We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent four weeks at this resort in 2012 and will be returning in 2013.

Our experience at this resort was excellent and we look forward to returning in 2013. We were on the second floor last time and are disappointed that we could only get a ground floor bungalow for our return visit even though we made our 2013 reservation before we left in 2012. It appears that many couples return year after year which indicates how popular this resort is.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sher5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hello:

Glad to know our guests enjoy their experience with us!!!. Looking forward to see you again!!!

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 431 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

On making reservations with the hotel by telephone, I was told I had to confirm by email with the details of my reservations e.g. Name, dates, number in party even though I gave a credit card to confirm my stay. I sent an email as instructed to their reservations email address. On arrival, they said I didn't have a reservation. I had to then pay for a more expensive room because of this error on their part. The room was in deed very rustic especially for the price. The sleeping area was quite small for four people and one of the beds was just a foam mattress with no support so it was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was even smaller with barely room to towel off and the towels themselves left a lot to be desired plus they only gave us two pool towels which made no sense. The open aire kitchen area was much bigger but wasn't equipped with essentials such as matches to light the burners, or a can opener, or even dish soap to wash dishes which I find to be very unsanitary for all guests who use these kitchens. Their hot tub was out of service so the swimming pool was the only best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Recepción at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Hello:

Thank you for your comments... I would like to clear up some situations we had in your reservation.

1.- Certainly you booked by phone, but, for our customer's security we require an authorization to charge the deposit to your credit card, and this authorization must be done by fax or e-mail. If we don't get your acquiescence we don´t charge the deposit and reservations are cancelled. By the other hand, we did not send you a confirmation number so when you arrived your reservation was rightly cancelled.

2.- In order to meet our customer's satisfaction all bedrooms with 2 beds in our hotel have one soft and one hard mattress.

3.- We are one of the few hotels in Guayabitos that provide pool towels with no extra cost; certainly we are just able to lend 2 towels per bungalow. Bathroom towels are provided completely, one towel for each person per day.

4.- We wash and sanitize dishes before a new guest comes. You have maid service daily, but dishes must be washed by the guest during it's stay.

5.- Yes, the hot tube was broken for 5 days in July. Sorry about that. Now it works perfectly.

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was our third trip to the area with the two prior trips having stayed at the large all inclusive. There are a number of positive attributes for this hotel. 1) Clean and cozy. 2) Great location in the town and on the beach. There are a number of stores, restaurants and night clubs in close proximity. 3) The landscaping is beautiful and well taken care of. 4) There is also a little section of beach roped off or you can sit up on the deck section and still oversee the beach while maintaining a bit of privacy. As well, there are shrimp, fish and fruit stands set up right next to you on the beach. 5) there is no bar but rooms are extremely close to the beach so a quick jaunt and you can grab a beer from your own fridge. We actually took a little miniature blender and made our own frozen drinks with fresh produce (nothing better) and tequila.

If there was anything negative it is the back of the hotel is adjacent to a walkway which can get busy and a bit noisy. And a good/bad thing is there are a number of guests that stay months at a time (can't blame them and a lot of nice people) so it is is difficult getting an upper floor room.

If you are sick of buffet food and drinking beer out of a plastic cup this may be for you. You can stock your own fridge, buy premium alcohol and try some of the many fine local restaurants over the typical all-inclusive. Your not served hand and foot...but who cares, they will take care of you.
Thank you Las Cabanas del Capitan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank canbadass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This one week stay was like staying in someone's home not like a hotel. The attention to detail included MANY live potted green plants, very homey ! The beds were great and the actual view of the beach from bed via balcony was amazing.( room 202 ). Having a pool and hot tub was an added bonus but we never used it as we were only a short distance from the beach. I particularly enjoyed the lounge chairs facing the beach that were raised up from the vendors walk area. We found the town itself very clean with honest and friendly people even with our lack of language skills .

Room Tip: ROOM 202 is away from the street noise of the disco and has great view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4gvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We found nothing to complain about at this hotel. It was extremely well maintained, artistically designed and the staff was helpful and friendly. We stayed for a week, enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, cooked most of our own meals with fresh veggies and seafood found on the beach and local markets and just enjoyed the laid back community with no one bothering you over time share and other sales. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: Top or 3rd floor had a good sea view from the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Hello...

Thank you for your comments... You are very welcome when you come back, we are trying to improve everyday and hopefully you will find something better or new when you come back...

See you soon!!!

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We found this hotel based on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The rate was very reasonable, the location excellent, and the room/grounds very nice. The only things I could think of as negatives were:

1) The pool was under construction/being updated while we were there. While we could still use it, the chipping away/breaking apart of parts of the sidewalk area around the pool didn't make using it too appealing. By now, I'm sure it's been completed -- so even better for future guests.

2) While free, wireless internet was available, the range was not very good at all. We could barely get a signal out in the more open kitchen area, and could get no signal in the bedroom area.

While not a negative, one other item to note is that there weren't any staff who spoke English very well. I know, it's a small town in Mexico and shouldn't be expected (which is why I said it's not a negative). However, for anyone staying here with little to no Spanish, just be aware, plan ahead. For us...with our limited spanish...it was perfectly fine.

Otherwise, very nice place and we'd stay there again! Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Hello..

Thank you for writing an opinion on TripAdvisor... Certainly, pool restyling has been finished and now is pretty good... We have been improving every year with our WIFI system, now we have 5 different access point and as we are not planning to have signal inside the bedrooms we are trying to get at least a good signal on your terrace and kitchens... Of course, free of charge.

It is truth that some workers there don't speak English, but in case of an emergency, manager does and she lives there... Some other staff do speak English too, but front-desk officers are just learning it!!! Hopefully, next year it will be better....

Take care and have a nice year....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This was my third trip to Guayabitos and I decided to stay here after seeing it from the beach. I made a reservation for a single room for $39.00 a night. The single room are in a separate building from the cabanas and not much to look at, but very spacious and clean, with a king sized bed and cable TV. There is free wi-fi that works throughout the hotel.
There is an outdoor library with big screen TV and an ice machine. The grounds are absolutely immaculate. The pool is large and has an attached palapa for shade. The beach next to hotel is clean and fairly uncrowded. There is also a hot tub.
The actual cabanas have a full kitchen, dining room and separate sleeping area.
The staff was quite friendly and constantly at work keeping the grounds immaculate. The hotel is very quiet and within walking distance of the main drag and several restaurants. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hawksec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Hello:

Glad to hear that!!! Wellcome anytime...

Those rooms you mention are the ones with out kitchen, we do have bungalows with kitchen too if someday you prefer that...

We have added more routers for the WIFI so now it works better, even on the beach and pool!!!.

See you soon!!

REGARDS!!! Cristóbal Fernández
Cabañas del Capitán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanas del Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas del Capitan

Address: Retorno Jacarandas #88 | Beach front location, Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range: $54 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanas del Capitan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front-beach hotel with pool, jacuzzi, gardens and bungalows with kitchen with all cooking facilities. Weekly and monthly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Las Cabanas del Capitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas Del Capitan Hotel Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing