We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Safe and secure facility, friendly and helpful staff, beautifully decorated for Christmas too. And at very reasonable rates! I wouldn't hesitate to come back and recommend to family and friends :) Thanks Juana for keeping our place clean everyday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarasoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Hi... Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendations. I will tell Juana that you say hello...

Merry Christmas and excellent New Year 2014!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 481 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

A partner company I work with had a company offsite here for 3 days. It is a nice rustic place, where most of the rooms have an open kitchen area for you too cook and hang out.

The pool and beach are are really nice, very nice beach and many activities to do. The area in front of the hotel beach is kept clear for hotel guest plus and area for guest to hang out.

The hotel arrange for catering of our means for the offsite, which was really nice, there is no restaurant since it is a family oriented cabana type resort. There are restaurants within a few blocks of the place.

Felt very SAFE at the hotel and the entire beach area. I would bring my family there, this is not a 5 star resort, this is a quaint place to just relax.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are potentially ideal if you are not going to do much cooking 21-24 The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Harold.

Thank you for your comments. You are very welcome anytime you want to visit us again during business or at holidays, I'm pretty sure your family will have a nice experience.

We hope to have something new in your next visit. Its our pleasure to receive companies' offsites like yours.

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This lovely place offers everything, esp. to families - a value price, bungalows and suites equipped with kitchenettes, a pool, jacuzzi, and a beachfront location. Within walking distance from the town of Rincon de Guayabitos. Great, low-key option instead of going to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna78travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello...

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us... Anything we can make to improve your stay in the future, please let us know.

Have a nice return to home!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just came back from a stay at Las Cabanas, gotta say overall stay was good. Housekeeping and management were great. Had problems with my car while there one of the maintenance guys helped me try and get it going older maintenance guy, wish I remembered his name ( Saul Maybe) management please thank him again for me. The place meets your basic needs including the outdoor cooking area which I thought was cool. Its not a large resort with all the bells and whistles with people on a loud speaker like Decameron so your standards need to drop a little. But for price and location it met our needs. The owners do have a dog the size of a horse that barks some which I do think is a little inconsiderate of the owners so if your a light sleeper ask not to stay close to the owners cabin. I think the the earlier bad reviews are from people that wouldn't be happy at Disneyland. Overall a good place to stay, safe, reasonable with friendly staff. Ive recommended the place to family and highly recommend staying away from the weekend crowd, pool is small and gets easily overwhelmed by weekend crowd but the beach is steps away. If opportunity presents itself would stay at Las Cabanas again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rigol_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello Rigo...

Thank you very much for your comments. As I always say, these positive comments motivate us to improve little by little.

I will tell Saul that you thanked him for his help with your car.

Regards!!! Cristóbal Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at LCdC now 4 or 5x and are booked again for 2014. We have stayed at the All-Inclusive Resort in RDG and also tried another bungalow along the beach line (when we waited too long to leave a deposit for this place and there was "no room at the inn") and it didn't even come close LCdC. We won't be making that mistake again.

I've read a couple of poor reviews of this place and can't believe what these folks are saying. Seriously? The humidity is high along this portion of the coastline and your livingroom area "is outside" so, duh....the humidity gets into the fabric. The barking dog they referred to is a wonderful security measure for the owner, Rosanne who lives alone on the premises. Yes, sometimes Quinton will bark, but isn't it good to know that if trouble comes knocking, there's a big ole dog to keep us safe. Some of the other bungalows have guests and loud music that is wayyyy more annoying than the occassional barking dog. Bring earplugs for heaven sake if the dog is keeping you awake!

We love the owner, Rosanne (and her dog Quinton) and LCdC is a little piece of heaven which is very unique to the town of RDG. No other place has an outdoor kitchen, patio and living room (complete with ceiling fan and a roll-down blind to block the direct sunlight), with the bedroom and bathroom in a nice air-conditioned environment.

The location is stellar; the laundry mat (self laundry or on-site service) is one block away as is the main grocery store (Cricos) equipped with 2 ATM's. The butcher, smaller grocery stores, spa (mani and pedis at phenominal prices) and tons of shopping are all within a 2-5 minute walk.

The pool/ocean/hot tub area is one of the greatest draws to LCdC. The pool and hot tub are cleaned 2x/day and has direct sunlight for 80% of the day. There's a beautiful large palapa in the pool area beside the ocean if you prefer shade.

The ocean front property directly is taped off. The reason for this is the beach food vendors set themselves up around this part of the beach and the owner has paid a levy for that part of the beach in front of her resort to be used exclusively for her people...no beach food vendors are allowed to set up their carts in this area. This leaves room for people to set up their umbrellas and enjoy the soft "sifted-flour" sand this unique beach line offers.

The cleaning staff are amazing, but their English is limited. Hello??? You are in Mexico - I wonder how good our Spanish would be if the country of Mexico visited Canada every summer? Part of the charm of this town is the "charades" you have to play to communicate with the locals. If you want perfect English, stay at an all-inclusive in Puerto Vallarta - don't travel north where living with the community will bother you.

There are wall-mounted TV's in the bedroom area and safes for your valuables are now available for a $500peso deposit (which is returned to you when you leave)

The owner runs a very tight ship and I would only complain to her if you can't get the issue resolved at the reception desk. Sometimes there are language barriers and speaking to Rosanne is your only option, but for the most part, the front desk staff try their very best to help the guests.

We are looking forward to our return in 2014. Thanks to Rosanne, her staff and Cristobal for always being able to accommodate our requests!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hiched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Hello...

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad people enjoy their stay with us and we really try our best to solve all our guest's inquiries.

Positive comments like yours motivate us (managers and staff) to improve little by little, and suggestions help us with new ideas. Yes, sometimes we have bad comments about our place, we are not perfect but we really try to please our guests as best as we can; sometimes they thank it and sometimes not, however, we keep going on.

I will let the staff know that you made good comments about how they try to help even with their limited English skills.

If there is something I can do for you please contact me directly.

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here at ground floor bungalow for two nites. . The owners live above with. a great dane dog who woke us up every morning barking. The security guard was asleep when we went to complain. The maids rinsed the dog's urine down to our open dinning area!! Smelllled!! Employeee refused to get me mgmt info!! Pls note its noted No Dogs Allowed too!! Room couches smelled like urine & all maid did was spray deaorderant, the only thing good was the location. They make u pay in full upon checkin so they cant refund when u want out!! NOT WORTH IT. STAY AT CASA BLANCA NEXT DOOR!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank licha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hello:

Thank you for your comments. I am really sorry yo did not have a good experience with us, we'll take care of your complaints to improve little by little every day.

I'm glad you loved the location, beachfront property right in the centre of the town.

Certainly, pets are not allowed. The owner's dog lives in the house upstairs, however, the dog only gets out directly to the streets and doesn't stay on the grounds of the hotel. It is true, sometimes he barks but please notice that there is more noise on the street with regular people or even the street dogs which unfortunately we have a lot in Mexico.

Couches, sheets, blankets, pillows and even the rooms inside sometimes smell to HUMIDITY. It is really hard to eradicate this smell and we use those special sprays, but this is an issue that you will find over all rooms or houses on the coast in this latitude. However, we'll pay more attention to this problem.

In my personal opinion, it is unfair to recommend other places especially if you didn't stay there, but I respect it. Just compare prices (we are half price in respect to the other place recommend in your review).

Once again, thank you for your comments, we will take the into consideration and we'll make our best to fix them.

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Made complaints about urine soaked couches, nothing done. First night owners dog, owner not there, barking non stop at 4am.. Told desk, they didn't do anything about it. Second night same thing. I reported on checkout, person at desk wouldn't give mgr name without argument. I got response from general manager that basically said no refund, total BS. She said they are safer because of dog, yeah or was that the security guard that I found asleep watching the gate. On top of that I was overcharged. DO NOT stay here!! They are liars, and scumbags.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgollihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Hello:

Thank you for your comments. All our guest's reviews help us to improve and we really take them into consideration.

As I answered to your travel partner just in the review above or behind this one, you may be confusing the smell with HUMIDITY, which is a very common smell in coasts. With us it is absolutely impossible to have a mattress smelling to urine as we have a very strict cleaning standards and supervising, in case the latest guest before you had an accident the mattress should have been changed.

It is true, the owners live right upstairs with their dog. However, the dog gets out directly to the street and never stays on the hotel grounds; if you say he staid, I will remind all the employees what the policy is. Please note that he just barks spontaneously and definitely there is more noise on the streets (people, cars and street dogs) than the noise the local dog makes. The owners have always had a dog and this comment and your travel partner's are the first complaints about it. Pets are not allowed in the property to guarantee quality to our guests.

Regarding the overcharge, it's important to clarify that sometimes foreigners pay less and sometimes they pay a little more than expected. This is because of the currency exchange rate your bank charges their customers. All will depend on your bank's rates; we charge what we are supposed to charge. I don't like this as well; as a proof, try to use different cards out of your country during the same day and you will notice that the exchange rate will be different.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Have a great week.

Regards!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanas del Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas del Capitan

Address: Retorno Jacarandas #88 | Beach front location, Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $55 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanas del Capitan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front-beach hotel with pool, jacuzzi, gardens and bungalows with kitchen with all cooking facilities. Weekly and monthly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Las Cabanas del Capitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas Del Capitan Hotel Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing