We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming Inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed a week at the Inn at San Pancho in February and had a wonderful time. The place is beautiful and very well maintained, and run by a lovely innkeeper, Eileen. Eileen was always available and beyond accommodating to our needs. In the end we were very grateful to have stayed at her place rather than renting a house- it was great to have someone on-site to lend a hand with whatever we needed. She was also very welcoming to our children, which we really appreciated.
The most fabulous element of this place is the pool. We have two small children and we spent the majority of our stay playing in the pool. It is larger than it appears in the picture and such a relaxing place to hang out.
I highly recommend this place- a beautiful, serene, charming jewel for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

All reviews are accurate. Great spot. Very quiet, serene get-a-way. Not a place for party crowds, thank goodness. Gardens are beautifully maintained as is the pool area. Our casita was just perfect.
Our only quibble was that we were actually expecting WIFI but there is none at all on the property. Nada.
The community centre saved the day however..as we both had to work a bit and needed to connect. Apart from this, all was wonderful. Eileen is a terrific host, and a lovely person - she beautifully balances being helpful and friendly with giving guests their privacy..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toryeileen, Owner at Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

The current internet situation in San Pancho is indeed frustrating. The town has grown too large for the decade-old infrastructure. We hear from the jungle drums that TelCel has all the new fiber optics in place and hopefully in the next 6 months they will connect it and we will once again have 24 hour internet throughout San Pancho and the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Recently returned from our third visit to San Pancho and wouldn't think of staying at any other place than the Inn at San Pancho. The pool and grounds are beautiful and so relaxing after a day on the beach. Our casita (Agave) is pleasant and always very clean, with a great view from the veranda. The property is conveniently located in San Pancho, walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach. We also love to experience the sights and sounds of a rural Mexican community. Eileen is a wonderful host and always helpful with any questions or requests we may have. Do you think we'll be back? YES!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Is there a swimming pool more beautiful in all of Mexico? We'd start our days by the pool, sipping espresso, with a 360 degree view of the ocean and jungle. The bougainvillea was a riot of pink and white, the air kiss-the-skin soft, and our hostess, Eileen, generous and full of tips on where to go for lunch or whale watching. Our casita, Villa Nopal, was bright with Mexican tiles and beautifully decorated. The showers were warm, the kitchen well-appointed, and the beds comfortable. We loved that this 4-casita hostel was located just above the village, and not in some soul-less gated community. We'd walk to the beach everyday, a ten-minute stroll through town, stopping for gelato, or another cup of coffee, wondering who made the best fish tacos. Eileen has a talented masseuse who comes straight to your room; she can book you a guided bird walk and sign you up a day of whale watching. Our greatest compliment? We're coming back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilypadWesternMass.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If anyone is traveling to this awesome little town I would highly recommend staying with Eileen. Located on a hill above town with views of the ocean and lovely rooms to rent it can't be beat. A very short walk to town and the beach, but located in a quiet San Pancho neighborhood makes you feel like a local.We stayed in the Room Nopal, but all the rooms I saw were beautiful and fairly priced. Also on site is a gorgeous swimming pool with commanding views of the lush green mountains. Anybody who is burned out with busy Puerto Vallarta will enjoy this town, quiet and laid back, but with lots of good restaurants to choose from and great surf.

Room Tip: Agave for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

On a return visit to Mexico, I stayed at The Inn at San Pancho,Home of the Gata Gorda.....this lovely place only gets more & more charming.
Once again I stayed in Agave...my home away from home casita and was so comfortable.
Relaxing, renewing & the weather was great...(wish I were there now as I'm looking at 5* this A.M.)
Again we took a day trip to The Marietta's via The Chica Loca, so much fun & the crew is so accommodating .
I love San Pancho so much , I just had to find my souvenir of St. Francis. A short walk into town and I found a beautiful wood carved statue which accompanied me home !
So in love with this beautiful Inn with it's wonderful owner Eileen and the authentic little town. I can't wait to return and get back to it's beautiful beaches!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lorraineelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in Casita Nopal, the lower room at the Inn at San Pancho. The room is very spacious, sparkling clean, and very comfortable. The pool is beautiful (if a bit chilly after a week of overcast skies) and the views from the deck are some of the best in San Pancho. It's a short walk to the "center" of town (less than 5 minutes). Eileen (the owner) is gracious and kind and full of great info about town. I'm not sure what the other reviewers who complained about roosters and dogs were expecting, but there's not a place in town where you will get away from that (or Mariachi music or rattling trucks). It's just part of the small town Mexico experience. The Inn (being up on a hill and on a dead end) is probably one of the quieter places in town. The price we paid (high season - $195 over New Years) felt a little high compared to some other places we saw, but it's probably not too out of line given how nice the place is. The WiFi in town is notoriously bad and although we could connect to the router from the pool deck (although not from our room), we were never able to actually get online. Shower was warm with great water pressure and clean (more importantly dry) towels were provided whenever needed. Overall it was a great place with a wonderful owner.

Room Tip: Casita Nopal is the lowest room in the Inn and while there is more than enough light from the many l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingInWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bungalows La Perla
Bungalows La Perla
#4 of 8 in San Francisco
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Casitas de Maria
Las Casitas de Maria
#3 of 8 in San Francisco
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda San Pancho
Hacienda San Pancho
#6 of 8 in San Francisco
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda

Address: Camboya, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $85 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set like a moonstone in the abundant palm forests which frame the idyllic village of San Pancho, the Inn at San Pancho offers abundant gardens, charming casitas, and a cascade pool. Embraced by the colors of Mexico, with jaunty peacock blue skies each morning, and the gaudy sprawl of sunset ushering in each star-filled night, this enchanting Inn with its spectacular vistas weaves days that unfold like magic, and spins memories that will cling forever. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing