless you can be guaranteed not to be placed in the low quality area of the resort I would not chance it. Once we were placed in the low quality area of the resort we were stuck and checked out. If you are going to spend the money looking to stay at a 4 star or better resort and are hoping and expecting to be treated like a 4 star resort or even 3 star for that matter I would suggest you be cautious about this one.

Room Tip: Do your research on this resort first. Room quality varies greatly. Bring your shampoo and hair dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank HappyintheSuneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent another delightful week at Los Cocos in Guayabitos. This is a small resort - older buildings but spotlessly clean - in an authentic rural village over an hour north of Puerto Vallarta. The resort caters to Mexican holidaymakers from the larger cities of Guadalajara, Leon and Aguascalientes - Mexican extended families with lots of children. It's a great place to meet the locals. Bring your kids along with you - there are daily activities for children and the kids will come home speaking Spanish!
Bring your own shampoo, hair dryer.... and I'd recommend you bring a two prong adapter in your luggage for chargers as some rooms have few electrical outlets.... and they are all two-prong. I also carry a small extension cord for when outlets are placed inconveniently.
For a preview of nightly entertainment at the hotel, see youtube.com/user/kaelithekool
If you are planning a holiday at Los Cocos and have specific question, don't hesitiate to contact me.
We LOVE Los Cocos.

Room Tip: Many Canadians request Building Four but the best building on the beach is Building One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AlexFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned from one week at Decameron Los Cocos on Nov.24th, 2012. This was the second trip to this resort for my wife and I, the first for the other four people with us. They all really liked it there. We have all been to Royal Decameron a few times. The food is almost as good as RC. In some cases better.There is only 1 a la carte. But the buffets were always good. One person in our group really enjoyed the breakfasts at the buffet up at Cocos 4. We all ate there every morning. The lady ( Martha) at the grill will make you pancakes, omelets, eggs, bacon to order. Our waiter Guibran is always happy and smiling and eager learn English. He always trys hard even to the point of using an electronic translater. Our waitress Letannia (I may have spelled this wrong) equally eager to please. They work very long hours and deserve a few pesos here and there.(including Martha).

Our first time there we stayed in the regular rooms. They are quite nice. Not to be confused with the economy rooms. I would try to avoid those. This time we stayed in the Superior rooms up in Cocos 4. Maybe 2or 3 minutes walk from the beach, but higher up. The view from our room of the bay was well worth it. There is also a pool their. Much quieter there usually. I ventured in to my knees and had enough. Compared to the ocean, which was the warmest I have ever experienced in at least 10 trips to Mexico was much more inviting.
The weather for that week Nov 17-24 was at least 30 C and for the most part sunny everyday. The people in Guayabitos are very friendly. There is a lot of local people on the beach some days just enjoying life.You can walk along the beach to a point at La Penita. But may not be able to cross the inlet if the water is high. But a nice walk. I found the beach easy to walk because it's more flat than others. Easier on the ankles.
Also if you want to eat out. We went down the beach about 5-10 minutes to Salavtor's Rest. My brother in law and I had the all you can eat garllic shrimp. WOW. It was absolutely amazing. Others had the Mahi Mahi. Equally as delicious. Salvator will go out of his way to make sure you enjoy yourself. We asked him earlier in the week about coffee shop and we couldn't find it He led us from the restaurant about two blocks right to the coffee shop and introduced us to the owner. Which also has very good cappicino and cinnamon buns.
If you want to go to La Penita to shop it only cost about $20 pesos or 2 dollars per person to take the 10 minute taxi ride. If you go take Pesos or Canadian. We took $6000 pesos about $500 Canadian between my wife and I. Had some left over but we've been there many times and don't need any more stuff. If your going to eat out alot and take a few excursions then you'll need more. We probably spent $200 on tips. These hard working people don't make much money and really appreciate the tips. Especially the maids. We gave our maid $50 Pesos per day. 7 nights $35.00 no big deal. Just leave it on the bed when you go for breakfast.

For the price we paid $ 891.00 including taxes each ( plus spending) you can't go wrong. The only other thing I can say is if you haven't been to this area before you may want to go the Royal Decameron. It's closer to Puerto Vallarta and is maybe a bit nicer. So if you want to go to PV for touring and shopping around, night life etc. DLC is a bit far. If you want to kick back and relax and have been to PV and done that maybe try DLC. I've been to RD 4 times and DLC 2 times. They re simililar in price. RC is about 25 minutes from the airport. DLC is about 1 hour. I personally prefer DLC but you can't really go wrong with either one.

Now the negatives.

If you a beer drinker no problem. If you like rum. My brother in law purchased a bottle of rum at the duty free shop at the airport. He just put some in a pop bottle we went to the bars on the resort. The other drinks are really just mixes. The tequila also sucks. The red wine is also not very good. My advice, purchase a few bottles of wine at the duty free shop. This is also the same at RD as well. When you travel on a budget you can't expect everything.
No big deal you can buy your own at a store if you like. At least the food is good.
The other problem , which has nothing to do with the travel agent really, is the airport. Everytime we have to stand in line at the airport in Puerta Vallarta for 1-2 hours while they search your luggage. They could at least organize the way you arrive at the airport so there is only a few people in line at a time instead of a few hundred. This airport has gone through some changes but more are needed.
If you shop make sure you don't go over you 20 kilo weight limit. They really hose you and this IS the airline. (air transat). They also changed our departure time after we booked to a few hours later. Meaning when we got to the resort it was dark. 7 pm or so.
On a positive note the plane was new with a tv screen in the seat in front of you so you could watch movies or tv shows from a nice variety. The food is rather bland. It's not hard to put a little seasoning in...really ! I also refuse to use my credit card to buy a drink on the plane. If they can't except my Canadian currency they won't get my business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed 1 week in mid january 2012 then came back for two more weeks end of feburary, service was outstanding, and ala carte was the best ever, stayed in cocos 4 adult section, room was always clean , this was our 12 th trip to los cocos and will keep coming god willing, have booked 1st two weeks of janurary and last two weeks of feburary in 2013, i'm pumped already can't come soon enough.

Room Tip: cocos 4 is a few more dollars but well worth it, adult pool and bar, 2 mins from beach a little quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank douglas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torreblanca Suites
Torreblanca Suites
#3 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $149 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing