We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, hearty and delicious!”
Review of La Ola Rica

La Ola Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Healthy, hearty and delicious!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I love this restaurant!

The drinks, salads and marvelous entrees would be enough for an excellent evening, but the warmth, exceptional service and ambiance offer something more. You can choose to sit by the calle and see the doings of the town or sit indoors (as we do) to enjoy the unique decor and the many photos and paintings that constitute a "shrine" to Frida Kahlo.

Trini and Gloria and their staff do a terrific job feeding you and making you feel welcome. If you are anywhere near Puerto Vallarta, drive up to San Pancho and visit La Ola Rica. Restaurants don't get much better than this one!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    28
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

La Ola Rica is always our first dining experience when we vacation in San Pancho. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the food is always excellent. From the appetizers to the entre's, it's always fresh, hot and delicious. Our local dining favorite!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprise in San Pancho”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our family was delighted to find the reviews from Trip Advisor spot on regarding the menu and food at La Ola Rico! The Molcajete was voted the best, along with the Shrimp Pasta, & of course the molten cabernet chocolate cake with Blue Bell ice cream!! There were 12 of us and everyone found something on the menu they really enjoyed...that in itself is a surprise...we returned for a 2nd visit and the service was much below our 1st visit, but the food was still good!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

San Pancho (San Francisco) is in the state of Nayariat in Mexico. A quaint small fishing village . La Ola Rica has been there for more than ten years , we enjoyed it then (3times) on our first visit as well as once last December. We are planning to spend Christmas in San Pancho this year and because of the great atmosphere, execellent food and service we will dine there again. If you are going to visit this wonderfull friendly semi 3rd world town do not miss eating at La Ola Rica

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delight evening!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, friendly wait staff. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JHendricksonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ola Rica also viewed

San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Ola Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing