We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nayarit, surf safari! Life north of Sayulita”
Review of Hotel Cielo Rojo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nayarit, surf safari! Life north of Sayulita”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fantastic little hamlet in the heart of San Pancho (San Francisco to some of the locals). The hotel is a great place to get lost with friends or a romantic get-away. The lodging has funky artistic decor, they serve amazing breakfasts that cater towards a more organic, mexican, southern california sensibility... The town has plenty of fish taco/food stands, there's a pizzeria where kids in their 20's hang and play music till late in the night. Run into Guadalajara, surfing/indie middle class or just get lost exploring the breaks north and south of this fantastic winter get-away...Beautiful in the off-season (summer) just prepare for the heat, and the 80+ degree Ocean...!!!

Room Tip: Great option for surf related travel or a romantic getaway outside of the bustling Sayulita a few KM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
71
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

had a beautiful dinner there during their 'resturant week' 3 course special. Just perfect, and the staff were passionate, happy to be there too, especially one fantastic waitress...really helpful :) i hope the brazilian seafood stew becomes part of the normal menu. I've been there before and had scones and capomo.... just fantastic! As a resident of san pancho, this is a place i would reccomend visitors to the town to go to if they're after a change from tacos.

Room Tip: fernando on the front desk will sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymgkymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

my husband and I had dinner here early April. it's a tiny place and not allot of street appeal but don't let that put you off. the food was amazing. It was not local Mexican fare but real high end restaurant food. the chef was very very good. I will go back again with a friend next week

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location is right off the main street in San Pancho. This town takes you back to a Mexican beach town before the invasion of tourists. We were woken early by the sounds of roosters and had breakfast in the courtyard. The room was spacious and clean and the staff was wonderful. If we are ever back in the area we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touropBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I wonderful hotel with the most fantastic staff. The little outdoor patio is to a paradise. The food is so delicious, it is worth the trip to San Pancho. Marcelo, who runs the place is so kind and gracious. He along with his staff make you feel like you are visiting family. I miss the friendly "home feeling" that is such a rare jewel to find.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had an incredible week at this Motel. It is quaint and beautiful. I was impressed by the staff. Everyone spoke very good English and allowed me to practice my Spanish with them. Amenities that were available were these: free drinking water in my room, a nice shower and bathroom, free bikes which I could borrow and tour downtown, a restaurant that served a continental breakfast. I could pay for more entrees if I desired. They let me borrow the phone anytime I wanted to. The staff was incredibly friendly helpful and courteous. I enjoyed my stay very much and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room in the back of the hotel if you are worried about noise. My room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a hidden gem! Set in the small village of San Pancho north of Puerto Vallarta, this hotel is a true delight. The rooms are vintage Mexican style, very clean and comfortable. The on-site restaurant is fabulous - possibly the best food in town! The staff is so friendly and helpful. And it was great having free use of bikes to tour the town and get to the beach - which is just 2 blocks down the road. I'd give them an A+ rating, except for the barking of all the local dogs.

Room Tip: Room 8 - the Palapa is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 4 in San Francisco
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
162 reviews
12.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo Rojo

Property: Hotel Cielo Rojo
Address: Asia 6 | San Francisco, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo Rojo is a boutique hotel Right in the heart of cobblestoned San Pancho, Nayarit just 40 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta airport. It is 3 blocks walking distance to the beach. the hotel provides stylish and affordable accommodations with simple elegant and pleasant rooms, warm and eclectic decor, exquisite organic cuisine and personalized attention from its lovely staff. A favorite for those that truly appreciate consciousness for organic & sustainable A perfect balance of serenity and intimacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cielo Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing