We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool tour”

Appleton Estate Rum Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Private Tour to Negril from Montego Bay
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Full-Day All-Inclusive Tour of Jamaica's South Coast
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Good Hope Estate and Appleton Estate Rum Combo Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Appleton Estate Rum Tour offers unique insight into a part of Jamaica's History and rich complex culture. The estate is home to the legendary Appleton Distillary, rum makers since 1749. Located in the picturesque Nassau Valley in St. Elizabeth, on Jamaica's South Coast. During the rum tour you will experience first hand, the historic production process of Appleton Estates' Rums. You will be able to see and experience some of the earliest methods of extracting juice from sugarcane, learn about the unique distillation process in our 200 year old pot stills and visit one of our barrel houses where the rums age to perfection. After the rum tour, you will begin to understand why Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum is the finest in the world.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool tour”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Appleton Rum Tour was good overall. It was good as an add on for our trip to YS Falls but probably not one I would do the long ride to experience without going to other places in the area. The rum punch that we got while waiting to start the tour was the best one we had during our vacation. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a good tour of the facility and history. We did enjoy the tour and just strolling around the grounds of the place. At the end of the tour there was a rum tasting of various brands of their rums. It was neat to try a few of the different ones where you were free to try as many or as much as you liked. None of the more expensive brands were available for testing but we knew that going in. We didn’t buy any rum while there but opted to just pick some up at the airport. Overall, the tour was a good change of pace to the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripster1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    231
    81
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Long Drive for an Average Tour”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Where you are traveling from in Jamaica is relevant to whether this tour is worth it or not. We took the 2.5 hour trip from Montego Bay and I probably wouldn't do it again. It is worth it if you are traveling from Negril, which is much closer. The best part of the tour is the great rum punch you get up front. It rains here a lot, but they have umbrellas available to loan you between buildings. What irked us the most were how sooty and unclean the manufacturing facilities appeared. Definitely not ISO 9000! The tour guide was very good, but the tastings at the end are given short shrift. Basically, they leave a bunch of open bottles on the counter top and give you a small plastic cup and let you have at it. None of the reserved vintages are available for tasting, just the basic lines. By the way, the same bottle of 12 year old Appleton here for $27 was $24 at the airport Duty-Free. Buy your rum at the airport when leaving.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiji80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must in Jamaica”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Appleton Rum Estate Tour in Jamaica was great. We enjoyed it - especially the rum tasting. It was part of a River/Falls Tour and we enjoyed a great jam packed day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please get me home”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Too long of a ride from Montego Bay. Too short of time at YS Falls and Appleton. Black River just okay. Be prepared to pay for your lunch and tips. If you like zip line do this as soon as you arrive at YS Falls...not much time but very beautiful and easy wooden steps to climb to top if the crazy Duns River danger is not what you prefer. Ride was so bumpy, fast and winding be prepared to take some Tums or motion sickness meds. Tour guide and driver were friendly and informative. Might be a better trip if it did not try to please everyone YET after spending six hours on the road round trip I can understand it is an attempt to make it worth your time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCity12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“fun times”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the stops on our tour was Appleton Estates. We started off with rum punch.. yummy. It was very interesting to see how things were done. It is more involved then I imagined. Our tour guide was very informative. The free samples at the end were awesome, as much as you wanted!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleton Estate Rum Tour also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Black River, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 

Been to Appleton Estate Rum Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing