We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Full-Day All-Inclusive Tour of Jamaica's South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
Hagaman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been to YS Falls twice. The first time was on a bus tour and my husband fell ill but it was so lovely we made sure we went back another time. The falls are steps of Mother Natures glory. Take your time to soak in your surroundings. Stop and look and listen to the power of water and nature, set among the lush greenery of Jamaica. The guides were very helpful and have the usual Jamaican charm. We spent the longest time in the water, enjoying a little secluded grotto, the cool refreshing water and a relaxing back massage given by the falls themselves. The guide even helped me overcome my fear of climbing on slippery rocks and leaping into the water to come up laughing and feeling accomplished. At the end of our at the falls we enjoyed watching the Dr birds frolic by the gift shop. All in all it was a good day to be alive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanJam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    360
    81
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Make sure to zip line!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to the falls and they provided a free zip line tour and we were SO HAPPY they did! This made the expeirence a lot more fun...we would have totally paid if they asked us to! We almost missed this and make sure you don't!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YourTravelScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I went to YS Falls as part of a day trip out of Negril. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The falls were beautiful, and the rope swing into the pool below the falls was a blast. Do take advantage of the guides available (and do tip them). Ours was so helpful, leading us through the series of falls, holding our gear, and taking fantastic photos of us at scenic spots along the way. I would not recommend it for small children, but families with tweens or teens would enjoy it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YS Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The YS Falls was by far the best experience my wife and I had in Jamaica on our Honeymoon. The view from the bottom of the falls was beautiful. Going up, we learned that you could swing into a pool in the falls from a rope swing. We had to do it! It was so much fun. The guide was excellent. He took our camera and took fantastic photos of the two of us swinging into the falls. He also took us across the falls for some great photos beneath a smaller waterfall, and among some huge bamboo trees. The entire experience was superb. I would definitely do it again, and recommend it to anyone traveling to Jamaica.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A beautiful waterfall in which you can use a rope swing or sit under the rushing waters. A very very beautiful place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WVpinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing