We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I have been to this resort twice (once in 2010 and again in 2011). It is true that there are a lot of Mexican families that vacation at this resort; however, that was part of the charm of it. The beach is beautiful and the beach club house that you can go to by buss or a 20 min walk is also amazing. We did a lot of walking around in Guayabitos and La Panita and felt safe the entire time. We also did the San Blas tour and went to a crocodile ecological reserve. The guides did not speak English well but it was still great. If you do this tour and are prone to motion sickness bring medicine, the bus sways a lot! The food was excellent especially Mexican night! The swimming is better than right in P.V. the drop off is not so extreme! The people were very friendly especially the mop man "hi my friend" If you are looking for a "happening" night life though P.V. is a better fit as Guayabitos is fairly tame. Many of the travelers we met that were not Mexican were older and had been visiting every winter for years. If you visit be sure to do lots of walking around. There is a cross on a hill behind the resort and the view is amazing (lots of steep stairs though) The whale tour was amazing and I was glad to see they only boat beside the whales for a few mins than leave them alone. This so far is my favorite all inclusive resort, would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eq_sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

I have been here twice before and loved it. This time, unfortunately we came at a very busy time for Mexicans (their holiday) an we caught the tail end of the mayhem. The place was packed with very large families all staying in one room, including tons of kids and babies. We booked into Cocos 4, the adult building with pool because that was what we had wanted this time round, something a bit quieter, and were disappointed that no one had told us that it would not be adult-only (until thier holiday was done). So, our adult pool had babies in diapers all day (gross) and children splashing around, as well as underage teenagers getting drunk and diving in the pool at night until the security guard finally came and stopped them and took away their adult wristbands. We gave up trying to get meals as the lineups were so huge and we couldnt get a table if we didnt get there as soon as it opened. It was brutal. And then there was us being stared at all the time (as we were the only non-Mexicans there) and at times, even pointed and laughed at. We thought it was just us until some more people from Canada arrived and one couple said they had come one year in July and had the same thing happen to them everywhere they went there.

After a few days the place emptied out like crazy, the North American tourists began arriving and the place returned to what we had experienced before: relaxing and lovely! The adult building and pool was cleared of toddlers and hyper children and families of 8-12 people each (there are 3 other large pools that are children-friendly on the property) and we were saying `hello` to fellow travellers like ourselves instead of feeling awkward, uncomfortable (and somewhat unsafe) walking around the property and the village itself.

The hotel staff are wonderful and friendly and what makes this place so great. We had an enormous room that we loved. The food was good, a fair selection of choices but don`t bother with the a-la carte, it wasn`t great. You`d be better off going down the beach to either Salvadors or Latitude 21 for a nice meal out.

Check the Mexican holiday calendar and don`t book anything before early to mid November. You don`t want to be the only non-Mexican there, it`s not fun.

Room Tip: Don`t book during Mexican holiday times, it gets extremely busy with more kids than Disneyworld!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LolaRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I just got home on November 19th. Weather was excellent 32-36 degrees. Overall vacation was excellent. I was off the resort everyday, sometimes alone and sometimes with people I met there. I never once felt threatened. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. They wanted to make sure that you were happy and enjoyed your stay. Went snorkelling on the island and there sure was lots to see. There are tonnes of Pelican everywhere, but that's because the big island is Pelican Sanctuary. The pelicans are there, but they are not an annoyance. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from westernization. There was not a McDonalds, Wendy's, Burger King, Taco time etc. in sight it was awesome. Locals are very friendly and welcoming. Unless you are looking to party party party, I would recommend this Hotel to anyone...

Room Tip: If possible, the quietest building is Los Cocos 4. The rooms that have the views are on the 3rd and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pthair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was a different trip for us and a different class of Hotel instead of the 5 stars. We basically booked on short notice and it was super cheap. It was just to get away and try something different. Rooms were a place to sleep, but we loved being by the ocean listening to the ocean to fall asleep. Food, you wouldnt starve, and enjoyed mostly breaky and lunches there but dinner wasnt bad either but just some different better options.

This trip was so different, we found that it was more Mexican 70/30 or 80/20 and no Americans that i met and it was a place priced for locals. we could get a beer anywhere, corona sol, pacifico for a buck and food was cheap everywhere unlike the Cancun side where we 'd pay 3 or 4 $ for a beer and food.

So we ate a bit a the resort, but had dinner at Salvadors on the beach [with a couple we met at the airport who were from our home area] short walk ...all you can eat shrimp and stuff with bottle of wine and couple litres of beer with and Local playin keyboards and singing Elvis tunes [priceless] $35..no way,,,way

Went Latitude 21 just down the beach the other way [we went here twice as it was awesome and once for drinks and the music], live flamingo guitar player and a dancer from the resort. Fillet mignon and fixings half a dozen beers each, 6 tequeilla shooters and dinner, some $40...way
We had to move off the beach late in the evening cause the tide was splashing our feet [only in Mexico.

We ate up on the hill at the restaurant looking over the bay... sweet...it was the only place remotley pricey, steak and lobster and 3 dollar cab ride there and back.....Come to think of it i think every cab ride was $3 including to La penita for the flee market which is a must i think its evey thursday. we went there twice once we walked...i think it was under an hour walk. We ate at all the local places drank beer watched a bull fight over lunch....we walked everywhere and felt really safe

Overall amazing trip. Arnie comes to the resort regularily with silver products and we frequent his store on a couple of walks Guayobitos. Nice to go somewhere be sold true silver and not be on the make like on the Cancun side. My wife bought a 925 silver ring for some $35 or 40 which was the exact ring they were trying to sell us for $160 in Playa de carmen.

It was a refreshing change. Very Little haggling

We would defintely return and probably take a day trip to Salulito and try surfing for the first time.

The beach is very busy for trinket sales but they dont hound you at all ...the day trip to the private quiet beach was nice as well but we are people watchers and enjoyed the general feel of the busier beach right out. Oh shows were what youd expect from a 3 star but we werent there for that.

Needless to say the cost of things off resort and general safety took us there and we enjoyed a different experience...we also tipped well everywhere as it was so affordable and you didnt feel like you were being made.

PS if you want massages skip the resort and got to town as there is a couple of places along the strip i think it was $35 for an hour.

Great trip

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TheBigDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I went last weekend to the hotel De Cameron in Guayabitos. If you want to go and rest tranquil this is not the place to go, its very full, lots of kids running everywhere. Although this is its charm cause is full of life, lots of fud and drinks. Every night there are different shows and open bar with music. In the main hall you can find handicrafts with local people. They also offer different activities during the day, sports, guided tours in bikes, etc. But what impresed me a lot was the people who work in the hotel. They are very very kind, helpful and with smile, that makes you feel very comfortable. They also remember you or your name the next day that makes the attention very personal. That will be the reason to come back there, because of teh exellent service.

Room Tip: You need to reserve with lots af anticipation, like one month or two. And a tip for you is to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lily13979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Sorry for the extreme delay in reviewing this property. My husband and I visited Rincon de Guayabitos in April/2009. This was our first trip to Mexico and after reading many reviews of the area and the unbeatable prices ($1407,taxes in for two) we decided to go. We arrived very late at night. Check in was fairly efficient but the front desk staff speak little english. We were shown to our room in building 4 which is the "adults only" building. There were kids in this building. The room was very large with 2 double beds which was no big deal. We had time to have a couple of drinks at the nightclub bar before turning in.

The following morning we had the buffet breakfast which was pretty standard fare. The wait staff were very pleasant and we didn't have to wait for coffee or juice to be served. The baking was fresh as was the fruit. I was a little shocked when we went to the beach after breakfast. If you are looking for a quiet place to lay and soak up the sand this is not the place. The Hotel is located on a public beach which is really crowded with venders and the Bay if crowded with boats. I have to admit I was more than a little disappointed. We then found out that there was a private beach club that you could sign up for. There was a shuttle that left the hotel at 9:30am and returned at 3pm. My husband and I did this practically everyday. I was suprised that not many guests took advantage of this. They would take a security guard, bartender, activity person and kitchen staff. The lunch buffet was great and with so few people there was no fighting for the guacamole which I have to admit was the best I have ever tasted and usually the first to go at the main hotel buffets.

We met a group of Canadian and we all went to Salvador's on the beach for all you can eat shrimp night. For $25.00/pp you get all you can eat shrimp with a free drink served with rice and veggis. The atmosphere is very friendly. The couple we went with had been to the area several times and were good friends with the owners so we were treated very well, Salvador is very charming and the other staff are quite the characters. After dinner we walked up the beach back to the hotel. The village of Guayabitos itself is quaint with a lot of small boutiques. We visited Arnies Jewellery store. The jewellery was beautiful and real silver and very reasonable prices. Arnie is very friendly and speaks excellent english which a lot of the other merchants in town do not. The one thing I found a little off putting was the amount of garbage in the streets and there are always buses coming to the hotel which is dissected by the main street and can be quite noisy late at night and early in the morning. We also visited the market in La Penita. If you go make sure you go early in the morning because part of it is closed in and gets quite hot in the afternoon especially the time of the year we went.

Being on the Pacific coast the water is cold and rough so not really for swimming and snorkelling. I think people did snorkel in the Bay area at the hotel but the water at the private beach is very rough and red flags everyday. There were locals that were body surfing but we really didn't go in. The beach is very long which is nice for long walks and nature observance.

We both enjoyed ourselves on this trip but would probably not return. The following year we went to the Mayan Riveria and enjoyed that so much more but for the price it is a nice getaway to escape winter. I definitely would not pay high season rates of $1200/pp but for $497/pp I have no complaints at all.

P.S Ladies. If you go to the market don't forget to buy vanilla it is so inexpensive and pure. Just make sure that the label says coumadin free before you buy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank livingskygal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

If you are looking for a luxury resort, this isn’t the place for you. If you are looking for a place to stay in a beautiful beachfront location, you should check this out.

Los Cocos is all-inclusive, meaning breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks (including alcohol) are included and plentiful. There are several restaurants and bars to choose from. The service at the Tropical, where we ate most of our meals, was EXCELLENT. It is buffet-style and there was always a good variety of food. Each night had a different theme (e.g. “fisherman’s buffet”, “Mexican Buffet”, “Asian Buffet”) and the food was generally good, especially when you take into consideration the number of different dishes that are prepared.

My brother-in-law and I went fishing one morning with fishing boat Captain Enrique Aguilar. We returned with 11 Mahi-Mahi (a.k.a. Dorado)! Had a great time. If you want to book with Enrique his number is [--]. We ended up giving Enrique most of the fish, and had the hotel prepare one for our dinner that evening. The chef at the Tropical did a great job and we had a delicious “Dorado mojo de ajo” dinner made to order.

The property is located right on the beach and they have beach chairs and palapas (thatched shade umbrellas) available to guests. The beach is rather noisy due to the near-constant activities going on at the hotel. For a quieter beach experience, they have another property in Los Ayalas called the “Beach Club”. The hotel runs a bus there twice a day. There is a restaurant and bar at the Beach Club and no loud music or peppy activities coordinators – just sun, sand, and water.

Our stay encompassed Mexican Independence day and many special activities were planned for the guests, including a special live show in the theater and fireworks.

The surprising exception to the excellent service was at the property’s steak & seafood restaurant “La Bamba”. This is a place that is billed as a “nice” restaurant and requires reservations which must be made the same day and generally is booked solid by 8am. Our waiter was horrible. He didn’t seem at all happy to take our order and neglected to take our drink order. The “Captain” noticed and came to the table and asked what we would like to drink with our meals. The food arrived (top sirloin for me and shrimp for my wife) but our wine did not. I had to send my steak back three times because they were unable to make it medium rare. Finally, the Captain suggested that I switch to the New York steak because it is thicker. What they call “top sirloin” was less than ½” thick and, even though it is a standard menu item for them, they apparently are unable to cook it less than medium-well. I could go on and on, but in truth I probably just the wrong expectations and will let the matter go.

Room Tip: Cocos 1 is the only building with an elevator & Cocos 4 is the quietest but is not on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Chris12345654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
#4 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $172 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing