We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
66
15
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
66
15
5
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

San Pancho lacks accommodation in peak season so we stayed here. We paid $75 a night for a room here and actually it was pretty good.

We had a room at the end of the hallway which had a little balcony. Maybe this is the premium room but it's worth getting it for the extra light and space. The bedrooms that look on to the hallway do not look as good.

A point to remember is that the toilet and shower is in the room. So you will be very close to your room mate- so maybe stay off the seafood tacos etc!

The wifi is good and the breakfast was basic but good - fruit with a delicious piece of banana and nut cake. Fresh juices and coffee too.

I agree with others, it's a good 15 minute walk to the beach but on the other hand it's really close to where the bus drops you off.

Overall I can recommend this place.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank anonymous_third_part
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Way better than you'd expect from a typical hostel, especially the rooms upstairs. Peaceful atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Only a 10-minute walk to the beach off the main road.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxcita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Stayed almost a week at San Pancho hostal. Our room was great, the crew is the coolest in town, breakfasts are great and simple and we got to meet lots of nice people.
And on top of that they offer trips to Islas Marietas, which is not to be missed, while in the area.
We'll be back at Hostal San Pancho, for sure!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

We booked late and ended up with a room with no window to the outside (only to a hallway), a noisy fan, and a stinky backed-up bathroom. All of this could have been tolerated if the price of the room was reflective. We paid 700 pesos a night, which was actually one of the most expensive rooms we paid for along the Riviera Nayarit. We paid between 350-600 pesos a night for every other accommodation, with rooms ranging from 2 double beds in nicer hotels in Puerto Vallarta to condos and full apartments in smaller villages. My point is, if you end up here make sure your room isn't one of these bad and ugly ones and maybe you'll have a better experience.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2015

We stayed at Hostal San Pancho after staying at their Puerto Vallarta Hostel. We had the opportunity to be in two different rooms, and they gave us the second room at the same lower rate as the smaller private room we stayed in, as we agreed we would only use one of the beds.
The staff were very helpful and always available for questions and assistance. The first room we stayed in had a very noisy ceiling fan, however, and they didn't know how to fix it, so we ended up using the AC instead.
The second room was quieter, also simple, and clean.
We loved using their tricycle bikes to go to the beach, but found a couple of the basic bicycles were in pretty rough shape. They also had a beach umbrella we borrowed a couple of times. I suggest they do a big tune-up of the bikes, have a working air pump available, and replace the umbrella or do some maintenance on it. I agree it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach, and about 5 minutes on the bikes.
The breakfast was light but good, with fresh fruit, banana bread, and coffee/teas, juices, etc.
We would likely stay here again, if we could have a private room again. We paid approximately $45 USD a night.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willowomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews