We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a celebration of African independance in Jamaica”
Review of Accompong Village

Accompong Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$355.50*
and up
Private Day Trip to the Maroon Village Celebration from Montego Bay and Grand...
Attraction details
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“a celebration of African independance in Jamaica”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Accompong is a lovely little village on the edge of Cockpit Country. What is special about the village is that it belongs to the Maroons, and has enjoyed an autonomous state since a treaty was signed with the British in 1739. The area is something of a Jamaican frontier land, Cockpit Country is covered with small rounded hills and deep valleys. Very few roads penetrate here with Accompong being on the edge and one of the last accessable towns. Indeed the roads to Accompong are worse than those in other parts of Jamaica--on many winding roads, if two vehicles meet one will most likely have to back up to a place where they can pass eachother. We drove to Accompong on January 6th to Celebrate the birthday of Cudjoe, a historical leader who is credited for uniting the Maroons together to fight for and preserve thier freedom and autonomy in the 18th century. This is a very, very busy day in Accompong and it took a good while just to reach the town as the roads were crammed with visitors for this festival. However it was worth it just to take in this wonderfully cultural and fun-filled event. As with most Jamaican festivals there is lots of food, vendors, music and a general sense of human fellowship.

For my husband, who originally comes from Grenada, this day trip was very special for him--It was here in Accompong that he learned that not all Africans robbed from thier homeland were destined to remain as slaves in the Caribbean for hundreds of years. The strength, cunning and determinism of the Maroons in the face of the powerful and cruel colonial powers should be inspirational to all people of African decent in the Western hemisphere--as well as to all of us who understand the continuing struggle for freedom and respect that oppressed people still face all over the world. Go to Accompong and learn.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Six of January”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First if u cannot handle a long walk this is not the place for u to go on the six of January. This is Maroon Christmas. Lots of people from near and far. Parking in the town is impossible if you don't arrive early. There is lots of drinking, eating, music, crafts and cultural activities. A must see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank patricia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“woods and charm”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Out in the woods - - also, if you like to hike, go into CockPit Country. That is a hike for the experienced hiker

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maybe we were not lucky but it was”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to accompong to visit the maroons village hoping in an educative and interesting off-the-beaten path experience for my daughter (we had a great experience with a tribe village in Zimbabwe and was hoping in something similar).

The panoramas were nice on the drive there, quite wild and untouched nature.

Our guide said it correctly: with the maroons you either are God or Food.... we were food... meaning they tried to take us for all our money (unsuccessfully). Beyond the fact that they could barely remember their own names as they were high and drunk (they smoked weed and drunk rum for the entire time we were there), they were not able to really give a tour or explain anything interesting.

We paid $40 for the tour and $20 to see a spiritualist who washed his face in rum and then told us to stand in a corner, scribbled on a peace of paper and said we all needed protection and that would cost $150. I said no thank you but he insisted until our guide stepped in between and we moved on. The tour of the village consisted of standing on a square and being told that the 5 key differences between the Maroons and the rest of jamaica were 1) they have a square drum not a round one 2) if you are a murderer you are taken back to jamaica, don't think you'd find hospitality there 3) they have a square drum 4) they have a square drum and 5) he didn't remember. But then he wanted to sell us some home made jewelry just in case we had some money to spare.... All together 30 minutes.... after a 2 hrs drive to get there. Not worth it. The roaring river was better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank nadia2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A definite place to visit while you are in Jamaica...”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When you visit Jamaica, you think of visiting the beach, Dunns River Falls, Black River, Appleton Rum Distillery and so on. But one can tend to forget that Jamaica is steeped in a rich, Afro-Caribbean heritage. Visiting Accompong Village was a very eye opening and enlightening experience. There was so much to learn when I visited and I had no clue that there was so much historical richness in this one section of Jamaica. We had a chance to spend time with the locals and eat/drink local fare. Most tourists don't get an opportunity such as this and I personally recommend visiting Accompong Village. Our tour guide was Sheldon and he was very informative. There were many stories to hear about the evolution of the people, village; from where they came and how it has effected their current lives. Every year, Accompong Village hosts a huge celebration in January. That would be a good time of the year and opportunity to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nkh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accompong Village also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 

Been to Accompong Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing