We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalows Lydia - heaven on earth!”
Review of Bungalows Lydia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalows Lydia
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bungalows Lydia - heaven on earth!”
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stunning setting, wonderful hosts, terrific infinity pool, empty beach, sunsets to die for -- Bungalows Lydia is magnificent and a great find, plus very affordable! I have been to the Puerto Vallarta area over 30 times, and will never again stay anywhere but at Bungalows Lydia. We were lucky enough to have the Sunflower Suite in late April 2008 -- a little bungalow with two comfortable beds and bath inside, and the kitchen/eating area outside on the beautiful patio that looks out over the Pacific. The ladies who own the property are delightful. One of the owners, Mayte, is so helpful in making arrangements and speaks fluent English. It is the perfect place for a reunion or wedding -- rent all the units for the family. I would live in the Sunflower Suite if I could. And San Pancho has several great restaurants, with even more lively activity in Salulita. I have thought about Bungalows Lydia every day since being there, and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
30
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We just got married at Lydia's and it couldn't have been more perfect! We booked the entire bungalows for our family and wedding party-- everybody loved the place. It was so magical: the private beach, the beautiful rooms, the palapa, the views! Lydia and Mayte worked so hard to ensure that our wedding was the spectacular event we wanted it to be (and it was!). The first half of our trip was family vacation style with lots of energy, people, beers by the pool, etc. The second half of the trip was a quiet honey moon get away for the groom and myself. Lydia's fit both of these aspects perfectly. I cannot say enough about the bungalows or about the lovely people that keep that place running. It was the one of the best vacation spots I have ever had the privilege of enjoying. My husband and I plan to return every year to celebrate our anniversary (that's how much we loved it) and it sounds like the rest of our family is planning on tagging along too!

  • Liked — great views, great people
  • Disliked — nothing! (there is no AC but the ocean breezes keep you cool)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timmsyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I enjoyed Bungalows Lydia. It is farther out of San Pancho than I had expected, though. I went with my mother and walking into town was not an option. The road is hot, dusty and about 5k. Lydia and Mayte are game for giving rides into town and the taxi back to the Bungalows is about $6.

We were there from May 29th to June 1st which is clearly the 'shoulder season'. Many restaurants and shops are already on summer hours so our dining options were restricted. The town was quiet and so were the beaches. But you could still sit on the beach and order a beer! I don't recommend the restaurants on the beach-OK to order a beer but don't do the food there.

The Bungalows aren't really bungalows, it's a big house with multiple suites. The location is absolutely spectacular. It's on a promontory with quiet beaches on either side. Sunsets are incredible. We stayed in the Vista Suite. Good for 2 people-I wouldn't want any more in there. You share your patio overlooking the north beach with Lydia and Mayte, but they're not out there often. The infinity pool is beautiful-clean and another great place from which to watch the sun set.

We ate at Ola Rica one night-everyone recommends it and it's OK. But they definitely cater to tourists-there is pasta and burgers on the menu. The carne asada was just fine. The other nights we cooked at the Bunglows to watch the sunset. The local fruit is fabulous-avocadoes and papaya are great. We bought shrimp from someone on Cuba Street-Mayte will show you where.

If you want R&R and a quiet place to stay, this is it. You may want to rent a car. I think if I stayed here again, I would. It's just a little too far out of town to be convenient.

We were here on the edge of the rainy season but we didn't get a drop of rain. We'd wake up to some cloudy skies which would burn off but that's about it.

  • Liked — Very quiet and secluded. Gorgeous location.
  • Disliked — Inconvenient for getting to town.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Truffles183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Bungalows Lydia is a jewel. It's a wonderful way to spend a quiet, relaxed time in the gorgeous Mexican Pacific coast.
Our room, Panorama, had a panoramic view of the ocean and the beaches below. There is a kitchen on the terrace with a tremendously gorgeous view.
I recommend you stop over at the supermarket on your way to the Bungalow from the airport. The property is about 10 minutes from the nearest restaurant.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — It's a bit isolated (both bad and good) and there is no restaurant on the property.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Bungalows Lydia is an idyllic destination for some people, not for all.
If you crave bright lights, pounding music and all the cervesza you can drink you should be looking for a big hotel in Puerto Vallarta.
This Bungalow – really a main house with four rooms and a standalone unit – is for those who define “vacation” as plenty of quiet time watching natural wonders.
People who fall in love with Bungalows Lydia will do so at first sight. The well-kept buildings and grounds sit on a rock promontory more than 50 feet above the Pacific Ocean. On each side is a quiet sandy beach dotted rock outcroppings.
Bright lights arrive with sunset, a different show each night (see photos).
Surf provides the background music, each wave tossing out a modestly different composition (see photos).
You will need to bring your own cervesza. Bungalows Lydia has no restaurant or bar. What it does have more than makes up for it. Its architecture is native, eco, chic, friendly, funky with lots of exposed wood and indigenous tile.
I found myself taking long stretches of time watching the collision of water and rock. The high-flying spray provides a fireworks-like show. Best viewpoint is on the rocks directly in front of the main house. When waves are particularly powerful you may get wet.
Another wonderful vantage point is in the new infinity pool from which one can see the full length of the southern beach.
The surf is not the only attraction. Squadrons of pelicans skim the water looking for lunch. Balls of fish, dolphins, whales small crabs and skittish iguanas populate the other sideshows.
Bungalows Lydia is in the center ring of this natural circus. Opened more than two decades ago by their father, sisters Lydia and Mayte (pronounced MY-tay) now provide the warm hospitality.
Maryte speaks decent English and Lydia virtually none. Still, when Lydia goes to tiny San Pancho she finds a way to offer rides or shopping to all her guests. Maryte can arrange tours, taxis, horseback rides or restaurant reservations for English speakers.
Here are some hard facts to consider:
· The resort is just more than a mile from San Pancho (formal name, San Francisco), which means a long, hot walk on a dusty road or a $5 cab ride each way.
· Pancho, by the way, is a nickname for Francisco and a way to make the town more inviting.
· Each room has cooking facilities and there is a large gas grill in the pavilion. Several small stores in town provide foodstuffs. If you want fresh seafood, ask any local about the fisherman on Cuba Street.
· For dining out, here are our favorites: Breakfast at Maria’s or the Italian Bakery; Lunch at the Italian Bakery, La Taza de Café, Maria’s or fresh fruit and tacos from street merchants; Dinner at Mar Plata will be the high point of your San Pancho culinary experience. A close second in edible highlights were the chocolate covered cream puffs from the Italian Bakery.
· For shoppers San Pancho has a few good shops and galleries to peek into but that won’t consume more than a couple hours. For $15 each way you can go to neighboring Sayulita, which has a lot more tourist attractions and a good-but-crowded surfing beach. Puerto Vallarta – the big city in the region – is an hour away by car, cab or regional bus.
· San Pancho time is one hour behind Puerto Vallarta time (go figure). So plan accordingly when heading back to the airport.

My former employer, USA Today, recently published a lengthy travel piece identifying the area around Sayulita and San Pancho as the next “it” place in Mexico. Dozens of Americancentric developments are under construction.
At Bungalows Lydia, none of that is in evidence.

Other eccentricities of Bungalows Lydia are mentioned in the reviews that follow but none of these rose to the level of mild inconvenience during our stay.
For those who enjoy peace and peace of mind, we recommend a stay with Lydia and Mayte. You won’t forget it or regret it.

  • Liked — Scenery, pool, solitude, weather
  • Disliked — Distance from civilization
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OldGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I made a reservation (and paid) two months in advance for one of their bungalows. Two weeks after charging my credit card, they cancelled my reservation to accomodate a larger party. They disregarded my efforts in searching and booking a place, and were not willing to find and book an equivalent place in the area on my behalf. They returned the money charged but hours of search spent online now are wasted.

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank tucapelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Stayed April 19-21, 2008 in the Sunset Suite with my husband and 19 month old. I chose this place based on trip advisor reviews and was happy with our choice. I thought our suite was one of the best as had it's own private sand terrace, but the kitchen was only very basic (not a problem as we planned to eat out-was fine for breakfast, making snacks, drinks). Our sliding glass doors opened to the terrace with table/chairs and two lounge chairs under palm trees, perfect for sipping coffee/margueritas and for our son to play in the sand. We overlooked the two beautiful beaches and the waves crashed so loudly felt like they were steps away rather than down the cliff. Speaking of cliff, like most places we have stayed in in Mexico, not child safe, need to watch your children (ie drop offs to death, no real railings) but we managed.

I checked out many of the other rooms and make sure you know exactly what type of kitchen you will be getting, we had a kitchenette type (refridge, microwave, two burners, basic utensils). The bed was hard as mentioned (you get used to it) and the furnishings are basic but fine. You also don't really get any maid type service, so plan on taking out your trash when needed (we just put it outside our door and it was taken care of and making your own bed, etc. The hosts are nice and unobstrusive.

There are several ok/good restaurants in San Pancho and Sayulita to have lunch/dinner. Would recommend you bring your own coffee (already ground-no grinder) and breakfast items so you can hang out in mornings. Ceci Bon Cafe was great for breakfast but you will wait a long time for food if other parties already there and just ordered.

The beach is not child, swimming or body boarding/surfing friendly. It is great for walking and splashing in the waves once wave hits shore. If you have kids bring an umbrella down to beach as not a lot of shade

  • Liked — the view/location
  • Disliked — Had to drive to town for restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindawil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
1.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
50 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 4 in San Francisco
11 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal San Pancho
Hostal San Pancho
#2 of 14 in San Francisco
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Lydia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Lydia

Property: Bungalows Lydia
Address: Km 118, Hwy 200 | San Francisco Mpo. de Bahía de Banderas, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bungalows Lydia Hotel San Pancho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing