We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star resort with 5 star heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Los Cocos in February as a family (two boys ages 12 and 15).

- The food was fantastic. We especially liked La Bamba. You can go there as many times as you want to wake up at 7:00 am to book.

- The staff was very accomodating. Always pleasant and helpful.

- We somehow got a room with three beds. That allowed our boys to have their own beds - very nice.

- The rooms are not fancy but clean enough.

- The activities were fun but there was no real set time for them. We've been at other resorts where beach volleyball is at 11:00 am, for example - which is handy when planning the day.

- Nice that there are kayaks (even if you have to stay in the roped area) and free catamaram rides (book a time at the kayak tent).

- My boys wanted to play water polo but the nets were chained up. Because of the language barrier we weren't able to figure out why and how we could set up a game.

- The nightly shows varied - everything from contests (not a lot of production value) to full themed dancing productions (very good).

- As other reviewers have said - there are a lot of Mexican families who come to this resort. That made the trip unique for us.

- We also liked the Mexican authenticity of Guayabitos. We walked around a lot and always felt safe.

- The market on Mondays in the town is good.

- Two of us did zip-lining (booked through the hotel) and had a great time.

In summary - if you are looking for nightlife, this is the not the place for you. If you are looking for Mexican authenticity and relaxation and don't require posh accomodations, you will enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: There are rooms with three beds (in Cocos 1 for sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SK_Sun_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful stay at this little resort. Off the beaten track and located in the village of Rincon de Guayabitos, I was quite pleasantly surprised. The staff and service really adds another star to this little gem, top notch, better than the 5 stars I have stayed at elsewhere ! The food was good, not excellent, but definitely not bad at all, just lacking in variety. The beer was tasty and cold, the mixed drinks though were made with premade mixes and cheap no name liquor. Beds were hard like most hotels in Mex. Would we come back, yes, if only to experience some of the best service in Mex and visit a fun, safe village far away from the 'Vallarta' scene.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachgringoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Los Cocos the week of March 31st to April 7th, 2012, and the Santa Semana celebrations were in full swing!

We were in Block 4, and the room was large, well-cleaned and well-situated (easy access to the private adult pool, La Bamba Restaurant (breakfast and lunch and “booked” for supper reservations – the only a la carte on the resort.)

Although we were very impressed with the people of Mexico (incredibly family-oriented, pleasant, lively, and polite), we did find our hotel block noisy – some of it the result of the week’s festivities (brass band competitions), and some of it due to the traffic. Walk around and enjoy the town!

As others have mentioned, the cultural experience of this hotel is really a highlight. Try the oysters, Mexican candy, and Mexican “doritos” (the puffed stuff you put salsa and lemon on) from the vendors at the beach.

If flying back to Calgary, a hospitality room is provided because of the late departure time. If you want to use the complimentary room to shower and get ready later in the day (so you don’t have to just sit around in beach clothes or try to extend your check-out time) make your way down to the reception/currency change desk by 7:15 the morning of your departure so you can get a decent half-hour time slot (one a little later in the day).

Bring Canadian dollars. Not American. They are currently not changing American dollars into pesos – you might have to go Penita to exchange American currency.

As mentioned previously, buy a “floatie” from a vendor in town or on the beach your first day so you can provide yourself a little bit of a cushion between yourself and your deck chair. The “beach club” is a nice little get-away to a quieter beach area. Be sure to take advantage of it if you like to spend time at the beach.

Bring a cup that will be a little larger and one that will keep your drinks covered and cold.

Again, hotel staff is extremely helpful, hard working and courteous. The food is excellent and this resort is excellent value for your money! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JimCalgary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I arrived at DLC on Saturday 3 PM in the Afternoon March 31 after an hour long bus ride and clearing customs at a very very busy Puerto Vallarta International Airport.The first day was a right off as i was catching up on zzzzs from having basically no sleep it was a 6.35 AM Saturday Morning flight out and i had worked Friday and then got a ride to YVR at 12 AM Saturday Morning and hung around waiting like a lot of other people for the 3.30 AM Air Transat TS 760 Pre Flight Check In.The hotel check was held outside in Fiscus Square quick and efficient with geusts being given their room key(on a chain..smart idea) and bath towel card.I was in Room 3105 in Cocos 3 next to the Tennis Court it was a narrow but long ground floor room that probably 3 or 4 people could stay in.It had a kichen sink/bar/living room and a Queen size bed with a shower and bathroom plus a TV that must have had sattelite i watched part of a ESPN NHL Hockey telecast between The NY Rangers and Pittsburgh Penguins...it felt a wee bit strange watching some hockey in such a hot and beautiful location.The Room Maid staff and her Supervisor did an excellent job in keeping the rooms clean and tidy and looking after any needs that i or my neighbours Helen,Shirley and Bruce might require.The entire staff especially the Maintenance/handymen worked very hard from Sunday Apil 1 to Wednesday 4 getting the entire place looking like a crown jewel for The six Air Transat Brass who were inspecting the entire place.This was a job that they did exceptionally well because the Sun was blazing hot over those couple of days.I had a problem with the lock on my sliding and toilet i was immediately given a replacement key by The nice Front Office lady who spoke excellent English she then rightaway sent down a handy man to fix the toilet.I felt throughout my entire stay whether at La Canoa Restaurant or La Bamba Steak House e.t.c. that i was getting treated by the entire staff like a good friend or Family member you can't ask for any better than that!A big thanks from me to Ramon Cardenas Urena(The General manager) to Vincent The Nolitours Rep from Quebec to the head of the Animation/Entertainment staff who participated and held the MR Sexy Decameron Los Cocos..ha!ha!ha! on Sunday April 1st show to all the fluid,graceful and athletic dancers who on the Friday night on April 6 stretched out their muscles calfs,thighs by the balcony in behind at the table before they did their 1950's style show ala Grease where i was having my last cervazas at. I could've have used some tips or advice on stretching from these Dancers before i went snorkelling Friday because i pulled my calf muscle into a tight ball swimming on the island across from the beach (ouch!!).To summarize my stay there my stay was a blast and if anyone can't have a lot of fun there than they probably can't anywhere i thought that i couldn't my stay at Varadero in Cuba for feeling totally energized alive boy was i was wrong! I will hopefully like to have the chance to visit this beautiful hotel and all of it's friendly staff somewhere down wherever the yellow brick road of life takes me Yours Sincerely Alistair Black.

Room Tip: Ear plugs... you might just need them the party almost never ends at this hotel..lol!!! :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This resort offers great food and great service. The staff is extremely accommodating and fun. Bring earplugs as you are in the town of Guayabitos and there are barking dogs and crowing roosters at the crack of dawn. You should also bring cheap air mattresses as the poolside chairs are hard plastic and not very comfortable. This resort is definitely a five star when it comes to the food and service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cocos 1 but we were told Cocos 4 was quieter. We were above the kitchen so it did get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Decameron los cocos was one of the best vacation we have been on. It is the only one, so far, that I was not ready to come home from after one week. We had not been to the pacific side of Mexico before as we love the Riviera Maya and Carribean, but this was truley enjoyable. The water was really warm and Guayabitos was truley authentic, with very happy, friendly people. The resort was spotlessly clean, service quick and friendly. The food was good at all times specially bbq night we really enjoyed, but was surprised there was no bacon or sausages for breakfast and almost everything had onions in it. My personal dislike for onions caused me to be limited, but there was something for everyone. We ate at the alacarte and it was great, we had the new york steak and the ribs. We had reservations at 830pm but went at 630 and were able to be seated. You must go to Salvadores down the beach, great shrimp. If you want "live" music dont go to Latitude 21, it is more like kareoke. (See my seperate review for it). There were many vendors walking the beach and coming up to you trying to sell their items. They were not pushy but I could see how some would find it annoying as there are hundreds of people with the same items for sale. If you've got 1 selling silver, you've got another 10 selling the same items and they just keep coming all day long. We didnt mind it, we just said, "no gracias" and they just walked away. We felt it added to the authenticity of the area and our vacation. We read about it before we went so knew what to expect. We could have lived without the animation team loudness during the day, now that was really annoying, but it didnt ruin our vacation. Drinks were all good, try the banana mama. One thing I dont understand is when I read that the drinks were weak. It really doesnt make any sense, it is an all inclusive!! Tell them how much to put in it!!. We will definately return, it was a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grateful_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Terrific staff, excellent food and best entertainment of all the many resorts we have been to on this coast. Probably will stick with this resort and keep going every year. New beach club is a big improvement.
Still like the market in La Penita and appreciate the market on Sunday in Guayabitos.

Wonderful place for a holiday.

A lot of the beach activities seem unnecessary and sometimes annoying but one can move away or go to the Beach club.
my friend celebrated a big birthday there in La Bamba many thanks to all who made it such a great occasion.

Room Tip: Try Bdg 4 away from the disco. Hwy at the back is a little noisy ..or maybe bdg 3 top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleneComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#12 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
#4 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $168 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing