We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My finance and I stayed Dec 18-30, 2007 It was his first ever trip to Mexico my 3rd. I always try to book smaller, more personal hotels. The Los Cocos gave us everything and more than we expected considering we were there over Christmas which is a very busy time. The room was cleaned to very good standards every day and there were always some personal touch from the maid. I don't think the tip we left her everyday had any bearing on the cleanliness. We stayed in Cocos 1 on the 2nd floor. Our Balcony overlooked the back garden and the staff entrance to the kitchen, not ideal if you are a light sleeper or like to sleep the morning away. Neither was an issue for us. For the amount of time you spend in the room it was more than just adequate it was great. For the size of the hotel the staff are exceptional at making you feel at home. they remember names, drinks, what you like to drink for dinner. We did not use the ala carte just the buffet and were never disappointed. There was always something different to try. The one thing I was not totally impressed with was the hotels insistance that you book tour through them and not the guys on the beach. Rip Off .. if you do go to this resort.. please please please look for Rudy on the beach (pic posted) he is the most honest, and trust worthy person we met. We booked our Jungle tour through him as well as Jamurca which are natural hotsprings in the mountains. He provides far superior service and actually knows the area and the people and you get the BEST on your tour. I highly recommend his Jungle tour even if it does leave the hotel at 6 am lol.. you are FIRST on the mangroves which means no one has disturbed the birds, iguanas or GATORS. He knows the BEST banana bread maker and it is included, as well as lunch at the BEST restaurant and well, just the BEST day ever. I can not say how much we enjoyed our time with him. He took us to his home and to the beach in the town he lives in. Rudy can book you with the most reliable guys on the beach for whale watching, fishing, rides out to Isla Corales or any other kind of tour you would like. I could go on forever about this place.. yes it is a 3 star.. if you are going to critique the rooms etc.. don't go.. spend double the money and go to a 5 star.. If what you want is great relaxation, sunshine and great SERVICE then you have the best here in the dec. los cocos.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Angells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2007

We stayed at this resort December 8-22,2007 This was the second visit for myself and my mom,first for my husband. We had a large room in Cocos 4 again. A friendly note left for housekeeping always resulted in 3 bottles of water each day. I personally find the firm beds quite comfy. All the staff we came in contact with were very polite and accommodating. It was great to see so many familiar faces too.

Yes,the adult pool at Cocos 4 is cold,but so refreshing to cool off (jump right in,the only way to do it!) while suntanning. The meals always had a large and varied selection and nobody left the table hungry. I miss Sandra making our omelettes at La Bamba in the morning! The entertainment each evening was excellent. I noticed a larger variety of costumes and added dance numbers since my last visit in March 2005. Such energy and talent. They definitely earn every penny. As do all the staff.

The beach club is a lovely spot,despite the vendors during the first hour or so. I can still hear one fellow saying "Massage! You want a massage?" Such fun! Market Day in La Penita was a great experience at this time of year;super busy. We took the Puerto Vallarta day trip arranged through the tour rep at the hotel. I even sampled all 4 flavors of tequila at the little factory enroute. Think my favorite had to be the coffee/chocolate blend. I I don't even drink coffee! Go figure.

Despite a supposed 12 noon checkout on our last day,we Did have the use of our room til the shuttle to the airport left at 9:15pm as part of our package. This was wonderful,being able to shower and change into our winter clothes just before departure,rather than earlier in the hot afternoon.

We had a wonderful holiday and would go back in a heartbeat. Remember,your holiday is what you make it,so go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank rici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

dirty; small; unsafe;geiko's in room; not much English spoken; loud A/C if they worked; cheap - but if its money you need to save, then wait an extra year and spend more to stay elsewhere. This is rated as a 3 star, I would say 2 star!

  • Stayed: February 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank libra7625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Stayed at the Decameron Los Cocos Dec. 15-22 with our 3 teenage kids, who helped create some of that other noise on Monday and Thursday nights. (sorry about that) Many reviews have covered things we agree with so I'll try not double up comments to much.

We booked this place on a sale and I think we got great value for our money, except for the terrible Air Transat trip with no leg room a lousy food.

Staff was great not one complaint even the gardeners and repair men where friendly. Our kids where saying Hola to all of them and all replied Hola. Take some US $1 or get some 10 or 20 peso coins/bills for tips as mentioned that will go along ways for them and they will remember you next time you need them.

Stayed the first night in Cocos 2 dispite purchasing a room upgrade when booking. Those rooms were noisy and had a odor to them. We got move to Cocos 4 the next morning and other than lots of stairs the room was much better. We had friends in Cocos 1 and it sounded OK too. Book Cocos 4 superior rooms or Cocos 1 standard rooms don't book economy rooms in Cocos 2, 3 or 5 The other hint I will give to help with some of the nightly noise is run the AC or even just the fan all the time you will get use to the sound and it will muffle some of the other noises. In general hotel was clean but needs a face lift.

Food was OK not great no one got sick. You can always find something good to eat they had some great ribs and chicken cooked fresh right of the grill a couple times.

Loved the Mexican feel of the area, over 80% of vacationers in Rincon are from Mexico. Went to Sayulita and the beach club. Beach club was great wish we had gone twice. Beach at the hotel was OK, but was fairly crowed at times and noisy with boats, PA etc. Took the island/snorkeling trip kids liked it, but I've snorkeled in the Caribbean and wasn't impressed

Went to La Penita twice once for the market. Unlike most I could do with out there market day, there wasn't much going on that you couldn't find at the little shops or from beach venders.

Bank and cash machines in La Penita gives better exchange rates than hotel, many said don't use the cash machine in Rincon.

Major dislikes Mexican garbage and dogs every where. Both problems need cleaned up and the dogs don't help the garbage problem by going through it. The edge of the highways, streets and open lots are a complete disaster with garbage. This is not a tourist caused problem as some may say it simply having a little pride in your community or country.

Great place for people of all ages, good valve for a 3 star, friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank riders_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

We stayed at Los Cocos December 15-22, 2007 after vacationing there six years ago. Although the town of Guayibitos is changing. much of the small town feel remains.
First the good news. We stayed in Cocos 4 again (Superior room) which is large and had a second floor view of the ocean. Try to get floor three or four and do the stairs if you want to look at the sea every morning. Rooms are starting to show their age.
Check-in, departure, and employee service throughout the week was very good. Employees, despite low wages and long days, smiled and were helpful throughout. Tip when you can - $50 bucks to us is nothing but to the employees that amount helps a great deal when you are making $10 a day or less.
We visited the Beach Club twice which is a can't miss if you like beach and the Pacific. Children won't be going in the water here as the waves are not huge but would be impossible for young ones.
The Thursday market in La Penita is another can't miss if you appreciate that type of flavor. We also visited the town on Saturday which was also great as it was then 95% locals which changed the cultural experience.
Most don't travel to the town in the other direction called Los Ayala. It is a 20 minute walk or a collectivo (van) for 10 pesos or a buck. There is a good beach and some restaurants. Once again - a great cultural experience but this is small town Mexico not Cancun. We spent $30 for 4 to go the island on a boat tour.
From Los Cocos beach you will look to the left and see a building perched up on the rocks called Vistas Guayabitos restaurant. You can walk there in 10-15 minutes and the views are amazing. Our food was tasty (four people) and with six drinks cost us $75. We would go back in a heart-beat: everything clean and food was good. If nothing else, go up there for a drink ($2 a beer or $1 a soft drink), get some photo ops, and relax.
Now the concerns that you should be aware of if considering booking. The biggest was the noise level.
If you stay in Cocos four, be aware that the disco goes late and the bass will rock your walls. The "after party" then continues for a while and just when you are getting to sleep, the roosters start. We lived the warnings of other reviews and had limited sleep 4-5 nights. If you are reading this and you are ready to rock until dawn, Los Cocos is not Cancun but you will find people looking to see the sunrise. If you are 40 plus looking for 7-8 hours a night, be warned. Noise level at the beach is excessive for three-four hours a day. The commercial scrubber which started up at 12:30 a.m. right under our window wasn't appreciated either. Why should a guest have to phone the desk to ask to have that type of equipment shut down? Strange time of day to start scrubbing the tile/bricks around the Cocos four pool!
We have been to Mexico 14 times so have some experience with all inclusive buffets and a la carte. Sorry folks, this experience saw plenty of food with very average quality. Service was great, some choice, but not anything like we have experience previously. Believe me - you will not starve and there are some delicious items along the way but you book three star, you get three star food.
The bus ride from PV didn't bother us as we knew what to expect. If you are getting in on a late flight, have a big lunch because food services end around 9:30 p.m. although I think you get a bag lunch if you come in past that hour.
So in summary, book this place at a discounted price through the internet or your travel agent, understand what is there and what there is not, relax, and enjoy the surroundings. The overall experience resulted in another great week in Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank BrightSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

We have stayed at Los Cocos three times and fall into the love it category. The management and staff are accomodating, the food is varied and quite good, and our room in Cocos 4, by "the adult pool", was well maintained and the daily maid service was dependable and efficient. This facility doesn't have that reverse ghetto feeling that one can get in most all inclusives, and a lot of Mexican tourists also stay there. We got reaquainted with many of the people we associated with last year. I can't believe how patient the staff are with some of the less than socially astute tourists they deal with. We took advantage of the beach club, catamaran, kayaks, and tennis court on a regular basis. The only negative is flying Air Transat to get to and from Decameron Los Cocos so take two weeks to work the cramps from your confined flight out.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Tradewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

if you want real mexico you will find it in guayabitos. i however have been there many times so i knew what i was in for. i absolutely love it there. this was my first time staying at the los cocos but it was a great experience. the hotel is in four parts. we stayed at the los cocos 4. we had friends in los cocos 2. los cocos 4 is farther from the ocean but better in my opinion if you dont have kids. its an adults only pool right under your balcony. one of the bars is just off the pool aswell. the drinks were good. the bartender will mix whatever you please. we would give him our own clamato juice and he would pour us red eyes {breakfeast of champions}as we were trying to remember the night before. the reastraunt at los cocos 4 was just behind the bar.. breaky was good. you could get the chef to cook you omeletes and pancakes.there was lots of fruit and other stuff aswell. the lunch was good. there was always burgers and a sheppards pie of some sort, along with many other things.as for supper, we never ate supper there one night. we would eat at the many reastruants down town. mostly the pina coloda.. ask for directions as it is off the beaten path, best food in mexico i promise!

the rooms in the los cocos 4 were huge. nice balconys looking over the pool and ocean view i believe if your high enough.{we were ground level.} i was the guy with the calgary flames jersey hanging above my balcony till someone threw it in the pool! pandahos!!!! anyways the rooms in los cocos 4 are honestly double the size and then some compared to los cococ 3.. i would pay the extra 10 bucks a day to be in los cocos 4 for sure... the beds are hard but you tell me where you can find soft ones in mexico? just remember your in mexico not vegas. mexico is still a 3rd world country.

the disco in the resort was usually half full. lots of people would sit outside the disco on some tables and drink at night time. you would just have to go inside to get your drinks. you could definetly meet lots of interesting people there drinking till 3 am or later. and i did just that.

a few more notes.........

the resort is very clean , safe and tropical. there always cleaning and sprucing it up.

when u take your piece of paper to get your beach towel, remember to get turn your beach towels in at the end of trip and get piece of paper back.{ we exchanged our beach towels everyday}

GO EAT AT THE PINA COLODA!!!!!!!! take a 3 dollar cab ride and you will experience the best little bar/ restraunt in mexico. great food.....

tip your chambermaids/ bartenders a couple bucks a day.. they make roughly 10 bucks a day.. so your tip goes along way.

lots of beach chairs in front of los cocos 1. not a bad beach

and remember you are in real mexico , not americanized cancun....you wont regret going here

80 dollar cab ride to pv... foam party tuesday night at collage

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank cushman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torreblanca Suites
Torreblanca Suites
#3 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $106 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing