We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, ambiance & service!”
Review of Mar Plata

Mar Plata
Ranked #19 of 48 Restaurants in San Francisco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance & service!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time to MarPlata and we found the found the food and service to be very good, but also very expensive. The ambiance is wonderful and it is located off the beaten path.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“So inviting and friendly”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We first experienced Mar Plata after a very long travel day. We couldn't find our rental and stopped a the restaurant to ask for directions and recharge. The wait staff there was extremely friendly and soothing, saying they would be glad to take a look at our map while we gathered ourselves. We ordered drinks and munchies while they looked over the map, and soon they had us pointed in the right direction. We had phoned the rest of our group and they came and joined us for dinner. The food and the atmosphere were exactly what we needed after a long day of planes and automobiles. We liked it so much, we returned on our final night in San Pancho for a final meal. The grilled steaks are AMAZING - so tender and cooked perfectly. And the fries (yes, I know, fries) are to die for. But what made it so memorable was how helpful and friendly everyone there was. I will always go back when I return to San Pancho!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Top Rated by Conde Nast & Well Deserved!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We first discovered Mar Plata about 3 years ago when I read about it in one of the glossy lifestyle magazines published in this area. It has an amazingly cool decor, a delectable menu, and fabulous service. They got a Conde Nast top rating for being one of the coolest,hippest restaurants in this area of Mexico.

We found ourselves in the San Pancho area last evening around dinner time and decided to drop in without a reservation. We were accommodated at a nice table in the bar area where we got to watch both the mixologist and observe the chefs in the immaculate open kitchen - all of whom are totally committed professionals judging from the quiet attention and intense focus they give their work.

We shared a green salad (crisp, fresh and perfectly dressed), and ordered a sirloin steak with grilled veggies and papas fritas (French fries to die for they were so crispy golden on the outside and gorgeously fluffy on the inside), and a beef shortrib risotto with asparagus and arugula accompanied by the house merlot. Both meals were delicious and we enjoyed every bite (the sirloin steak was a very generous cut, much more than we could eat).

We finished with lattes, port and chocolate fondue with fruit for dessert - yummy! Total cost with a 20% tip came to about $120 USD. Very good value for the food, service and atmosphere. We look forward to going back many more times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First night flop”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

visited mar plata when we were in San Pancho in 2009. Wanted to go again this time but they didn't open till half way through our trip. Went on the first night. Confusion. some meals not what people expected--especially the steak. They brag about their Argentinean (I think) beef, but it was a disappointment. I had mushroom pasta and I liked my dish. They couldn't take credit cards that night because their machine didn't work. The drinks were not as slushy as requested. Because our first experience was so good, we talked six new people into joining us. I don't think anyone will go back because why should they? there are other less expensive restaurants in town with great food that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Sorry for this review, but food and service wasn't what we expected. They did offer us free dessert to make up for the issues--and that was an incredibly nice gester and we appreciated it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank atwell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ethereal”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Kind of a hidden gem beause it's not on the main street of San Pancho. I have only been here for dinner, never during the day. Entering this resturant the ceiling drips of beautiful lights of stars, open and airy. Plenty of space for the tables and a lounge area by the bar. Love the wall in which part of a ship was repurposed. The food is good, as with most resturants in San Pancho the food is fresh and bought locally. There is have a full bar and a nice menu of desserts.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Plata also viewed

San Pedro Cholula, Puebla
Puebla, Puebla
 
San Pedro Cholula, Puebla
San Pedro Cholula, Puebla
 
San Pedro Cholula, Puebla
 

Been to Mar Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing