We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfasts, delightful chef/owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Emilia - CLOSED

Casa Emilia
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, delightful chef/owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Cafe Emilia should be a mandatory stop for any visitors to San Pancho. Our gang of four went twice and loved it both times. Omelettes, eggs benedict, the fresh ingredients, the coffee, the setting, the presentation, the good prices all make Emilia's a lovely way to spend a morning. But above all, Lacho, the owner/chef, is just a wonderful guy who obviously cares about his restaurant, his patrons and his town. An example of service "above and beyond". We told him we were looking for fresh shrimps. He saw the fish truck, stopped it but came back saying that the shrimp being offered that day were too small and that we should wait. Lacho told us that he's expanding soon, both his offerings - to include lunch, and his space - to take over the empty store beside him. We wish him nothing but the best which, in turn, will no doubt benefit future Emilia customers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We can only add to the accolades of other reviewers. This small, delightful resturant is beyond any food expereince that might hope for in a small town. Lacho (spelling?) is a very talented owner/chef and was very gracious to us as we enjoyed two different breakfast experiences during our one week stay in San Pancho.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just down the street from Roberto's Bungalows where we were staying, Casa Emilia is a great spot for a yummy breakfast. The chilaquiles were delicious and the eggs benedict were out of this world.

A small place with great service - not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Eggs Benedict is great, but overall the fresh ingredients, service and presentation make this restaurant. Sitting by the sidewalk watching life go by with such excellent food - hard to beat in any city!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must while in San Pancho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

You must visit Casa Emila while staying in San Pancho.
It's an outdoor restaurant that sits on the corner of the block and you can eat amazing breakfast and watch people pass by and say hello to them. The owner and staff are so friendly it will really add to your experiences in San Pancho. They will make you feel right at home and do you right. The food is incredible and reasonably priced. The main cooks have cooked food all over the place and really know their stuff. It's super clean, super cute, tasty and hearty.
They are usually open pretty early, like at eight or nine and stay open until early afternoon and usually closed on Mondays.
The owner speaks also speaks English and French so no need to struggle with your Spanish if you don't know any either way you will walk away with a happy stomach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alldentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Emilia also viewed

San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing